We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel, amazing location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort Lodge to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1119 Pacific Rim Highway | Box 389, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nuneaton, Warwickshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel, amazing location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2005

This was the best hotel we have ever stayed at! We had the loft suite, which gave us the luxury of two balconies, and two bedrooms - ideal for a family of four.

The location is stunning, with the beach at the end of the lawn. The sunset was spectacular. The rooms were clean and well-presented.

We found the staff to be extremely courteous and helpful, and the dining room staff were particularly pleasant to our two children (aged 10 and 6) who did not want to eat from the children's menu.

If we could come back here tomorrow, this is where we would want to be.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    240
    69
    27
    16
See reviews for
143
305
19
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Gabriel, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2005

This was our first visit to Tofino and we had a two night stay at the Best Western Tin Wis. It is a bit pricey by Best Western standards but fair compared to hotel prices in Tofino in August.

All the rooms have ocean views of McKenzie Beach. It is like having a beach in your backyard. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful.

I will probably check out other hotels when I come back to Tofino (just for the sake of trying out different places) but I'd return to the Tin Wis if the prices are the same.

  • Stayed August 2005, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
503 helpful votes 503 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2005

For young families and other budget-conscious vacationers, the Tin Wis offers great value for the dollar in a Tofino-area hotel/motel. It is a long, three-floor motel-like building that stretches across a wide well-tended property right on a popular beach. From every room, the guest can see across the hotel's huge lawn, down to the beach, on to the bay, past the sheltering islands and out onto the open Pacific. You can see, smell, and hear the sea.

This arrangement is perfect for a family with children, especially if you take one of the ground floor rooms. Sliding doors open on to the grass where the kids can run about on the huge lawn without danger (parking is only on the land-ward side of the building), or play on the beach, where the ocean surge is severely dampened by the semi-protected nature of the bay. For parents, there is a comforting amount of foot traffic on the beach at most times of the year. It is generated by the camp sites, resorts, and hotels found all along this stretch of coast between the Pacific Rim National Park and Tofino proper. However, the Tin Wis's surrounding trees provides good separation from the other facilities.

After two separate stays at the Tin Wis (one in summer, one in winter), we have found our standard rooms to be entirely adequate. They are small but the view compensates. A balcony gave us the opportunity to sit out and enjoy the air and the view. The sheltered outdoor walkways, stairs, and breezeways give the hotel a nice outdoors feel. They also keep noise down during busy periods such as New Year's Eve. The stair and parking arrangements made for good separation between guests, so much so, that it felt almost like renting a chalet.

While breakfast is not included, the Tin Wis's restaurant is popular. Its location -- on the lawn with ocean views on three sides -- is delightful. We found the breakfast offerings reasonably priced and excellent several days in a row. It seems that many customers come to this restaurant from the other places on the beach. Unfortunately, the price for dinner was out of our range so we opted to drive 3 minutes into Tofino or order from an excellent take-out place. Since budget family eating can be a problem in Tofino, one of the Tin Wis's kitchenette rooms might be a good choice.

Service we have found to range from great to indifferent, depending on the person. The Tin Wis seems draw most of its staff from a native group. I mention this only because cultural differences may account for the occasional miscommunication or curious attitude. We had a few instances when a restaurant or desk worker seemed to have an agenda that did not include attending to a waiting customer. One occasion reminded me of an observation about the man who inspired John Cleese's tragi-comic hotelier Basil Fawlty: "He liked everything about the hotel business except the guests."

While the Tin Wis has a hot tub and some other amenities, the lawn and the beach are the prime attractions. Also, the conference facilities served my company well when we held a meeting there.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2005

August 8th and 9th 2005
We chose Tin Wis for its beach side location just outside the Pacific Rim National Park and its views over Mackenzie Bay. Despite some foggy weather we were not disappointed.
The accommodation was spacious and typical of the Best Western chain. Cleaning was of a good standard but where the hotel fell down was in maintaining a fully functioning set of facilities. During our stay the vending machine was out of order (no midnight choccie feast for us!) the dispensers in the laundrette were broken, several machines in the gym were out of action and on our second night the restaurant closed early despite having numerous guests waiting to eat!!!!!!!!!!!!!
We feel that this hotel will only survive on the basis of attracting new custom - most likely for the views guaranteed from all rooms. It is highly unlikely to attract return custom if our experiences are the norm.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2005

The best thing about this Best Western is its location, right on the ocean. The hotel is older and nothing really special, but well kept.

We were only here for 2 nights, a 3rd would have been nice. The whale watch tour was fun, but many upset stomachs half way through due to wind and big waves (we were in a covered "family" vehicle). Fortunately no one actually "lost it", but we all felt like we almost did (except for the teen ager!).

If visiting Tofino again I would check into other places, but if the price was too high I'd return to the Best Western.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2005

We stayed for 2 nights & wish it could have been longer. Great location, right on MacKenzie Beach & all rooms have ocean views. 5mins drive from the centre of Tofino. Efficient but taciturn staff. We had a lovely evening meal in the restaurant although as we stayed mid-week, we had to dine early as the restaurant closed soon after 8pm for last orders. Disappointing service at breakfast however as it took forever to arrive, and no refills were offered on tea, only coffee. But the fantastic views made up for these shortcomings.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2005

I'd recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of staying in Tofino. It is very reasonably priced, has nice rooms, a good restaurant, pleasant staff, and is ideally situated with a wonderful view and beachfront.

The only downfall is it has no internet access (i.e., business centre) and the room attendants really only straighten things up rather than laundering every piece of linen in the room such as bed sheets. Other than this, though, I can't fault it - and I work in the hotel industry myself.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort Lodge

Address: 1119 Pacific Rim Highway | Box 389, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Tofino
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
#6 Family Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 85 luxurious oceanfront rooms The Best Western Tin Wis Resort Hotel offers impressive Tofino accommodations. Relax on your private patio and enjoy a perfect summer sunset. Feel the pulse of a winter storm from the comfort of your cozy bed with a most breathtaking view. With a variety of rooms to choose from, our Tofino Resort Hotel is sure to have exactly what you're looking for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tin Wis Hotel Tofino
Best Western Tofino
Tofino Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.