We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, not-so-great everything else” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Marina West Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Marina West Motel to your Saves list
Marina West Motel
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   634 Campbell St | Box 69, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada (Formerly Weigh West Marine Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Tofino
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great location, not-so-great everything else”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We should have known that this hotel, sorry, motel, was bad news when we couldn’t find it despite having an exact address for it and driving, repeatedly up and down the right street. Turns out that this motel had changed its name and just didn’t bother to let its future guests know (or put up any clear signage).

We were in Tofino with my parents and it was my mother who booked this place. She picked it because it was cheap (for Tofino) and in a good location.

And really, the location was ideal. Located between Tofino’s main road and the water, it’s a short walk from some pretty views as well as several shops and attractions, including Jamie’s Whaling Station, who we used to go on a terrific trip out to Hot Springs Cover. The motel also has an unpretentious and tasty restaurant called the Greenroom Diner in its backyard.

But the location is really the only thing this dump (and that’s not a term I use often) has going for it. While it looks OK on the inside the inside of our room looked like it had been set up in 1978 and then never touched again apart from the addition of a flat screen and some light cleaning.

While things were clean on a surface level, the beat-up walls, floors and furniture told us that our room had lived a very rough life (the rug of the “living room” part was connected to the tile of the kitchen part with duct tape).

Because we were travelling with my parents we got a room that had a separate bedroom and a pullout couch. The bedroom was small, stuffy and, because we were on a first floor that was built into a hill, essentially underground. But that was miles better than the pullout. The couch itself looked like something you wanted to cover in plastic before you sat on it. Thankfully the sheets on the pullout part were clean and new but the mattress was in absolutely appalling condition and left me in pain the following morning.

While I did notice springs poking me as I tried to fall asleep, I didn’t end up focusing on them because I was too distracted by all of the noise outside of our room. At first the source of the noise was the nearby bar’s karaoke night. But then that noise was covered up by our neighbours, a group of guys who seemed to have been assigned the rooms all around ours.

They spent the night drinking loudly, talking loudly, swearing loudly and, at one point, blaring what would best be described as pow-wow dubstep.

I would have called the front desk and complained but, when we were checking in, we were told that the desk is unmanned starting at 11 pm.

We did complain the next morning, when we were checking out, and that’s when we learned that there was a security number we could have called. Would have been nice to have been told that the night before.

Actually, the morning desk staff was really apologetic about the noise and even reduced our bill by about $40. So in the end we only paid $199, plus tax, for one of the poorest hotel rooms I've ever stayed in.

Oh, I almost forgot. The front door to our room was screwed up and could only be opened with a shoulder check (though given the quality of people who surrounded us, maybe that was some kind of security feature).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
encounters1, General Manager at Marina West Motel, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate your detailed feedback and will be utilizing your comments in order to improve our operation in the future.

Sincerely,

Ryan Orr
General Manager
Marina West Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    64
    55
    36
    32
See reviews for
28
116
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nanoose Bay, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Great place to stay in Tofin. Friendly staff, clean rooms. Right next to the dock and the cannery which is very convenient.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
encounters1, General Manager at Marina West Motel, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to the opportunity to host you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ryan Orr
General Manager
Marina West Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perigueux, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

My queen room was great, with a fantastic viw over Tofino harbour which allowed me to watch a fabulous sunset! The staff was very young, nice and friendly! The room was very clean, made me want to stay more in that hotel! Free parking just in front of the building was an asset too! Also nice to have a magnetic card to enter the room

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
encounters1, General Manager at Marina West Motel, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback and glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to the opportunity to host you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ryan Orr
General Manager
Marina West Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Creek, Washington
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Unprofessional (young) staff that greeted us at the front desk were more interested in discussing surfing that getting us checked in. Then they informed us that they did not have a reservation for us.

The room was awful. Extremely small and dirty. (Smaller than NYC hotel rooms) Had a great view of the parking lot and the room next door had trash laying outside everywhere. This is NOT a resort so don't let their photo's fool you. Old bed with a very thin & lumpy mattress made for a tough nights sleep. This is a 1-star motel at best.

This place is a dump and we would never stay there again.

On a positive note: Pet friendly (for a fee). The quaint town was fun to explore and had plenty of friendly locals. Found some great beaches and watched the surfers. Not too much to do in town and it is a LONG way to anything else. Beautiful drive getting there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
encounters1, General Manager at Marina West Motel, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate your feedback as we strive to improve our operation.

Sincerely,

Ryan Orr
General Manager
Marina West Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Top Contributor
327 reviews 327 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 154 cities Reviews in 154 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We were here for our 28th wedding anniversary. Sadly the room looked out over the parking lot at the back, rather than a sea view - actually I think very few had a sea view, so we didn't bother requesting another room.

It was comfortable, and clean, and virtually in town (Tofino is quite stretched out), as well as being near the park and beaches. No lifts, so if you have suitcases be prepared to haul them up stairs. Parking is limited, but free.

We ate at Rick's pub one night - which was very busy. The food was ok.

We also ate at the Green Room Diner, which had just opened up that night. Not so good - no atmosphere, we were refused an available booth and stuck on the end of a long table by the window (with a limited view of the sea). My meal was served with fish not chicken - I was made to feel it was my error not the waitress' and no adjustment to the bill followed. Disappointing.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
encounters1, General Manager at Marina West Motel, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted that you choose to spend your anniversary with us. We appreciate your specific feedback regarding our restaurant, the Greenroom Diner, as this will certainly help us to improve our operation.

Sincerely,

Ryan Orr
General Manager
Marina West Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We arrived around 6pm and lots of b&b were already full. This resort had a room free and it was pretty nice actually.

Bed, bathroom, parking, location and service were good.
We paid 100 dollars after getting a discount (original price 115 dollars). Wifi didnt work on mobile devices, only computers.

It was pretty nice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
encounters1, General Manager at Marina West Motel, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and have rectified your specific concern with the wifi.

Sincerely,

Ryan Orr
General Manager
Marina West Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

The property has a bit of a strange layout for a resort. Parking lot is right in the middle of the property and your ocean view balcony will have a parking lot view followed by fishermen wharf and a pub.

Room Tip: Didn't find any elevators at the property so if you have any issues with staircases this may not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
encounters1, General Manager at Marina West Motel, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Thank you very much for your review and we appreciate your feedback.

Sincerely,

Ryan Orr
General Manager
Marina West Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marina West Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina West Motel

Address: 634 Campbell St | Box 69, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada (Formerly Weigh West Marine Resort)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina West Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marina West is a very unique west coast oceanfront resort that offers the perfect setting for whale watching, eco adventures, fishing, boating, hot springs trips, beachcombing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marina West Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weigh West Marine Hotel Tofino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marina West Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.