We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Average'” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Whale Centre & Museum

The Whale Centre & Museum
411 Campbell Street | PO Box 111, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
250.725-2132
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 41 activities in Tofino
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Very competitive pricing. The Whale Centre invites you to join us for an exciting sea adventure in pristine coastal ecosystems!Celebrating 20 years of operation on the west coast of Vancouver Island, The Whale Centre continues to venture out into Clayoquot Sound, off the coast of Tofino, BC, taking passengers on whale watching tours, bear watching trips, hot springs soaks and pelagic birding expeditions on the sea. We specialize in the natural history and marine wildlife of the Clayoquot Sound area. Located in the heart of town in Tofino, we offer free parking, a complimentary dog kennel and a gift shop complete with a full grey whale skeleton!The Whale Centre is a member of the Pacific Rim Association of Tour Operators. We support and abide by the guidelines for responsible whale watching and safety. A portion of proceeds supports local wildlife research and marine wildlife rescue programs.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“'Average'”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

My wife and I did the 2.5 hour afternoon Black bear trip. Boat is not a Zodiac, but never the less is fast. We sat right at the front of the boat, which was great and recommended. We saw 2 bears on the beach, but were about 50 metre away, so don't expect to get close to them. Other people may have got closer on other trips. If I hadn't had my long lens any pictures would have been too distant for decent photos. The guy that took us wasn't inspiring or informative at all. It was basically a good boat ride during which you may see bears.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    6
    3
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great way to get to the hot springs!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We chose to go with The Whale Centre for a hot springs tour. Our guide Michael was lovely and seemed to have a real love for the surroundings and the wildlife. Unfortunately we didn't spot any whales but there were lots of sea otters and seals and a whole lot of birds. We weren't too disappointed because the boat ride to the springs are super fun and Micheal gave us lots of time to walk through the rainforest and enjoy the hot spring. Even though we didn't see any whales Michael really did try to find them for us. Overall a great experience :)

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Alberni, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Orca whales up close”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Unbelievable . Saw a pod of transient orca's near a harbor seal rock. We had the most amazing views of the whales playing. The whales put on a great show. We saw then moving,rolling, on their backs and sides and even saw one jump out. Our guide John was so friendly and knowledgeable. He was an excellent helmsman always effortlessly putting the boat in the best viewing angles. The other boats always seemed to looking towards the sun but John always had out boat just right. We also saw harbor seals and great big California seals. On the way back we saw a giant bald eagles nest with some eagles close bye.
Would so highly recommend this tour company. They really go the extra to take care of you.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing scenery and wildlife”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We went out with the whale centre on the hot springs trip on a beautiful sunny day this week. We saw 6 or 7 grey whales up very close to the boat which made for terrific photos. We also saw bald eagles, harbour seals and an elephant seal. The beauty of the inlet is amazing. If you are in tofino do the hot springs trip (if for nothing more then the wildlife viewing). The springs themselves were really nice, although quite busy as all the companies do the same trip. A few more personal touches from the driver (maybe a safety briefing) when we first got in the boat would have been appreciated but apart from that a terrific trip good value for money.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Whales galore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This trip had everything, kind, helpful and happy staff able to answer all questions. Howie our skipper was born and raised in Tofino and knew the ocean like the back of his hand. We saw Sea Lions, Bald eagles, Sea otters and around 15 grey whales! Howie also gave us an extra half hour when we came across a young playful whale on the way home. Other skippers were watching our moves as Howie knew the best places. I wouldn't even bother looking anywhere else. This guy knows his stuff as it's his back yard! Thanks for an amazing trip.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Whale Centre & Museum also viewed

Campbell River, Vancouver Island
 

Been to The Whale Centre & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Whale Centre & Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Whale Centre & Museum to your Saves list