We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Outfitters

Ocean Outfitters
368 Main Street, Tofino, British Columbia VOR 2ZO, Canada
2507252866
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tofino's award winning whale watching company- voted #1 Readers Choice Award for six years! Join Ocean Outfitters for adventures in Clayoquot Sound including guaranteed whale watching, bear watching, coastal hotsprings tours, private charters, sea to sky tours and Meares Island walks. Comfortable covered vessels and zodiacs equipped with washrooms. Free parking. On site gallery and espresso bar. Open year round for hotsprings tours. Book online and save!
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“AMAZING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Fabulous trip, watching whales, even given the fact that we were late in the season (mid november) and they couldn't ensure we would see any whales, we saw these 2 magnificent whales, next to this, eagles, sea otters, sea lions... Freezing cold, but enjoyed it so much we didn't want to go inside! It was just amazing!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    14
    9
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bancroft, Canada
1 review
“It doesn't get any better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

A spectacular October day and superb boating skills by our skipper Oron made for a spectacular day. The Gray Whales were active and sunning Seals and Sea Lions made this a day to remember. PJCJ

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Bear watching trips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Ocean Otfitters is one of the smaller bear/whale watching companies in Tofino. 4 of us Brits booked up for a 5:30pm bear watching trip on a 12 seater Zodiac speedboat. On the trip we saw 10 female brown bears (2 with cubs) scavaging on the shore line, at several different locations alone the coast, turning rocks over looking for crabs or any other food they could find. The boat pilot was very imformative and very knowlegable making the two and a half hour very enjoyable. Taking everything into account the experience was one ofthe highlights of our trip through the Rockies to Vancouver Island..

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Consett
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exciting trip to Hot Springs Cove”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

My friend and I did this trip on a very wet day on 29th August. It was exciting and great fun despite the weather which was heavier than expected for time of year. The excellent, informative skipper took us in as close as possible for shots of a whale, sea lions and sea otters. We would not hesitate to recommend this trip.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Don't miss this experience! Salt Springs Tour with Cap Ron ROCKED!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Great tour and worth every penny - especially the 1 1/2 hour each way on the water. Captain Ron was terrific in his information and personalizing it in such an interesting and entertaining way. AND - he knew his stuff: how to find the whales, and spotting all sorts of other great creatures. Oh - ya - the salt springs were cool too -- a little crowded -- but the walk through the rain forest up to them, or just hanging out eating lunch on the rocks by the springs is great too!
Even my husband loved it - who at first balked at doing any organized activity that took 6 hours - haha!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Outfitters also viewed

 

Been to Ocean Outfitters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Outfitters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.