We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mckenzie beach you can't go wrong.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort Lodge

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort Lodge
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1119 Pacific Rim Highway | Box 389, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a $50 Gift Card
Ranked #6 of 15 hotels in Tofino
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Mckenzie beach you can't go wrong.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This property is run by the First Nation here in Tofino. Beautiful friendly people from Angela at check in to the cleaners to the restaurant manager well done! All rooms face a huge green space on the beach. The could use a new outdoor hot tub overlooking beach. But the fitness room is getting remodelled so maybe in plans. More comfy chairs in huge area wood be good. Includes nice breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    148
    52
    24
    10
See reviews for
85
191
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We traveled to Tofino several years ago (before March 2012 but that is the oldest option allowed), and would love to return there.
We stayed here and thoroughly enjoyed it. (I'm a bit disturbed by some of the more recent reviews though. Will have to check into this before booking.)
Great location, our room was good, easy beach access, quiet.
All in all, a super stay.
We went nearby to the Wickaninnish for spa fun.
I'm posting now because we weren't members of TripAdvisor when we visited.
We're looking now to schedule a trip again, which may include Tofino so it was on my mind.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NANAIMO
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We were reading the last review of Feb 4 and absolutely totally agree with everything they say. The only good thing was the view and even with that the furniture was put on the wrong side of the room to be able to appreciate the view.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort Lodge, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Please accept my apologies that you did not enjoy your stay, and found the guestroom furniture lacking. All of our rooms with one king size bed have a sofa and chair, unfortunately the rooms with two queen size beds that you chose do not have the space for a sofa.

Please let me know if I can assist you with a reservation in the future I would be pleased to offer you a very special rate by way of apology, and I will insure you have a room that is more to your liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed at Tin Wis Feb 1-3 with a deal from LivingSocial that included 2 nights for $199. We've been to Tofino a couple times, and I guess were spoiled by staying at Cox Bay Resort and Black Rock.

Tin Wis is perfectly situated on Mcknenzie beach, a beautiful beach thats perfect for swimming or playing in in the summer. Its also dog friendly which is nice...there were lots of happy dogs bounding up and down the beach.

The hotel is old... we ended up in a queen room, which consisted of 2 queen beds, a chair, a small table and a mini fridge. Sitting in bed one evening was not the most comfortable experience...we asked at the front desk if they had any rooms with a single queen bed and a couch or a loveseat, but were advised all the queen rooms have two beds and no couches.

We were also hoping to relax in the room and play cards by the fireplace....but once again, no fireplace, and only one chair. We ordered pizza one night, and had difficulty eating it as there were no paper towels, plates etc etc....

VERY simple continental breakfast was included. Staff in the dining room did not appear to happy to be there.

The free wifi was patchy and kept cutting out.

There is an indoor "hot tub", but the room was gross and mildewy, and we were too disgusted to go in. There was a "gym" over the hot tub, but walls were being painted and it was not useable.

We checked online, and the regular winter rate is $169 a night....for that price you could stay at black rock, or get a one bedroom suite at Cox Bay... Tin Wis' pricing just seems out of touch with the superior hotels they're competing with.

Room Tip: Apparently there are renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nanimo
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We went with our kids,12 and 14. They had a great time watching the rain from our comfortable modern room. We walked on the beach for hours and we plan to go back very soon! The location was nice as it is very close to Tofino. The restaurants in town were great too, Shelter was our fave!!

Room Tip: They all have a view.....we asked for one on a higher floor to expand our view and they were very ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort Lodge, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our property. On behalf of all the staff here we are glad you hada great stay and look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We just spent 2 nights at this location. We were very impressed with the room, bed was so comfortable, a couple of arm chairs, big screen TV, fridge etc, and so very clean. Our room price of $119.00 Sr's rate included a continental breakfast. Then there's the view, just amazing and steps to one of the most beautiful beaches in the area. Close to Tofino, a fun little town to poke around in.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This was a return visit to the Tin Wis as our first was so enjoyable.It has a great location on beautiful Mckenzie Beach,perfect for long strolls morning and evening and a perfect vantage point to watch the sunset either from the beach or enjoying a meal in the dining room.The staff are very helpful and friendly, the room large and clean .A very relaxed and quiet atmosphere makes the Tin Wis a perfect get away.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort Lodge

Also Known As:
Best Western Tin Wis Hotel
Best Western Tin Wis Hotel Tofino
Best Western Tofino
Tofino Best Western
Address: 1119 Pacific Rim Highway | Box 389, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Tofino
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
#6 Business Hotel in Tofino
#6 Family Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort Lodge 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 85 luxurious oceanfront rooms The Best Western Tin Wis Resort Hotel offers impressive Tofino accommodations. Relax on your private patio and enjoy a perfect summer sunset. Feel the pulse of a winter storm from the comfort of your cozy bed with a most breathtaking view. With a variety of rooms to choose from, our Tofino Resort Hotel is sure to have exactly what you're looking for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Best Western, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.