We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Beachfront Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort Lodge

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort Lodge
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1119 Pacific Rim Highway | Box 389, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #8 of 16 hotels in Tofino
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Ideal Beachfront Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The Tin Wis is the ideal choice for anyone wanting a beautiful beach/oceanfront hotel accommodation in the Tofino area. With many great attributes, the key advantage of this hotel is that every room has a good view of the beach but the accommodation is different between the three buildings. We stayed in July and in the newest wing with three floors. Our unit was a corner room with a kitchenette, which is highly recommended! In this structure, ask for a room closer to the overpass (smaller numbers - like 501, 601, 701) so you have a better view down both sides of the beach. While the décor is adequate (not luxurious or quaint), the room was spacious, well equipped and had a great view! The kitchenette came with a toaster, kettle, mini-fridge, microwave, dish soap, and 2 stove top burners along with a sufficient supply of dishes but mish-mash of cutlery. Note that they don't supply paper towels or salt/pepper. The bed was comfortable. It was great to have a sofa to sit on. The balcony is roomy and had nice, new furniture for sitting and enjoying the view. Although mostly clean, their house keeping level could improve. When we arrived, there was a bag of garbage left in the closet and towels had not been stocked. We also found a dirty glasses, but the house keeping girls were very nice and were quick to fix these issues. It was nice to have the fireplace but the glass on the fireplace was too dirty to see the flames. A couple of other CONS to mention, these are - i) very slow WIFI and nearly not worth using and ii) no outdoor hot tub.

We loved the close proximity of the buildings to the beach and that there were benches and BBQs (gas and charcoal style) on or next to the beach for guest use. The booking process was also very easy with no deposits and super friendly front desk staff. And, there is ample parking.

We had a wonderful stay and I would consider returning. It is indeed, the best of the Best Western hotels! However, we felt it was not the best value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    206
    176
    56
    26
    12
See reviews for
103
227
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The Tin Wis is located on McKensie Beach just outside of Tofino. The rooms are modern, clean and spacious with wonderful oceans views and a gas fireplace if the nights are cool. For families there is a large green lawn with play equipment and the beach itself is perfect for long walks and building sandcastles. Their restaurant, Calm Waters, offers great views of the ocean and is a perfect setting for watching the sunset with a glass of wine. We found the staff to be welcoming and helpful in every way.

Room Tip: I think all rooms have an ocean view but if you travel in the fall or winter you might also want a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

For location this hotel takes some beating in that it sits right on the beach overlooking the Pacific. The downside is that it is nearly two miles out of Tofino (a 30 minute walk) although the local taxi is very good if you want to go out for a meal and not drive. As other reviewers have said, it is a motel type of building with First Nations owners and staff who generally are very good and helpful. Room prices appear to be negotiable according to how busy the hotel is and you need to remember that Tofino gets more visitors than it has hotel beds for many months of the year! Nearly all rooms have fantastic sea views which are better from the upstairs rooms. Prices tend to be for room only so take note that every single item at breakfast is charged for. Evening meals seem to be, at best, average so you may need to be getting to know the taxi owner whose knowledge of the area and menus at every restaurant is encyclopaedic.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

You can't ask for much more in a location. We could walk out of our room and onto a stunning beach.

The rooms are good standard chain hotel rooms.

We ate in the resturant 3 times, twice for dinner and once for breakfast. The food is great (recommend the mac and cheese with salmon and bacon) but the service is better in the evening than the morning.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parry Sound, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in sept. and had a great time. Friendly efficient staff welcomed us, we checked in smoothly. We got to our room which was clean and had everything we needed and the view was amazing!!! We dropped our bags and headed for the beach for a walk. We ate in the restaurant two evenings and one breakfast. It was extremely busy at all times but service and food was excellent. We did not have reservations for any of our meals and we were accommodated no problem. It would be an advantage to make a reservation because they are so busy. I can't say enough good things about this hotel, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would go back in a heartbeat.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds. UK.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

After reading all the reviews we were a little apprehensive but absolutely delighted when we walked into our room and saw the amazing view .We had a basic room but it was really big and it was so lovely to lie in bed at night listening to the waves outside .Very comfortable bed and spotlessly clean ..would stay again like a shot .We did not have dinner ...met friends at the Schooner which was very good but breakfast was excellent and we found all the staff really friendly and helpful .Our only regret was only staying one night !

Room Tip: We were on the right hand side as you stand on the beach looking at the resort and we had a superb v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I was booked to stay in a regular room, but upgraded once arrived with my family. The executive suite was worth the extra price! The hotel is really nice (and was receiving a new coat of paint while we were there), and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful - the management should appalud their efforts. The hotel is situated right on a very sandy beach. If you're a fan of First Nations art, then you'll also be spoiled by the decor here. I didn't notice any for sale - I think the hotel could capitalize on the opportunity to do so.

The only complaint that I have is that the wireless internet connection is terrible. Both my wife and I had trouble maintaining a link to the wireless network, and the rooms don't include the option for connecting via an internet cable. As we both had business work to do while in Tofino, this proved to be quite a pain.

We would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort Lodge

Address: 1119 Pacific Rim Highway | Box 389, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Tofino
#6 Family Hotel in Tofino
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort Lodge 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 85 luxurious oceanfront rooms The Best Western Tin Wis Resort Hotel offers impressive Tofino accommodations. Relax on your private patio and enjoy a perfect summer sunset. Feel the pulse of a winter storm from the comfort of your cozy bed with a most breathtaking view. With a variety of rooms to choose from, our Tofino Resort Hotel is sure to have exactly what you're looking for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tin Wis Hotel Tofino
Best Western Tofino
Tofino Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.