We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent off-season rate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort Lodge

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort Lodge
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1119 Pacific Rim Highway | Box 389, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #8 of 16 hotels in Tofino
Delta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent off-season rate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Special package listed in Vancouver newspaper, $269 plus taxes for 3 nights including continental breakfast between Christmas and New Years. ($60 extra for 3rd adult for the 3 nights). Best rate on their web site was $119 plus taxes per night.
All rooms have a great view of the ocean (Rooms in the 100's are on the ground floor of the main building, 200's on the second floor, 300's on the ground floor of the southern or left hand building which angles closer to the ocean, 400's on the second floor, 500's, 600's and 700's in the northern building on the ground, second and third floor respectively). Hot tub, sauna and fitness centre are at the ocean end of the south building. Dining room and lobby are in the middle building, with fine views from the restaurant.
Room was clean, well maintained, beds were comfortable, good shower pressure, no sounds from adjacent rooms. We were on the second floor of the main building so no noise from above. Free wi-fi was reasonably fast. Business centre has only one computer and a printer. It seemed slower than wi-fi in the rooms.
Didn't have dinner in the restaurant so can't comment. No lunch service, at least in low season. Free continental breakfast was fresh fruit, 3 kinds of yogurt, 3 types of dry cereal, cinnamon buns, strudel, bagels and muffins, waffle maker, tea and coffee. Toast, juice, eggs, breakfast meats can be ordered a la carte for an extra charge.
One day our room wasn't made up, even though the 'please make-up room' sign was posted on the door for over 4 hours. That and the fact that some of the staff could have been a little warmer and more helpful meant that I couldn't give a 5 circle rating, but for the rate paid, we felt it was excellent value.

Room Tip: If we went back, would choose the top floor of the south building to be closer to ocean for wave sou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    210
    184
    59
    26
    13
See reviews for
110
232
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver BC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed here with our inlaws Dec 26 to the 29th and had a pleasant experience. The location is stunning but you do know you are staying at a Best Western. The rooms were clean and all have great views but are three star standards. That being said the beds are very comfortable. The staff were usually very polite but you can tell are there for the job and that is all. The restaurant food was quite good but the service is very slow and inneficient. The "fitness center" is comprised of three rusty cardio machines on the upper level of the hot tub room. None of us even tried using them as the room is steamy with the hottub vapors. We did not venture into the hot tub either as it is indoor and not very appealing. When our family left my wife and I moved to the Blackrock in Uclulet mostly because we wanted a better gym and hot tub and bathroom. All in all the Tin Wis is a great value and location with sub par service and totally inadequate fitness and leisure faciltiies. If you are on a budget this is a great hotel.

Room Tip: Perfect for surfers to stay on the first floor for walk out surfing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Dining room service is the worst. Have to everything yourself it seems. The hotel room wasn't even cleaned when we entered room at 6 pm so changed rooms. No compensation of any kind was offered. The view and location is amazing. Highly recommend based on price only otherwise don't expect much.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, BC
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We went storm watching for our anniversary this year in Tofino. We had a blast!!!! The 5 days we were gone was nothing short of fabulous!! Our stay at the Tin Wis was wonderful! I booked a winter special from Paul the manager at Tin Wis. He upgraded us to an executive suite which was just perfect! Now, I know this is a Best Western...and you can always count on Best Westerns to be clean and comfortable. The Tin Wis, however is WAY above and beyond our expectations of a Best Western!!! It is without a doubt THE best Best Western we have ever stayed at!!! From the cleaning staff Andy and Mauriah, to the servers at the Restaurant -Mia, Krista, Catherine, Gary, oh and we can't forget Dancing Donna, to the front end staff all I can say is they are the most HELPFUL, COURTEOUS, FRIENDLY, accommodating people we had the pleasure to meet!!!! Our stay at Tin Wis was MUCH more enjoyable than we had aniticipated!!! We cuddled up in front of the fireplace, sipped wine, and watched the storm! It was romantic, refreshing and relaxing!!!!!!!!! I wouldn't HESITATE to go back! Our trip in the summer will be with the grandchildren too. This is the perfect beach for little ones. Tin Wis means "Calm waters", which they tell me it really is in the summer months. When we were there people were surfing!!! The waves are NOT as high as Long Beach as the beach is protected. The scenery is gorgeous and walks on the beach are so relaxing!! Food at the restaurant is tastey and well presented! Very good bang for your buck!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

All units have an incredible view and the beach is only 100' away. The room was not big, but we were only in it to sleep and it was very clean and quiet with just the sound of waves crashing......ahh.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ST. ALBERT
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Our November trip to the Pacific Rim on Vancouver Island was truly amazing, thanks to Tin Wis. The hotel is situated directly behind the beach with a clear view of the ocean just steps away. We go everywhere with our 4 legged child, a border collie, and Tin Wis welcomed her warmly. They have an amazing set up for dogs - doggie bags, a warm water washing station to get the sand off, a great beach to run on, just an all round great place for a dog. All pet owners were very responsible with their animals.

Our room was cozy and perfect for a 4 day stay. We had patio doors that allowed us to walk directly into the green space and to the beach. We kept our window open slightly every night to hear the ocean while we slept. The hot tub and sauna were spotless and there was a well equipped exercise room. The staff were extremely friendly, efficient and professional. The restaurant (overlooking the beach) was amazing - the food was great, service impeccable and the location priceless. We travel a lot and eat and stay in some pretty nice places. The Best Western Tin Wis is close to the top of our hotel/motel experiences.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort Lodge

Address: 1119 Pacific Rim Highway | Box 389, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Tofino
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Tofino
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
#7 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort Lodge 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 85 luxurious oceanfront rooms The Best Western Tin Wis Resort Hotel offers impressive Tofino accommodations. Relax on your private patio and enjoy a perfect summer sunset. Feel the pulse of a winter storm from the comfort of your cozy bed with a most breathtaking view. With a variety of rooms to choose from, our Tofino Resort Hotel is sure to have exactly what you're looking for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tin Wis Hotel Tofino
Best Western Tofino
Tofino Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.