We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome accommodation in beautiful Tofino” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tofino Trek Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tofino Trek Inn to your Saves list
Tofino Trek Inn
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   371 Main Street, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 46 Tofino B&B and Inns
Penzberg, Germany
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome accommodation in beautiful Tofino”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

No matter for how long you are staying in Tofino - if you stay at Joe's house you will get the best out of your stay! Joe is an awesome host who welcomed us very friendly and took care of us through the whole stay. As we arrived he gave us lots of information about what to do and see in the Tofino area and helped us to book a boat trip and our first surf lesson (both highly recommended!). The hostel-style house is located in the centre of beautiful Tofino in walking distance to shops, restaurants, the harbour and the beach. We loved relaxing in our clean & cozy room and hanging out with other travellers of all ages and all countries in the common area. Don't hesitate - book your Tofino adventure at the Trek Inn now! :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    34
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
97
108
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

This is a wonderful place and I can see why it has received such positive reviews from other travelers. Yes, it is a great choice for the budget traveler, but by no means does that suggest that the quality and the comfort of the stay is any less than that expected from the pricey hotels nearby. The place is impressively clean!! One of the highlights of this place is that it is a heritage home (with modern updates), so it still shows off a lot of its character particularly with the high ceilings and colorfully painted walls. Our room was very comfortable and tastefully decorated. I can appreciate how this is a great place to meet other travelers..the kitchen acts as a really nice gathering place to sit and share travel stories.
Joe is an amazing host, I cannot say enough good about him! Believe all the praise he has received in the reviews. He is very caring, and will go through great lengths to ensure the comfort of his guests and to make them feel welcome. He was very thoughtful to accommodate my dietary restrictions (which I failed to mention until the moment we arrived and met with him). Thank you, thank you Joe! It is very apparent that he has done incredibly well in his dedication to offering a warm and safe place to all those who come knocking on the door.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saturna Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Joe's thought about what he's doing and he's thought about what a budget traveller needs and he's put it all together so it fits comfortably and smoothly. And he's right there to help in any way he can. He sets the tone for whatever else Tofino may offer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I stayed at Tofino Trek Inn for a few nights at the end of October and loved it. For a really affordable price we got a lovely room, breakfast in the morning and a great location. Joe, the owner, is a wealth of knowledge about the area and is more than happy to give advice on the best places to eat, best trips etc. Will definitely stay there again on my next visit to Tofino.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Wonderful and homely guest house in a very convenient, central location. The owner Joe is the best part of the experience. Excellent local knowledge and sense of humour. Clean rooms with renovated bathroom facilities. Also, comprehensive kitchen facilities for guest use. Great attention to detail. Excellent breakfast included with fresh bread everyday. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent from what I saw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed at the Tofino Trek Inn for 2 weeks in October. It was by far a place where we have some of our best memories from our Canada trip. For us, we were on a budget where we couldn't afford to stay in a pricey hotel. Yet at the same time, we were after something a bit smaller and more homely than a youth hostel. The Trek Inn felt like a home away from home. It was clean, has a communal lounge and kitchen area, and shared bathrooms. There's a lovely balcony out the front with water views which is fantastic when the sun is out. Joe was an amazing host - extremely generous with his hospitality and fantastic company. If we are ever back in Tofino, we will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotkreuz, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Joe is a welcoming and super friendly host. He can explain and tell you lots of things in and around Tofino. The facility is very clean and Joe looked after everything in detail. We spend three nights at Joe's and enjoyed every bit of our stay. Thank you for your hospitality, Joe!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tofino Trek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tofino Trek Inn

Address: 371 Main Street, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tofino Trek Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tofino Trek Inn is a Hostel style Bed and Breakfast with a beautiful Ocean view. With only 2 private rooms and two dorm style rooms each with 2 bunk beds and a single bed making it a quiet and comfortable stay. Guests receive fresh baked bread,fruit,coffee & tea in the morning, full use of the kitchen, and BBQ on the deck, over looking the ocean. Whole house rentals also available for groups and families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tofino Trek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tofino Trek Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.