We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury and Pampering” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ancient Cedars Spa

Ancient Cedars Spa
500 Osprey Lane at Chesterman Beach | The Wickaninnish Inn, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
800-333-4604
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 48 Activities in Tofino
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nestled into the warm confines of the Wickaninnish Inn, Ancient Cedars Spa overlooks the open Pacific Ocean and is Tofino’s premiere oasis of relaxation and well-being. A full range of body therapy, Thalassotherapy, skin care, esthetics and more is offered in seven welcoming spaces where our international staff will customize each treatment based on your individual references. Inspired by traditional First Nations cleansing techniques the Hishuk Ish Tsawalk Awakening Treatment is highly recommended as are the variety of side by side options, we also welcome intimate groups and bridal parties. The Ancient Cedars Spa experience is enhanced with an oceanfront patio, comfortable men’s and ladies lounges with showers, a Bouvier Hydrotherapy Tub and a eucalyptus steam room, available on its own, or as a finishing touch to a treatment. We utilize a range of high quality, naturally-inspired products including Vancouver Island’s own certified organic Seaflora Skincare and the results oriented Comfort Zone face and body products line from Parma Italy. We recommend starting a beautiful Tofino day with semi-private yoga instruction for optimal restorative balance, offered daily in the welcoming Rainforest Haven room. Enter with peace, leave with tranquility at Ancient Cedars Spa.
Toledo, Ohio
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Luxury and Pampering”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Don't try to just "grab a massage" here! Plan time to enjoy the foot soak, the rest under the trees. Try a new treatment. The Lomi Lomi was a unique experience. We had a couples massage and paid a bit extra to have the privacy of the beach cabin experience. Wonderful! Relaxing to the max. It truly matches it's rating of #1 in Canada.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“One of the best spas - in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I have been coming to this spa for over 10 years and I relish the moments that I'm there. The level of attention to detail is unmet by other spas I've frequented. Every therapist is deeply connected to YOU and is concerned with your delight, healing, and calm. There is an aura about this place that is truly unmatched. I've been lucky to have a variety of treatments, but my go-to is the Self Renewal Face & Body - you won't be disappointed!

If you have never been here before, here are some things that you can look forward to (please don't read if you don't like spoilers and would rather explore for yourself!):
- a foot soak outside, sipping hot tea and listening to the waves crash in front of you; a resident family of eagles also come in to say hello
- a steam room (now lovingly called "the steam cave" that fills your lungs with earthy, aromatic air before and after your treatment)
-an abundance of organic products for you to use at your leisure post-treatment

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“hot rock massage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

it was a small spa but the steam room was great..the spa was comfortable and setting perfect.
My massage was good. I had never had a Hot Rock Massage so I cannot compare it .But I was not disappointed.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best massage ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

While quite pricey, the hot stone massage is pure bliss. The treatment left me feeling much more relaxed and was balm for my tired, aching muscles. Isabelle was an excellent theapist, giving me many tips for better health. The whole experience is well worth the money. Having experienced massage therapy in many parts of the world, I have never had a better massage anywhere!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“It's as good as they saw”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Wonderful spa experience, tasteful changing and shower area, excellent steam room, nice foot soak before treatments. My husband and I had side by side couples massage and both therapists were outstanding. Very peaceful spa interior, everything smells of cedar. Two eagles sat in a tree outside our treatment area. Overlooks the beachfront at the Wick. Book early. A little spendy but worth it.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ancient Cedars Spa also viewed

Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 

Been to Ancient Cedars Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ancient Cedars Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.