We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motel not a resort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marina West Motel

Save Saved
You added Marina West Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marina West Motel
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   634 Campbell St | Box 69, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada (Formerly Weigh West Marine Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 16 hotels in Tofino
Vancouver
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Motel not a resort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This “resort” is a motel, clean but in serious need of updating. Great prices but you get what you pay for, honestly was expecting a lot more based on the pictures I saw on the website. The rooms are nothing fancy, we stayed in the king suite with kitchenette on the third floor. The king bed was comfortable but did not fit the bedroom; we were unable to close the door to the room as it would not pass the corner of the bed. The kitchenette was minimally stocked and outdated, not a big deal as we didn’t use it during our stay. The couch in the living room was uncomfortable and well used; it was pushed against an armoire or old closet sticking out from the wall and right next to the fireplace making the living room area an awkward set up. The location is ideal as the motel is right on the marina and a short walk to the heart of Tofino. Jacks pub and the Green Room diner had great food and service. My only suggestion would be to get a room not facing Jacks pub. Can get very loud, we were able to hear word for word conversations, hooting and hollering coming from the back patio of the pub in our room. Have to admit it was a good source of humour at first but got annoying fast. Staff working at the motel were helpful and friendly, great stay if you are looking for reasonably priced accommodations in Tofino, but don’t come with high expectations.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    58
    46
    33
    29
See reviews for
20
98
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pender Island, Canada
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I spent two nights in November and found the motel to be clean and well maintained, and located by the water for those interested in fishing, boating and water adventures. The accommodation is within a 10 minute walk to restaurants and the town`s attractions. Jack`s Waterfront Pub and the Greenroom Diner also also located onsite.

Room Tip: If you are looking for basic, clean, well maintained accommodation in the town, this is the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed two nights at Marina West. It was slow season and there weren't many guests, but all the staff were very friendly and helpful. We were upgraded to a better room at no charge. We had a queen suite, which had a small bedroom, kitchen along one wall and a sitting area looking over the Marina. It was clean and fairly recently redecorated. The furniture was perhaps a little worn, but certainly nothing to complain about. Perhaps because it was low season, we didn't have any issues with noise from adjacent units. The motel is no more than a 10 minute walk from "downtown" Tofino. We had dinner in their pub restaurant which was quite good. Over the winter they seem to have special offers through some of the online coupon companies, so keep your eye open!

Room Tip: Ask to see a few rooms, the desk staff was happy to oblige...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The motel must have had a major overhaul, because the rooms are quite nice, with large screen tv, comfortable bed and big window view over looking the harbour. Currently they have a special on and I am kicking myself for not coming here a week prior, as I had been wrong in what I thought this motel was like...

but after a new paint job, and new rooms, it does not dissappoint. The bathrooms are still a little out dated, with fixtures that move about..that probably shouldn't...but otherwise it's got all you need. Bar fridge, microwave and lots of space for storing your surfboards.

The only downside is that it is a little noisy, with people walking up and downstairs, or the hallways above. And the bar below plays live music, which if you are trying to sleep, can get a little annoying. But it's location is perfect, the people were extremely friendly and it's very cozy.

Will be spending more time here for sure, as long as the rate special continues! (I was in a single queen bedroom)

Room Tip: the location is perfect, right on the edge of town. No matter where you stay in Tofino, for a reason...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
encounters1, Manager at Marina West Motel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Hello Traveller

Thank you for your review, and we are glad that we could accommodate your needs at our motel! And, definitely keep your eyes out for our fall/winter/spring specials for our hotel, we have some great deals coming up!

Hope to see you back in Tofino soon!

Brialyn Roberts
Administration Manager
Marina West Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

After reviewing this motel's website we noticed a special including breakfast and dinner. On calling to book, the person answering my questions, who identified himself as the manager, told me it was sort of unavailable and they didn't know if they were going to do that one again. When I asked why they were advertising the special he told me it takes a long time to change the website. When I told him that was call bait and switch he didn't have any answer. I will not be staying here.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
encounters1, General Manager at Marina West Motel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. I am sorry that you were provided with this misinformation but I can assure you that we are still offering the package in question, our "Ultimate Getaway" Package. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and we have already made changes to help prevent this from happening again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ryan Orr
General Manager
Marina West Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naramata, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We are staying at this motel based on previous reviews. It is clean, recently upgraded with a new carpet, and is situated in a quiet area above the marina. Lots of parking with wide parking stalls....no door banging. The price is very reasonable. The TV is not HD so that is something they could improve on. The kitchenette is small but ok for heating soup and making a grill cheese but I would not want to do any serious food prep there. The bed is very comfortable. The bathroom is very small but clean and does the job. Nothing fancy here but good value. We were worried about the adjacent pub being noisy but it was not at all. Very quiet. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
encounters1, General Manager at Marina West Motel, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate all of your positive feedback as we certainly strive to provide the best value in Tofino. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to host you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ryan Orr
General Manager
Marina West Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marina West Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina West Motel

Address: 634 Campbell St | Box 69, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada (Formerly Weigh West Marine Resort)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina West Motel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marina West is a very unique west coast oceanfront resort that offers the perfect setting for whale watching, eco adventures, fishing, boating, hot springs trips, beachcombing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Marina West Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weigh West Marine Hotel Tofino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marina West Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.