We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice, close to the beach.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Cove Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tofino
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crystal Cove Beach Resort
1165 Cedarwood Place, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Tofino whale watching
Ranked #1 of 21 Specialty lodging in Tofino
GreenLeadersGold level
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Good choice, close to the beach.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a week, with our 20 year old kids, so it was a little cramped. We liked the cabin. The beds weren't the most comfortable, but the cabin was clean and conveniently situated close to the beach. The staff were friendly and competent. This is a good place to stay with younger kids. Even good for just a couple.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJ B, General Manager at Crystal Cove Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Russell C.

We are pleased you enjoyed your time at Crystal Cove. As for your comment about the beds, I am hoping you could let us know which bed in particular (regular bed or Futon) you found uncomfortable? We replace our beds with top of the line hotel quality beds from a well known supplier every 5 years. However should we get complaints such as this we would like to ensure that if there is an issues with a certain bed that we investigate it and change the bed out immediately for your comfort during your stay.

I would love to discuss this further should you have any more questions or comments.

Sincerely.

J.J. Belanger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    175
    45
    8
    2
    8
See reviews for
98
85
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Overall the resort is quite nice and it has easy and quick access to a very nice beach. We like the fact that it is pet friendly so we didnt have to leave our dog behind this time. The cabins are log cabin style, kind of rustic with an 80s feel to the cabinets and decoration. But they are very cozy with plenty of firewood and fire starter for the wood stoves and electric heat in case you dont like the idea of making a fire. Our cabin #11 was on a noticeable slant which felt funny to walk on at points. We had a slight view of the ocean through some trees and could hear the waves crashing when out front of the cabin as well. We were within 5min drive to Tofino and about 10min drive to Long Beach which was just spectacular. Only had a couple of small complaints. The hottub outside the cabin was not hot when we arrived and noone suggested we turn it up when we arrived so the first night in the hot tup ended before it began. I understand them wanting to save power but I would have appreciated a tip to turn it up when I arrived. The second thing was that the DVDs they offered at the front desk were scratched very badly from overuse so the movie that we got only played half way and then stopped. When I told them at the front desk the next day they said ya we know they are getting worn out and then just put it back on the shelf for the next guy to have the same problem. I expected a little better service and product for the cost. You dont have to offer DVDs but if you do make sure they work otherwise you just let people down.

The beds were very soft and comfortable (but small) and we were able to pick up Wifi faintly from the lobby as our cabin was close. All in all we enjoyed our stay and would come again. Just turn up the hottub when you arrive and bring your own movies.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view if you can. The view can be seen from each cabin on their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJ B, General Manager at Crystal Cove Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Mark.

I apologize on behalf of the team here at Crystal Cove if we missed the opportuntiy to ensure all aspects of your stay were not perfect.

As Tofino is a small community on the west coast, our hydro power can be an issue with surges and blackouts from time to time. The hot tubs are affected by these as well and they will automatically reverts back to their factory preset temperature settings. We try to get to each hot tub after a hydro spike to reset them before a guest checks in. Somehow we did not get to your in time for your arrival. All our tubs are set at 103 degrees so you can jump in and relax right away.

As for the scratched DVD, again I am sorry this happened, but I am more upset that our staff member at the office just put it back on the shelf. We have over 500 complimentary DVD's to choose from and we do get the odd complaint about scratches. Our policy is to remove the DVD from the rental shelf and buff out the scratches before re-renting it to our future guests. This was brought up at a recent staff meeting and has since been rectified.

Thanks for your input on where we can improve in hopes that your next stay with us is flawless.

Sincerely.

J.J. Belanger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This resort has some of the nicest log cabins and beach property on Vancouver Island. The units are spacious and very well equipped. Cabins have fully equipped kitchen, wood fire place with unlimited firewood included, a gas BBQ and wifi access.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin nearest the water, but almost any are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We camped here and had a great time. The resort is well treed and is a combination of natural greenspace with landscaping thrown in. It was not liike staying in an RV parking lot. Lots of greenery between sites. The washroom facilities were wonderful, spacious, clean and the best I've seen for some time. Although we didn't stay in a cabin we noticed they were located through the property in a way that gave privacy and attractiveness. They looked like real log cabins rather than quonsets side by side in a row with no trees in between. Access to the beach was really easy and very picturesque. It led onto MacKenzie beach which was great but was far enough away that you didn't have any noise distractions should there be a beach party at night. Which has been a problem at other places. A little more expensive than neighboring campsites, but well worth it for the peaceful enjoyment. The only thing I wished for was a pool or hot tub for the campers. The cabins do come with hot tubs though.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

After spending 5 nights in Ucluelet, we moved on to Tofino for a 3-night stay at the Crystal Cove Beach Resort ($440/night). The Crystal Cove is a beautifully landscaped (gardens, water features), multi-use resort with tenting and RVs in the back, log cabins facing a small intertidal channel adjacent to the expansive MacKenzie Beach, and dense forest to the sides. The rustic cabins range from small units for two to large 2-story units for up to eight. Ours (#24) had two bedrooms with comfortable queen beds and futons in the “den” and sitting area. There’s a small front porch (with a barbeque and firewood hopper - replaced daily) that is protected by an upstairs balcony housing a large Coast hot tub and a lounging area. The balcony has partial views of the open ocean and of MacKenzie Beach to the side, although hedge trees obstruct the view when sitting in the hot tub. The hot tub is new (but the jets don’t work on half of the seats) and the water was well maintained – quite luxurious after our long beach walks.

The ground floor common area is cozy, with an open seating/dining area and a kitchen. There is a futon (a bit uncomfortable) fronted by a large stone fireplace with a TV mounted overhead (DVDs only, free library at reception). The rustic ambience is enhanced by a kerosene lantern on the mantle. The kitchen is well equipped, with a full fridge, stove/oven, microwave, coffee maker (coffee supplied) and dishwasher, and a dining table (but only four chairs) – no hood fan though, and the posted warnings about leaving even a single dirty dish seem juvenile and unnecessary. The entry is tiled, with light-coloured laminate flooring in the common areas and carpeting on the stairs and upper floor. The lower bedroom is a bit small and has limited storage, while the upper master bedroom/en suite bathroom has a large closet and a spacious feel from French doors that open onto the balcony. There is another small room off the master suite, but it doesn’t function well either as a bedroom (accessible only through the master bedroom; no place to store clothes) or a den (no furnishings except a futon and TV). There is no maid service regardless of length of stay, but you can exchange towels/linen and empty toilet paper rolls in a container left on the porch. The resort is very dog-friendly ($20/dog/stay), with dog towels and blankets in the cabin and doggy bags and a dog wash station near the beach.

Tofino, a 5-minute drive away, is all about surfing and is well developed for the tourist, with many restaurants, tour operators, tourist shops, two super markets and government and private liquor stores. We dined at the Shelter Restaurant – excellent, with Tofino Brewing Company beer on tap – but expect Vancouver prices.

While we had a pleasant stay in both Ucluelet and Tofino, prices and value for money overshadowed the experience. Any resort of this standard would have difficulty delivering sufficient quality to justify these prices; the Crystal Cove Beach Resort is no exception. Some issues: a premium priced resort should provide daily maid service; the common areas, while cozy in the tradition of a log cabin, are cramped for a luxury property; seating is for only 3-4 people in the sitting area, at the dining room table, and on the balcony – inadequate for a cabin intended to accommodate up to 8 people; and while the resort is being upgraded, this cabin seems dated – the common area flooring is cheap laminate, and the bathrooms have dated fixtures and cheap, unfinished baseboard trim. While excessive high season prices seem to have become the norm for Tofino, similar quality resorts in Ucluelet are available at half the price (although still overpriced, in my view). Despite the quality of our experience, I cannot recommend the Crystal Cove Beach Resort – either go to Ucluelet or wait for the off season rates (posted at $270/night) that make it affordable for something like a girl’s weekend when costs can be shared.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

All of the facilities are in perfect condition. The maintenance of this place is excellent, the staff are helpful, the free fire wood was a bonus and the location can't be beat.. The play area is excellent, the showers, washrooms and laundry are clean and well kept. The free coffee at the office in the morning is another bonus. There are plenty of complimentary doggy waste bags and places to dispose of them, there's even a dog wash station by the beach. Despite the lots sizes and sporadic internet our visit was great, but my overall review ends up as just average because of the lot sizes and that is explained below.

You will have a very difficult time trying to put a 32 ft 'Class A' RV or trailer over 20ft into these lots. Some of the lots have the width but few have any depth so it is hard to fit the RV in never mind a truck and trailer, I had to park my truck in another site due to the limited size. There was barely enough room to open the slides and no room for the awning (essential in the rain forest.. the picnic table was shoved all the way to the front of the site and essentially useless due to the rain. There was no room for the fire pit in our site, so we used our neighbours. We looked at all the sites and despite what they advertise, only a few have the capacity for a truck and trailer over 20' with slides. ensure you verify that they are giving you a large enough lot for your RV, once you get there go look at the site, so you don't end up trying to shoe horn it into a tiny site.

Next time I think I will try the beach side cabins, they look wonderful and if they're maintained as well as the campground... they must be good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed a week in late August and were so happy we've already booked for next year.
Crystal Cove is an ideal family vacation destination. We have a three year old and one year old twins and they all loved the playground. The beach is perfect for younger children with tidal pools to explore, warm shallow water to swim in and plenty of sand to play on; there are even tall trees to protect your little ones from the wind. The grounds are fantastic and very well maintained right down to the amazing hanging baskets, The showers, rest rooms and laundry are clean and modern. The free fire wood and cofee are nice touches, the wifi is great - although a little weak - and the staff is amongst the friendlest and most helpfull we have ever met. The resort is just a 15 minute bike ride away from Tofino and everything it has to offer. The only draw back is the sites are fairly tightly packed, and some are on the smaller side for bigger trailers, so you may wish to choose your spot carefully. All in all a fantastic place and well worth the great reviews it gets here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crystal Cove Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Cove Beach Resort

Address: 1165 Cedarwood Place, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Specialty lodging in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among ancient cedars at the edge of the Pacific Ocean, enjoy our 34 genuine log cabins with spectacular views and all the amenities. Our well appointed, self contained cabins compliment the incredible surroundings making Crystal Cove your home away from home. From Beachfront Cabins with private hot tubs, to secluded Cabins set in the Rainforest, you will be immersed in the beauty that is Clayoquot Sound. Our family oriented, pet friendly resort is located on Mackenzie Beach 5 minutes from the town of Tofino and 15 minutes from the Pacific Rim National Park and the famous Long Beach. For those who prefer to rough it in style, we also offer seventy well treed, private RV sites only a short walk from the beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crystal Cove Beach Hotel Tofino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Cove Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Crystal Cove Beach Resort to your Saves list