We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best fish taco ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tacofino Cantina

Tacofino Cantina
1184 Pacific Rim Hwy, Tofino, British Columbia, Canada
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 44 Restaurants in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: located in a bright orange catering truck at the back of parking lot complex. GREAT food. must be listed on here.,
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best fish taco ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Wow, what a find. Made my day!! Best fish taco I have ever had. Nice (for a carpark), cheap, quick service, friendly staff. A must-eat destination in Tofino.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    531
    100
    27
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“great eating outdoors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had fish Tacos and they were delicious. Actually saw an episode on Diners and Dives and they certainly were right about the quality of the food. This is a must visit if you are in the Tofino area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Stevens, Washington
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Come here for the BEST fish tacos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Just returned from a long weekend in Tofino, B.C. Based on fellow TripAdvisor members, I made a point to visit Tacofino. OMG, the fish tacos are like no other taco I've ever had. The flavors were blended to perfection and the fish was lightly battered. Absolutely delicious. My Dad even liked the fish tacos and he is not one to enjoy restaurant meals. He asked if we could go a 2nd time. Unfortunately, we ran out of time and were only able to enjoy Tacofino once. The service was friendly and fast. I still don't know how a food truck can produce top-notch better than any full service sit-down restaurant.

Do yourself a favor and just go to Tacofino as soon as you pull into Tofino. That way you'll be able to enjoy multiple meals at the best taco truck this side of the border.

My only regret is not going every day of my vacation!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great fish tacos - but you already know that”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Stopped there for a quick snack, great fish tacos and smoothies. Wish I had time to go back for seconds.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Hmmmm -- Yummy Tacos!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Be prepared to stand in line to partake in these excellent tacos and burritos. It's a super informal place -- just a glorified food truck with outdoor picnic tables. Still -- we went twice while in Tofino, and would have returned more times if we had stayed longer. The food is really great.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tacofino Cantina also viewed

Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 

Been to Tacofino Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tacofino Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.