We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marina West Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Marina West Motel to your Saves list
Marina West Motel
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   634 Campbell St | Box 69, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada (Formerly Weigh West Marine Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Tofino
Langley City, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and really enjoyed the room, the food at their restaurant and we also went on a whale watching tour which was the best. The town is small enough that you can walk around easiy and we had a fabulous view from our room.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaWestTofino, Front Desk Representative at Marina West Motel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank-you for sharing your review. It is a pleasure to hear you were able to enjoy all of the amenities on site. The idea behind an inclusive style facility is to offer central and budget friendly accommodations, complimented with on-site dining, a waterfront pub (Jack's has live music most weekends), and the convenience of a marine adventure centre where you can book fishing charters, kayak tours, whale watching, bear watching, hot springs trips, and moorage. Ask us about guest rates on eco-adventures!
Kind Regards,
The Team at Marina West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    70
    60
    37
    32
See reviews for
31
119
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sooke, B.C.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We were here again and enjoyed it as much as last year. We had a great room. It was enjoyable watching the workings on the other docks with boats coming in and out. This was a weekend bought on social shopper and it was a wonderful wonderful get away. We ate all our meals at Jack 's it was great, breakfast lunch and dinner. The wait staff was very courteous, we enjoyed our time there and hopefully if this is offered again next year, we will be back.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the water, don't think there is a bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaWestTofino, Manager at Marina West Motel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank-you for your review. We have to agree, the food at the diner has been spot on and if anyone has yet to try a mouth watering Jack's burger, yam fries with siracha mayo, pub style butter chicken, the dockboy breakfast sandwich... you get the idea, you wont be disappointed. To answer your comment on packages, you should check out the Ultimate Getaway when you have a moment, an incredible deal that includes a two night stay for two and a $50 dining credit. http://marinawest.com/packages.html
We look forward to accommodating you again the next time you are in Tofino!
Kind Regards,
The Team at Marina West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Nice hotel, very close to all amenities ( 15 min stroll to downtown) Very pleased with the rooms, clean spacious had all amenities such as fridge stove microwave etc. I would only make one change and that would be to update/clean the balconies and possible put sure more comfortable chairs to enjoy the views. The food in the pub was simply amazing. not at all what i was expecting from a pub menu. I did have to send back cold food ( sausages) at breakfast but it was rectified right away with smiles and no attitude (sorry to the new girl on her first day!) Marc L.

Room Tip: Pick any room on the upper 3rd floor. The last suite closest to the water on the right hand side bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights. A combined $127 CAD for both nights after taxes etc through priceline.
What we got was a warm, very clean, perfectly located hotel.
Not sure why ratings are so low? The star level almost deterred us...glad it didn't.
Will always come back to this place!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night. We paid $69.00 for our room and we were very happy with everything. Room was clean and nicely decorated, and we liked that Jack's pub was just steps from our room. The only thing was that even though we were right by the marina, we didn't have a view at all. The view from room 51 was just a concrete wall. Other than that though we were very satisfied with our stay and would most definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a higher floor for a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

$69 room before tax was without a balcony view (room 20) but the room was really nice. Comfy bed, big TV, fridge and really clean. Room was lots big too. Jack's pub is just down the hill and has great food and beer. This place rocked!

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed here on an internet promotion. The motel is well located to walk to everything in town and to Tonquin Beach which is located right in Tofino. Check-in was efficient. The desk clerk explained the promotion and got us to our room very quickly. The room had a separate sleeping room and a Murphy bed in the front room for another two people to sleep in.

Unfortunately this results in some limitations on the furnishings. No couch in the living room and two chairs. Not the best and I'm not sure what you would do if you were there with another couple or some kids. The kitchenette was quit acceptable, a service counter with sink and there were actually two small fridges. Each unit has a balcony with an excellent view of the working harbour. The main sleeping area was furnished with a very comfortable bed with good quality linens.

Two disappointments were the bathroom and the TV reception. This was during the Olympics and it would have been nice to have a clear picture. The system could apparently produce a clean picture in the Pub and Restaurant but not in the room. Minor maintenance in the bathroom was badly neglected, although there seemed to be lots of hot water the shower head was so badly blocked that it produced barely enough water to rinse and the sink wouldn't drain which always makes me wonder what the blockage is.

However overall this was a good experience. It could have been better though.

Room Tip: Go for the top or bottom floors, the middle floor can be a bit noisy at time because of the echo eff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marina West Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina West Motel

Address: 634 Campbell St | Box 69, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada (Formerly Weigh West Marine Resort)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina West Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marina West is a very unique west coast oceanfront resort that offers the perfect setting for whale watching, eco adventures, fishing, boating, hot springs trips, beachcombing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Marina West Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weigh West Marine Hotel Tofino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marina West Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.