We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marina West Motel

Save Saved
You added Marina West Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marina West Motel
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   634 Campbell St | Box 69, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada (Formerly Weigh West Marine Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 16 hotels in Tofino
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We got a reasonable deal off the internet at the last minute and were not disappointed. A short walk from the main part of town, and next to the water and a pub with food. Most rooms had a good view, although those on the ground floor could only see the car park. The room was clean, comfortable and functional but not spacious. Unfortunately, it used to be a smoking room and we could still detect a slight smell. However, it was a cheap deal!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views. Ask them if your room used to be a smoking room if you don't li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaWestTofino, Front Office Manager at Marina West Motel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review! We offer many different deals both online and in-house. Our most popular of which is our Ultimate Getaway Package, which is a fantastic value, and can be found through our website www.marinawest.com!

Your comments about the smell of smoke in your room has been noted and our Housekeeping Team has eliminated the issue. We appreciated your feedback on this matter!

The Front Desk Team at Marina West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    57
    51
    32
    31
See reviews for
24
106
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Port Coquitlam
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed at Marina West for 3 nights. We loved the location as it was easy walking distance to shops and restaurants in town. The hotel staff were excellent. The manager, Brielyn, provided us first class service when we booked over the phone on short notice. Jess at reception when we arrived was very personable and helpful in recommending places to eat and see and other helpful tips for our stay. Other reception staff were always friendly and helpful too. Our accommodation was amazing. The room had everything we needed and more. Beautiful views of the area from our top floor balcony and windows. The room was very clean and the hotel staff serviced it well. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay - very relaxing, comfortable, and quiet - great way to destress! We highly recommend this place to stay and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the water if you can. The suites are very nice - comfy king size bed, lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaWestTofino, Front Office Manager at Marina West Motel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Guest

Amazing review, thank you!

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay! Our Team is very committed to providing the best service possible and we strive daily to make everyone's stay as enjoyable as yours.

Your comments were warmly received by all our staff!

We hope to have the pleasure of accommodating you again in the near future!

The Front Desk Team at Marina West Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We took a short notice trip to Tofino, 2 day stay, with fantastic weather,, motel was very nice, room was clean and bed very comfortable, wi fi was a liitle short on availability but other than that
place was fine, steep drop to lower levels not really great for folks with mobility concerns .

Room Tip: Ground level in side wing, east side, no view of the ocean, so no advantage , west side is very nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaWestTofino, Front Office Manager at Marina West Motel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review!

Your comment about our Wi-Fi was correct. We did experience some Wi-Fi issues for a short period of time. The issue has since been resolved and the Marina West continues to offer free, stable Wi-Fi to all our guests!

We really appreciate your feedback and hope that we have the opportunity to accommodate you again soon!

The Front Desk Team at Marina West Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I dont usually stay in town when I go, so it was nice to be able to walk where ever we wanted to go. We booked last minute on a long weekend so we were lucky to get anything. It was ok for the price $120. during high season through Booking.com. Having said that the room was dark and not very clean. What bothered me most were the other guests. They were loud all night and smashing glass in the parking lot ect. I wouldnt go with kids for sure. The staff were friendly enough check in/out was the usual.

Room Tip: Ask for a upper room with an ocean view, try to avoid the lower parking lot ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaWestTofino, Front Office Manager at Marina West Motel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. We regret to hear that the sound level from other guests lessened your experience with us. Our Night Staff work hard to minimize noise related issues, if they arise, and are always just a phone call away should a guest require service or assistance.

Our Motel does offer great deals not only through booking.com but also through our own website, www.marinawest.com, in the form of discounted room rates and our Ultimate Getaway Package, which is a fantastic value!

During your next visit to Tofino we at Marina West would love to accommodate you again and provide to you an experience that will exceed your expectations.

Thank You!

The Front Desk Team at Marina West Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody, BC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My wife and I were in Tofino for a brief two-night visit. Our stay here was relaxed and comfortable with great views from our upper floor room with a balcony. General cleanliness was good and the bed afforded us a good night's sleep. Loved the fact we were within near walking distance to anywhere in this charming village. Minor blip had one part of a receptacle not working, so we had to juggle lamp service with a microwave--inconvenient, but doable. Friendly staff at restaurant went out of their way to make our visit pleasant, and the food was very enjoyable. It appeared we dined at a slow period which might explain the extra attention we received. Overall experience was quite enjoyable.

Room Tip: Upper floor with balcony good choice. Quiet and views of harbour are exquisite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaWestTofino, Front Office Manager at Marina West Motel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. The fact that we are located so close to the village of Tofino is a convenience definitely enjoyed by most our guests.

It sounds like you enjoyed a great meal at our Diner. While it may have been quiet in the Diner, we assure you that the attention you received is the level with which we strive to provide every guest who graces our establishment.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you again!

The Front Desk Team at Marina West Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Rude, clueless reception staff. Rugs were stained. No air conditioning and room was like an oven during the day. No housekeeping except to make the bed. No clean glasses, cups. Didn't replenish toiletries or tea/coffee. When complained the attitude was that's our policy. Far better places in Tofino for the price.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaWestTofino, Front Office Manager at Marina West Motel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Guest

We are very sorry to hear your experience with us did not meet or exceed your expectations. Clearly, this is not acceptable, nor is it indicative of the type of experience our guests receive while staying with us.

Our Accommodations Manager is happy to speak with you directly regarding your stay. Please feel free to contact our Front Desk at 1-800-665-8922 and we will connect you.

We as a Team hope to one day have the opportunity to serve you again, prove ourselves, and provide you an experience that will exceed expectations.

The Front Desk Team at Marina West Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The staff made our stay wonderful. We had a mixup on checkout dates, and they did everything possible to be sure were OK, including packing us out and notifying our next destination. Above and beyond our expectations. The room was comfortable, the bar was lots of fun and the food at the restaurant was great. Location was nice, and we had a wonderful time. The room was basic, but very functional. we had to forgo a balcony to have two queen beds, and they made sure the room configuration worked for us. Wonderful people

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaWestTofino, Front Office Manager at Marina West Motel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank You! We are happy to hear we dealt with the mix up in a manner that exceeded your expectations. Jack's Pub and The Diner are both great places to eat and mingle while enjoying Tofino, and it's great that you had a chance to do so!

We look forward to serving you again during your next Tofino adventure!

The Front Desk Team at Marina West Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marina West Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina West Motel

Address: 634 Campbell St | Box 69, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada (Formerly Weigh West Marine Resort)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina West Motel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marina West is a very unique west coast oceanfront resort that offers the perfect setting for whale watching, eco adventures, fishing, boating, hot springs trips, beachcombing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Marina West Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weigh West Marine Hotel Tofino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marina West Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.