We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable - good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paddlers Inn

Paddlers Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Paddlers Inn to your Saves list
Paddlers Inn
320 Main Street | Box 620, Tofino, British Columbia V0R2Z0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Tofino
Kamloops, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“comfortable - good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Stayed a couple of nights at the Padders Inn, comfortable, clean and cozy, its located right next to the sea and close to the market and restaurants. I didn't have any trouble with noise. I recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
6
7
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

We enjoy this place. It wasn't anything special or fancy but we had no problem sleeping here. It had a nice cafe and patio in the back shared by the shop.

The bathrooms are shared but they were very clean! No problems with hot water, long waits or anything. There is an extra bathroom downstairs by the entrance too.

Loved the make-your-own breakfast. Everything was organic (maybe that is the standard in BC...?) with bread, PB & Jams, Cereals, Juice, Fruit etc.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

I will NOT be staying at the Paddler's Inn again. This place now seems to be very badly managed.
I recently stayed for a few days hoping to re-energize and relax. Instead, and in high season, management considered it appropriate to go ahead with two very noisy maintenance projects. Guest comfort certainly takes second place here.
I arrived to carpet cleaning in progress: very noisy, wet carpet, with a strong scented smell. As I am allergic to scented products and had previously checked that only unscented cleaning products were used, the lingering smell and my allergic reaction were of particular concern.
Power washing the building at 8pm directly beneath guest accommodation is also
totally unacceptable.
Beware of other noise here, too. There is a pub just across the road. When there is a pub band playing expect no sleep. The walls in my room were vibrating the noise was so incredibly loud.
While I received some refund - only for the first disturbance, I would have preferred a healthy and relaxing stay. An expensive stay in poorly managed accommodation! There are many far better places to stay in Tofino!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

Tofino is still a beautiful town on the island and i do hope the people of tofino keep it as such there is always a risk of these places becoming a bit "tacky" not so the paddlers inn.What a fantastic place to stay.Often "no frills" is not a compliment but it is meant as such when refering to Paddlers inn The rooms are simple ,beautifully finished and clean.The breakfast is "do it yourself"in a well equiped kitchen with good stock of fruit,bread and cereal, this may not sound too good but after all the "hotel breakfasts" it was lovely. Apparently there can be an issue with noise from the club opposite ,we certainly werent bothered by this so i wouldnt be put off by this.
This place is a breath of fresh air!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

We had an extremely negative experience here. The walls are paper thin and at $79 a night I don't expect to be asked to don the "complimentary ear-plugs". Noisy would be an understatement - Don't even consider this place during the high season, and I would think hard about staying here again period were it not for my wife's unequivocal ban - "We are never staying there again". Take a note Inn Keeper: Unfriendly is fine but not when you run a business. Being a committed local, involved in key issues (preventing logging on Meares Island) since the 80's doesn't give you the right to treat visitors like dirt. We are all human beings and respect deserves respect. PS - I didn't appreciate the opening line "You didn't say you had a baby! We dont really encourage having children here - it just makes things too noisy. On the plus side - Water view might have been worth the extra $10...I think.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

Located right in downtown Tofino, this inn was a great stopon our road-trip. I wish we'd stayed here longer. Room was $79, wound up with a room with 2 singles and a loft double. Lots of crisp, clean towels, sitting area, closet. Beds were amazingly comfortable. Street noise was not an issue, and earplugs are provided for those who need them.

Breakfast is included in the price and is self-serve, which was quite helpful. Breakfast includes toast, cereal, yogurt, juice, tea, coffee. Large kitchen where breakfast is available, which was good to socialize in the evening, where we met some nice other guests.

We also did an Islander kayaking tour, which was an unforgettable experience, plus if you stay at Paddler's Inn, you get a 10% discount at Tofino Sea Kayaking which is located downstairs. Lots of free street parking is available.

Overall a super stop for a summer road-trip for those who want a clean, unique, and affordable place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

This is one of the worst B&B's I've ever seen.
We booked a room for two nights by phone and told the lady on the line that we have a infant with us. She told us, that everything is fine.
On the day we arrived in Paddlers Inn the first words we heared was "oh you have a baby? we dont want babies in our B&B"...
The Owner was so unfriendly, I have never meet a person like this.
And she didnt helped us to find another motel...
Never ever!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paddlers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paddlers Inn

Address: 320 Main Street | Box 620, Tofino, British Columbia V0R2Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paddlers Inn is an affordable oceanfront accommodation in the heart of Tofino's waterfront village. Housed in the town's original hotel, this modest building has five guest rooms that are clean, simple and popularly priced. A hearty continental breakfast is included. Rooms feature double or single beds with 100% cotton linens. Group booksing available. The downstairs Tofino Sea kayaking Company store offers kayak tour bookings and an excellent espresso bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Paddlers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paddlers Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.