We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let this be your last resort, resort.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marina West Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Marina West Motel to your Saves list
Marina West Motel
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   634 Campbell St | Box 69, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada (Formerly Weigh West Marine Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Tofino
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Let this be your last resort, resort.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Although our stay was complementary from a certificate we had won in a raffle, it was ovious we were put in the room they would sell last. The lady on the phone when we made the reservation with said we had a fireplace in our room (which she failed to mention didn't work.) So we used the base board heater which took nearly an hour to warm the room. Decor is obviously old. When I poured water into the coffee brewer, there were little flakes floating on top of the water. You would expect a resort with a restaurant to serve breakfast but the dining room doesn't open until 11. The walls are ridiculously thin(we could hear the folks in the next room as well as traffic going up and down the hill); I would say the highlights of the room was the bed and the movies on demand.
PS: if you're gonna have locals who interact with the public on a daily basis, you should try put them in a better room.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    64
    55
    36
    32
See reviews for
28
116
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Currently staying in the room right now and it's 1:30am and we've found 2 bed bugs. I googled them and sure enough exact match. There's also these weird little tea bags that are so small maybe 1" by 1". Found a few of them hidden behind a dresser as I frantically took the beds apart. This is so dirty. The pub located here had to stop making food at 8:30pm cuz they were so backed up....
DON'T STAY HERE. I can't sleep I'm too scared. Worst vacation ever.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
encounters1, Manager at Marina West Motel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Hello Traveller

Thanks for your review, and for notifying our Front Desk Staff of possible Bed Bugs in your room. Both myself and my housekeeping supervisor thoroughly went through your room after departure, and did find some beach fleas- which do look a lot like bed bugs. Luckily, we do not have a Bed Bug problem, but any possibilities are always taken very seriously by our staff at Marina West, and once again, thank you for bringing it to our attention.

We do apologize that you didn't have as positive of an experience that you were hoping for. With this being the first Family Day long weekend and it being much busier than expected, our Head Chef did choose to close the kitchen early instead of letting our food quality suffer.

The management and staff at Marina West Motel hope that you will give us another try next time you are in Tofino, and we would be more than happy to have you down for a meal at Jack's pub or Greenroom diner on us.

Kind Regards

Brialyn Roberts
Administration Manager
Marina West Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My partner and I visited Tonfino on a tour of Vancouver Island. We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights.The rooms were clean and tidy and I can honestly say I had the best nights sleep of the whole holiday there.

We chose to stay and eat/drink in the hotel bar/restaurant for good reason - the food was outstanding and exceptional value for money. There was a resident sea lion and some otters swimming around in the jetty which was entertaining and lovely to see. The view from their is also truly spectaular.

We chose to go on a bear watching trip through the hotel and that was one of the highlights of our stay. We have returned to England with a very special place in our heart for this place and will be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This “resort” is a motel, clean but in serious need of updating. Great prices but you get what you pay for, honestly was expecting a lot more based on the pictures I saw on the website. The rooms are nothing fancy, we stayed in the king suite with kitchenette on the third floor. The king bed was comfortable but did not fit the bedroom; we were unable to close the door to the room as it would not pass the corner of the bed. The kitchenette was minimally stocked and outdated, not a big deal as we didn’t use it during our stay. The couch in the living room was uncomfortable and well used; it was pushed against an armoire or old closet sticking out from the wall and right next to the fireplace making the living room area an awkward set up. The location is ideal as the motel is right on the marina and a short walk to the heart of Tofino. Jacks pub and the Green Room diner had great food and service. My only suggestion would be to get a room not facing Jacks pub. Can get very loud, we were able to hear word for word conversations, hooting and hollering coming from the back patio of the pub in our room. Have to admit it was a good source of humour at first but got annoying fast. Staff working at the motel were helpful and friendly, great stay if you are looking for reasonably priced accommodations in Tofino, but don’t come with high expectations.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pender Island, Canada
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I spent two nights in November and found the motel to be clean and well maintained, and located by the water for those interested in fishing, boating and water adventures. The accommodation is within a 10 minute walk to restaurants and the town`s attractions. Jack`s Waterfront Pub and the Greenroom Diner also also located onsite.

Room Tip: If you are looking for basic, clean, well maintained accommodation in the town, this is the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed two nights at Marina West. It was slow season and there weren't many guests, but all the staff were very friendly and helpful. We were upgraded to a better room at no charge. We had a queen suite, which had a small bedroom, kitchen along one wall and a sitting area looking over the Marina. It was clean and fairly recently redecorated. The furniture was perhaps a little worn, but certainly nothing to complain about. Perhaps because it was low season, we didn't have any issues with noise from adjacent units. The motel is no more than a 10 minute walk from "downtown" Tofino. We had dinner in their pub restaurant which was quite good. Over the winter they seem to have special offers through some of the online coupon companies, so keep your eye open!

Room Tip: Ask to see a few rooms, the desk staff was happy to oblige...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The motel must have had a major overhaul, because the rooms are quite nice, with large screen tv, comfortable bed and big window view over looking the harbour. Currently they have a special on and I am kicking myself for not coming here a week prior, as I had been wrong in what I thought this motel was like...

but after a new paint job, and new rooms, it does not dissappoint. The bathrooms are still a little out dated, with fixtures that move about..that probably shouldn't...but otherwise it's got all you need. Bar fridge, microwave and lots of space for storing your surfboards.

The only downside is that it is a little noisy, with people walking up and downstairs, or the hallways above. And the bar below plays live music, which if you are trying to sleep, can get a little annoying. But it's location is perfect, the people were extremely friendly and it's very cozy.

Will be spending more time here for sure, as long as the rate special continues! (I was in a single queen bedroom)

Room Tip: the location is perfect, right on the edge of town. No matter where you stay in Tofino, for a reason...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
encounters1, Manager at Marina West Motel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Hello Traveller

Thank you for your review, and we are glad that we could accommodate your needs at our motel! And, definitely keep your eyes out for our fall/winter/spring specials for our hotel, we have some great deals coming up!

Hope to see you back in Tofino soon!

Brialyn Roberts
Administration Manager
Marina West Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marina West Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina West Motel

Address: 634 Campbell St | Box 69, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada (Formerly Weigh West Marine Resort)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina West Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marina West is a very unique west coast oceanfront resort that offers the perfect setting for whale watching, eco adventures, fishing, boating, hot springs trips, beachcombing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marina West Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weigh West Marine Hotel Tofino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marina West Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.