We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want a reasonable room for the price _ Don't do this!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Marina West Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Marina West Motel to your Saves list
Marina West Motel
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   634 Campbell St | Box 69, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada (Formerly Weigh West Marine Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Tofino
Eugene, Oregon
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“If you want a reasonable room for the price _ Don't do this!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Our stay was a comedy of error, if you can laugh at a mattress with a hollow as big as a smart car! There was no internet, shoe molding falling off the wall TV remote not working and more. The final indignity was the total lack of contrition. Oh, there was large truck traffic morning to night.

Room Tip: Check the native craft center they will help you find a B & B that meets both price and quality...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    70
    60
    37
    32
See reviews for
31
119
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton Albert
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We picked this place based on price, as this trip out to Tofino wasn't going to require one of the fancy resorts, and Marina West was a pleasant surprise. It's old, it doesn't look like much, but we had a large room overlooking the Tofino harbour, complete with fridge, microwave, gas fireplace and a decent sized deck. Also a very convenient walk to the village for shopping and only 1 minute to the water for kayaking, whale watching or other tours. Despite being the middle of summer the place seemed rather empty so it was quiet during our two nights. Based on price and my expectations, we were very happy with our stay and would consider staying here again.

Room Tip: The view I described was from room #80 (3rd floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The price was good, but that's all that was good. The pillows had a peculiar scent. The Internet never worked and they made no attempt to fix it. The staff did nothing about a major noise complaint. A bar is on premises that can be loud. The staff was not rude, but unfriendly. I wouldn't go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far away from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I purchased a voucher via Living Social to stay at Marina West for myself and my fiancee for Valentine's Day

After reading some of the review here, we decided to cancel our stay

The manager Brialyn Roberts accepted immediately and offered to process our refund - however, I have yet to receive it and have since emailed management chasing up the request

Will happily report back here further pending the outcome of my inquiry

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I have been to Tofino on many occasions. Usually the weather is something out of Whuthering Heights or a recreation of the Battle of the North Atlantic. In those conditions you definitely prefer something on the west side of town looking into the weather. In this instance in the month of July 2013 we were faced with the unlikely scenario of sustained very warm weather in southwestern British Columbia. This prompted the decision for three days sojourn over to Tofino. We booked the Marina West Motel online.

Price was quite reasonable for the height of summer. This is a really nice facility with a pub and fishing charters, whale watching etc. charters available on-site. The combination was a good value for the price, particularly in summertime. This would not be the ideal location for a off-season storm watching trip but for the height of summer you can't beat the value.

Room Tip: The queen bed for two people was ideal. This room would be squishy with more then two people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We visited Tofino as part of our 25th Anniversary trip to Canada. The price of the hotels in the area are quite high so we quickly ruled out some of the more 'classy' numbers as over budget. Our agent (Brewsters) recommended Marina West as a good option within our price range.

The location is great with excellent views from our top floor room. It was nice to have comfy chairs to sit in and watch the world go by on the water below. The room was clean if a little basic (smallest bed of the holiday - just a plain double) but the facilities all did what you would expect and we weren't there to sit all day in the room when all the wildlife was calling. We used Jamies Whaling Station and had great whale and bear watching trips over two mornings.

We ate in the Green Room Diner for two meals and a breakfast. The food was good, the girls serving were friendly and helpful so all in all a pretty good experience.

Room Tip: We were in the top floor of the building closest to reception and got excellent views over the harbo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed a week at Marina West - in a nice, big apartment with 2 rooms (1 living room with small kitchen and a bedroom), with quite a big balcony including view on the ocean. Staff was very nice, the price reasonable and everything else in town is only a short walk away.

Further, we booked a Hot Springs tour right down at the dock, which was great. Our tour guide - Ike - was doing all the extras our group enjoyed. He fished (in less than 1 minute!) a rock fish and fed it to an eagle who was flying by - amazing! We also saw lots of sea lions and grey whales. But the best was that we went further out on the ocean to look for humpback whales. We stayed close to one that was jumping out of the water, showed his fins, turned around... it was impressive. Our guide had the "good eyes" to spot everything and made our tour so special. Hot Springs is definitively the best tour in terms of value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marina West Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina West Motel

Address: 634 Campbell St | Box 69, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada (Formerly Weigh West Marine Resort)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina West Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marina West is a very unique west coast oceanfront resort that offers the perfect setting for whale watching, eco adventures, fishing, boating, hot springs trips, beachcombing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Marina West Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weigh West Marine Hotel Tofino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marina West Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.