We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok if your on a budget” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Schooner Motel

Save Saved
You added Schooner Motel to your Saves list
Schooner Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Schooner Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   311 Campbell, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 16 hotels in Tofino
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Ok if your on a budget”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here after a failure in trying to find a campsite. We were looking for a cheap option and managed to get the family room (number 3) at a good price. The room was clean but did smell a bit musty. We went over to the shop to get dinner to cook in our kitchen. Only problem was the oven didn't work. We went to ask the owner who appeared to know that this didn't work. We also told him the grill was dirty (there is a $200 charge if you leave the kitchen unclean). We managed to get through by putting the garlic bread in the tiny conventional oven that was supplied. We had to ask for extra towels as there was only two in a room that took four people. On the plus side we had free wifi, parking outside the room and the place was central to everything. Certainly worth the stop if you don't mind a budget motel without an oven.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
8
8
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Thompson, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

we got the LAST hotel room in Tofino at the Schooner Motel. the staff was great, the rooms were clean. I highly recommend if you just need a place to sleep. The decor was a bit dated, but when you're in "hippie country", does it really matter?

Room Tip: book early. Tofino is a busy place in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed at the Schooner July 30, 31, Aug 1 2013. We were well aware of some of the negative tripadvisor reviews. Booking a room by phone was easy. The owners and staff were extremely pleasant and efficient on the phone, and in person onsite. Adequate parking on the property. Our room was $150/night plus taxes.

We had room #1 on the ground floor. It was spotlessly clean; all the bedding and towels were clean and fresh. Basic amenities were provided: phone, kettle, cups, mini-fridge (nice and cold), hair dryer, TV, bedside alarm clock, and bathroom soap. Nice electric fireplace, too! No microwave in our room. As others have said, this property is within easy walking distance of multiple restaurants and stores; we had no compelling reasons to eat in our room and hence the lack of microwave wasn't an issue.
There is a sunroom/coffee room near the main office, providing free morning tea and coffee for guests.
The beds, while firm, were not the least bit uncomfortable. The pillows could have been a little softer, but again, not uncomfortable.
The rooms are strictly non-smoking, but chairs and ashtrays are provided in front of each room for smoking outdoors only.

We found the Schooner Motel to be a perfectly acceptable place to stay. There were a few minor issues we found, however:
-our bathroom was missing a couple of towels: corrected immediately by staff.
-our shower door leaked water onto the bathroom floor.
-a slight musty smell in the bathroom, remedied by leaving the window open for a few minutes.
-bathroom door caught the doorframe moulding, making a noise when opening the door.
-bright outdoor lighting might disturb some sensitive sleepers. The room windows have thick curtains and Venetian blinds, which blocked much of the outdoor light.

We really don't understand the very negative reviews here. The Schooner motel is an older, basic, motel-style property. As such, our room provided a clean, comfortable, convenient place to stay for one of our frequent getaways to Tofino.

(PS- the stairs to the upper floor are just fine! We tried them.)

Room Tip: -upper floor rooms have a slightly better view over Tofino and it's harbour. Ground-floor rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We decided 5 days prior that we wanted to come back to Tofino. Our usual motel was booked, so we tried for the Schooner and were given two choices of rooms. We wanted the lower floor and had room #1. Basic, the decor a bit dated, but it suited us just fine.
The location was even better than our usual place as the Schooner is right across from the Co-op supermarket, and just a few steps away from the Aerie Gallery. We ate twice at the Schooner Restaurant next door (great place and service) which is not part of the motel.
Our beds were fine, very comfortable, and though the pillows were not to my personal taste, I had a great night's sleep. Yes, we had a boiler in the bathroom but as it made no noise, it was no problem and was behind doors. We had plenty of hot water which was more important! Our towels were fine, not threadbare, but I did have to ask for another hand towel as we were missing one. Not a big deal. We had a kettle and fridge in our room which was fine. I am not a coffee drinker, but was assured that the coffee from the solarium tasted great by the other half.
The only minor criticism is that our shower door leaked at the bottom - a new door hadn't been installed properly, maybe?
The motel is family run, the owners turning their hand to cleaning also. Very pleasant folks! All in all, we'd stay here again.
One note for travellers - all of Tofino IS expensive. It is in a remote location and shipping costs add to the prices we are all used to. However, the beauty of this area make the trip and stay worth it.

Room Tip: Check the hotel website to see what types of rooms are available and the rates. We prefer ground flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenora
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

$293.00 for a room that was so musty we had to leave the window open and put up with being too cold. It was not by chance that this place was the only accommodation that was not booked in town. I literally felt like the stairs were going to collapse as I was making my way to the second floor balcony. Tofino is generally over-priced but this one is what a science guy would call an outlier...I frequently use trip advisor but this was the first time I felt compelled to write a review. Literally the worst place I have ever stayed in many trips across Canada.

Room Tip: Avoid at all cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Ah Tofino! A place to empty even the tightest of wallets. This was the last of the mid week rooms at almost $200. At best a closet with 2 beds. Thin towels, sheets, coffee and walls. If you have to see Tofino and have to stay over night this may be one of the bests bargains in town. Right downtown within walking distance to most shops and restaurants. What a setting! Just be prepared to pay for the view.

Room Tip: Reserve early and get a view room on the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midcentral, Alberta Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Had a good view from the room. Was clean but boiler in bathroom. Desk girl does an average job of selling rooms. Owner is very enthusiastic and helpful. Price was a little high end for what you get. Eating place down the road was within walking distance. It was really good breakfast.

Room Tip: Get the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Schooner Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schooner Motel

Address: 311 Campbell, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 hotels in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Schooner Motel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Schooner Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schooner Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.