We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rich in natural beauty, a world class destination” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clayoquot Sound

Clayoquot Sound
331 Neill St, Tofino, British Columbia, Canada
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 48 things to do in Tofino
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Clayoquot Sound is located on the west coast of Vancouver Island in the Canadian province of British Columbia. Major inlets include Sydney Inlet, Shelter Inlet, Herbert Inlet, Bedwell Inlet, Lemmens Inlet, and Tofino Inlet. Major islands include Flores Island, Vargas Island, and Meares Island.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
95 attraction reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
“Rich in natural beauty, a world class destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The vast area of Clayoquot Sound is so beautiful that I want to be there again soon. There are wonderful opportunities for recreation, including hiking, nature observation or riding a boat on calm ocean waters in search for marine life. We have used Tofino as a home base for different excurions in the area. The temperate rainforest and costal shores create vivid memories. Have a wonderful time out there, whatever the weather might be; and remember No Rain, No Rainbow!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    8
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Clayoquot retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed at the Clayoquot Retreat Bed and Breakfast in Tofino. We felt like part of the family. We really enjoyed our rooms view of the Ocean and the hot tub overlooking the Sound. Lynn supplied the best breakfast we had on our trip. The sausage pie was fantastic.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Meares Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We took a boat to Meares Island and were thrilled with the experience - 2000 year old trees and their peers. Amazing. Our driver was well versed on the area and we learned more than we expected on the boat ride to and from the island.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Open House Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We were very fortunate to be in Tofino for the one weekend of the year when Susan Bloom opens her beautiful home and gardens to the public. She even provides transportation to the island. It's breathtaking. The gardens are exquisite, rhododendrons and blossoms I've never seen before in that gigantic British Columbia size. The boardwalk leads out to the beach which stretches forever and is covered with gigantic shells of every variety. The land has been mostly deeded to the nature conservancy now - it's good to see the care that is being taken of this fantastic natural resource.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Nature's finest!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Clayoquot Sound is un-spoiled nature at its best. An amazing day spent on the Sound with Browning Pass Charters viewing wildlife in the setting it should be viewed: Wild. Clear, calm waters, crisp Spring air and all the accompanying animals doing what animals do best. An amazing experience!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clayoquot Sound also viewed

Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 

Been to Clayoquot Sound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clayoquot Sound, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.