We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whole lotta people in the middle of no where waiting for food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tacofino Cantina

Tacofino Cantina
1184 Pacific Rim Hwy, Tofino, British Columbia, Canada
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 44 Restaurants in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: located in a bright orange catering truck at the back of parking lot complex. GREAT food. must be listed on here.,
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Whole lotta people in the middle of no where waiting for food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Totally worth it. Tried a couple other fish tacos within Tofino, they got nothin' on Tacofino. Epic. Get the Diablo Chocolate cookie too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    531
    100
    27
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Slow”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Went for a late lunch at 2pm. Was told 20 min wait. Had to be on the road but fine. After 15 was told it would be another 20 or 30 minutes and that I had just ordered so it would be a while. Food looked good, but I think they should have stopped taking orders instead of getting overwhelmed.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best fish taco's anywhere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Believe the hype. Since first eating at Tacofino this past Spring we make a point to go there every trip to the West Coast, and we've recommended it to a number of people. The fish taco's are amazing. The burritos are really good too. The food is fresh and tastes great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“mmm!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

it was fun. the food was good and the lineup was long accordingly, but it was great after-surfing food! would go again.
everything seemed fresh, but no jalapenos :(

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Delish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I was skeptical even though this "restaurant" was on a recent TV show. It is a converted school bus and you sit outside at tables. It was delicious. It is a bit of a wait but we were on vacation so who cares. The fish tacos were fantastic. We also tried the chicken gringas which was good but we enjoyed the fish tacos more. The chocolate-diablo cookies are a must have!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tacofino Cantina also viewed

Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 

Been to Tacofino Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tacofino Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.