We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camping in Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Cove Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tofino
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crystal Cove Beach Resort
Save
You added Crystal Cove Beach Resort to your Saves list
1165 Cedarwood Place, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Cabins From $120/night
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Tofino
GreenLeadersGold level
British Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Camping in Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We decided last minute to try Crystal Cove for camping during the month of June. They luckily had space and we were fit into a really nice spot. It was a tad tight for us, but very private. We have a large rig and we noted other spots that would fit us for the next time (fingers crossed they are avail). What we loved, our family of a dog and 1 child, was that it is right next to the beach and was VERY pet friendly with a great playground area for the kids. Every single night, we'd head back down to the beach for the sunset walk and our dog and child could get yet another run. I loved the 'dog wash' as you come off the beach and back to the camp site. Water available for them and poop bags. Perfection. There is nothing at all I can say that is wrong with this campground. Full hookup too! BONUS. We heard nothing from the cabins around us and very little from the other campers. Free firewood was a definite plus because that meant we didn't have to lug our own in or get price gouged. Speaking of price, yes, it seems pricey initially, but when you factor in that you are getting full hookups, free firewood, and access to one of the most beautiful beaches on earth, it is a small price to pay for that kind of peace and quiet and those amenities. Very well managed as well and the staff always seem willing to entertain requests even though they are obviously busy with other customers. We will return - worth even spending the money on the ferry to get back there... next to Living Forest, this place is a must-stay and one of my ultimate favourites. We stayed for 4 nights.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJ B, General Manager at Crystal Cove Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Savarygal

On behalf of the staff and I, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us in our RV park last summer. When you stated that this is on of your favorite spots to vacation, it make us all very proud our the efforts we put in as a team to ensure all our guests leave here feeling the same way that you do.

Thanks again for the pat on the back and we look forward to seeing you again this summer.

Sincerely.

J.J. Belanger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    70
    10
    2
    9
See reviews for
160
130
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
qualicum beach
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We enjoyed 3 quiet nights in our RV. A lot of love has gone into building and maintaining this resort. Our site and the grounds were immaculate. We used to be in the nursery business and we were impressed by the lovely landscaping which made use of many native plants. The main office building and the surrounding trees were beautifully decorated for Christmas. The lady at the front desk was welcoming and helpful. We found the off-season camping rate to be a bit pricey but we would still consider staying here in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJ B, General Manager at Crystal Cove Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Murrpatt.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the serenity of winter camping at our resort. Many of our winter RV guests have come to love the choice of sites available, the free morning coffee, complimentary firewood and full hookups for a discounted rate off our peak summer rates.

So far this winter we have seen a doubling of numbers of RV's at the Cove to enjoy our warm climate and our winter storms with crashing waves. Our beach also becomes the spot to surf in the wintertime as the surge changes and our waves attract intermidiate nd beginner surfers to our shores.

We are truly pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forwrad to seeing you again next winter.

Sincerely

J.J. Belanger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

What I love about this resort is...everything.

The scenery. Warm, friendly front desk. Spectacular sandy beach dotted with tiny wind swept islands. Well stocked fireplaces. Cozy duvets. Hot tubs. Kid & dog welcoming. Even their landscaping uses local flora and is now more of a trip through a unique botanical garden.

Friends I know have returned for years and every year it just keeps getting better. This is a magical place where life slows down and takes on Island time. You'll never want to leave.

Room Tip: kids will love the playground, the beach and the Rainforest tree cabins - perfectly safe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJ B, General Manager at Crystal Cove Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear Kitsbay.

We are very pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We do our best to enusre every aspect of you stay is flawless. If you have any suggestions on how we can improve in any way, I would welcome your feedback as a long term guest.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

J.J. Belanger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We visited Crystal Cove, with our dog, for a mini vacation as a belated birthday weekend for myself. The staff was very friendly and the location was amazing. We were situated in cabin 1 which was right off the beach and next to the beach access walkway. We were not bothered by the noise of people passing by as there was ample bushes / trees to provide plenty of privacy. Full kitchen with everything that you need in order to cook your meal plus a BBQ outside. The beds were so soft it was like sleeping on clouds. My only complaint - which isn't a complaint at all really - was the shower head was so strong that I thought it was going to take off my skin ha-ha. If that was my only problem, you know that this is an amazing place to stay!

Also a big plus, very pet friendly which was nice to see.

Note: they were performing upgrades on the 2 - 3 cabins next to us and we never heard a peep of it!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJ B, General Manager at Crystal Cove Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear Natski83.

We are pleased you enjoyed a relaxing stay with us. As you mentioned we are one of the only resorts in the area that is 100% pet friendly. Sometimes we feel the pets enjoy the stay just as much as their owners.

I am also pleased to hear that our cabin renovation program did not bother you in any way. We do our best to keep the noise down in the early mornings to ensure the peace and quiet our guests expect.

The cabin you stayed in is next on the list for renovations in January. On your next stay you can expect a renovated kitchen and bathroom as well as heated tile floors throught the entire cabin ensureing comfort for our guests and their furry friends.

See you again soon.

J.J. Belanger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, British Columbia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The staff were extremely accommodating when we arrived to find the cabin we'd booked had a plumbing problem. Although we were disappointed they went out of their way to make it up to us. The entire place is spotless with several options; we viewed a few cabins - some have hot tubs, some have wonderful little "tree houses", cozy fireplaces and our cabin had a big jacuzzi tub. We had a 3-year old with us who loved the beautifully hand crafted playground, there was a great selection of videos and beach walks right out in front. Tofino is just down the road and of course Long Beach and all that the park has to offer are nearby. We had one pouring rainy day and one sunny day and really appreciated the fireplace. The only thing missing was wall hooks to hang wet clothes to dry.

Room Tip: Check on the sitting area size if you are group of more than two - some cabins have small sitting ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJ B, General Manager at Crystal Cove Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear Bicycle9.

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay despite the maintenance issue we had with your original cabin just prior to your arrival. We tried our best to ensure your expectations were exceeded and it looks like we passed the test.

Your original cabin choice has gone through a 6 week renovation and will be ready for guest use before the holidays. I think you will love the changes we are doing to all our cabins over the next few years as it will make your next stay even more enjoyable.

See you again soon.

J.J. Belanger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingwood, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Planned to stay one week. An unfortunate injury to my wife's foot caused us to stay 3 1/2 weeks.

The staff at Crystal Cove went out of their way to accomodate us and displayed genuine concern over my wife's injury.

Everyone has their own system for rating accomodation so I will try to be specific in my comments.

Staff:
Every interaction with the office, including check in, was handled in a friendly and professional basis. All other staff we met were courteous and friendly. 5 out of 5 in my books

Service:
What was promised or asked for was happily delivered. Frr firewood and free DVD use.5 out of 5

Accomodation:
Comfortable and clean. Loved the fire place. 4.5 out of 5

Location: steps fronm the beach yet very private 5 out of 5

Grounds: Beautifully landscaped while retaining the west coast flavor. Well maintained

Room Tip: No matter which cabin you choose, your only steps away from the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJ B, General Manager at Crystal Cove Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear Bill.

We were all upset to hear of your wife's injury while visiting with family in Tofino. We certainly hope she is doing well since you returned home. We did our best to accommodate you while you were here and we are pleased to see we exceeded your expectations during this difficult time.

We are all pulling for a speedy recovery for your wife in hopes that we will see you again next year when you come back to town to visit the grandkids again.

Take care and all the best.

J.J. Belanger
General Manager
And the entire Crystal Cove Crew!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This place was way overpriced for what it was upon check in (which was in wrong cabin) we where told we would have to pay in advance. The lady at front desk was unfriendly and told us to take it up with management the next day. We went to our cabin it had no where to relax, no couch just a window box with cushions. We made our dinner had a few drinks and retired for the evening at about midnight. We where woken several times during the night by people partying in the hot tub adjacent to our cabin and by breaking glass. In the early hours of the morning we where woken once again this time by screaming kids. So much for relaxing night. My wife then got out her computer as she had work that had to be done for Monday and discovered the promised wifi service was non-existent, now keep in mind we realize where we where but we knew we had work had to be done and access to Internet was necessary and we specifically asked before we booked if we had wifi at our cabin, okay so no wifi. Made breakfast and while eating there was a loud knock almost a pounding on our door startling the heck out of us! Upon opening the door a rude loud person asked if we had a problem with the cabin, I replied that we where in the middle of breakfast and would see them shortly in the office. Half hour later as promised I was at the office, I started to explain that we had been booked into cabin 5 as opposed to 35 and that there was no wifi at all (not even weak signal). The response was nothing short of amazing, the gentlemen (and I use that term loosely) behind the desk accused us of partying and noise complaints! Told me that the wifi was hit and miss and that they where refunding our next nights fees and could we check out!!!! I was absolutely astounded, but quite happily my wife and I packed up and left! I would definitely recommend avoiding this place completely. Bad service unfriendly dishonest misinformed staff, cabins poorly laid out and uncomfortable seating arrangements (no couches) cheaply furnished and the list goes on. As a happy ending we checked into long beach lodge and had an absolutely amazing rest of our stay in Tofino!!!!'

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJ B, General Manager at Crystal Cove Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Mike M.

I am sorry that you feel the way you do about your stay with us. Had we not had several complaints from other cabins we may have acted differently. Our resort is known for its peace and quiet and that is why our guests come here. Over 46% of our guests are return guests some since the resort was built in 1982. Also our staff have built great relationships with these guests and we continue to get great comments about how friendly our staff is like in most of the reviews below. I am happy you found what you were looking for at the Long Beach Lodge as some people are not suited for our quiet and tranquill location that we have become known for.

Sincerely

J.J. Belanger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crystal Cove Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Cove Beach Resort

Address: 1165 Cedarwood Place, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among ancient cedars at the edge of the Pacific Ocean, enjoy our 34 genuine log cabins with spectacular views and all the amenities. Our well appointed, self contained cabins complement the incredible surroundings making Crystal Cove Beach Resort your home away from home. From Beachfront Cabins with private hot tubs, to secluded Cabins set in the Rainforest, you will be immersed in the beauty that is Clayoquot Sound. Our family oriented, pet friendly resort is located on Mackenzie Beach 5 minutes from the town of Tofino and 15 minutes from the Pacific Rim National Park and the famous Long Beach. For those who prefer to rough it in style, we also offer seventy well treed, private RV sites only a short walk from the beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crystal Cove Beach Hotel Tofino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Cove Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.