We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private outdoor hot tub with a view of the lake. Def. tofino's hidden gem!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vista Hermosa

Vista Hermosa
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tofino
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vista Hermosa
Save
You added Vista Hermosa to your Saves list
250 Main Street, Tofino, British Columbia, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Tofino
Jasper National Park, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Private outdoor hot tub with a view of the lake. Def. tofino's hidden gem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying here last year (October )and we can't wait to return!! The place was clean, spacious and well laid out. It provided a feeling of warmth and openess. The view from this place is spectacular. We enjoyed our breakfasts and romantic evenings with an amazing view of the lake.

The highlight for me was the huge private hot tub that overlooks the lake below. the only reason why im not giving it a 5 is because we found pieces of broken glass inside the tub and also at the deck. Nobody got hurt but I wish it was cleaned and checked before we came.

We will definitely be returning when we feel the need for a get-away.

Room Tip: This was the only place in tofino that had a private outdoor hot tub with a lake view. a big plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    10
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed a week and enjoyed the convenience of being across the road from the supermarket and liquor store, the magnificent waterfront view, clean, comfortable accommodation and the hot tub. A couple of excellent restaurants and cafes nearby and great fishing with Cleanline Charters made for a most memorable holiday.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed at Vista Hermosa for a week. The location is absolutely fantastic - we loved it. The accommodation is spacious and ideal for two mature couples travelling together. However, on arrival we had to contact the property manager to complain about the cooker and Bar B Q not being clean and that the sink in one of the bathrooms was not draining away. This was rectified after a day. As we settled in other things came to our attention. The sheets were not ironed, there was chipped crockery, a ripped cushion, very dusty carpet behind the furniture that had not been cleaned for some time. The furnishings are tired and some money just needs to be thrown at some of the household items. These issues have been bought to the attention of the property owner who was disappointed and unaware of the problems. He will be raising with the property management company so hopefully all will be addressed. It did not however ruin our holiday in any way because the apartment and view are unbeatable and we considered we had the best location in Tofino!! We had an exceptional week.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Its more then 10 years since our first visit to Vista Hermosa but we are well and truly hooked. We have had a stay in the beautiful Ocean Suite but our favourite is the Captains Quarters as we now can't come without friends. We always come in the fall when Tofino is quieter and we are always surprised at the beauty of the area. We have had everything from wild and stormy to balmy summer weather. We love it no matter what the weather as Vista Hermosa offers us the best in comfort and relaxation. We love the views and we never get bored watching the boats, planes, eagles and wonderful sunsets.Add to all that the hot tub under the stars at night.We couldn't ask for anything more and hope to continue returning year after year.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We are a family from Langley and Tofino is one of our favourite places to visit. We choose Vista Hermosa for its convenient location, great space and all the great amenities they have listed on their website, the private hot tub is definitely a bonus. We arrived on a Sunday afternoon, a bit earlier then 4 pm check in. Barbara was nice to accommodate our early arrival with no problem. We found the house was very well appointed. The spacious living room with the exceptional view of the harbor and plenty of boat activity provided hours of entertainment. The kitchen is very well stocked with lots of pots, pans, dishes, cutlery, crab pot, you name it and a kitchen gadget galore.
Overall the home is great, clean and spacious and we will be back for another visit to our beloved Tofino and Vista Hermosa

Room Tip: The masterbedroom overlooking the ocean is the best one of the three
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Well where do I start? I took my girlfriend to Tofino to have a romantic weekend but man did we get a ruff start. We got to the property and alarm bells started to go off. There were cigarette butts on the deck (right outside the patio door), BBQ was dirty (And I mean filthy), used towel beside the hot tub, sand in the hot tub, dog hair all over the carpet in the living room, the fireplace mantel was dirty and one of the bath tubs was dirty. I don't know how all this was missed. The furnace also made a high pitch noise which we couldn't find a way to get rid of. So annoying. All in all we decided to get a refund and stay somewhere else and man are we glad we did. Vista Hermosa could be a nice property if it was cleaned. Poor experience

Room Tip: Make sure it's clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabrieleTofino, Owner at Vista Hermosa, responded to this review, March 4, 2012
We are sincerely sorry for the negative experience at Vista Hermosa. When I was contacted by this guest on check-in to voice his concern about cleanliness, he appeared to be quite apologetic but I had assured him that was perfectly fine to let me know his concerns. I immediately responded by asking my assistant to meet him at Vista Hermosa and inspect the house. My Assistant did (unfortunately and no excuses) validate some of his concerns and I immediately offered the guest a full refund if he was uncomfortable staying.

Our home is cleaned by professional, well trained housekeepers. I have no real answer as to why this housekeeper did such inadequate work. She had been with us for a long time and there was no reason not to trust her. We as vacation home owners, managers and housekeeper care a great deal about our guests and work diligent to avoid these and any unpleasant situations and guests always come first.

I would like to say this, the guest had initially offered to vacuum. Thus I was rather disappointed at the "Terrible" review and was assuming it wasn't as "Terrible". However I declined the offer as I did not feel this to be appropriate and offered him a full refund for his trouble. He was very appreciative for the refund which was the least we could do, again our sincere apology for the less than pleasant experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Vista Hermosa was the perfect setting for two couples on a brief holiday. We loved the convenient town location and the wonderful view of the ocean, islands, mountains and wharf , (where there was always something going on) We also appreciated the well-equipped kitchen, deck, hot tub, fireplace, and two full baths. Vista Hermosa was a wonderful place to come home to after a day of exploring the forest or the beach ( or the shops!) Were we disappointed that we couldn't "storm watch" from the large windows? No, because the view in the sunshine was a wonderful, multi-coloured surprise at every time of the day.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vista Hermosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Hermosa

Address: 250 Main Street, Tofino, British Columbia, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tofino's Vista Hermosa is a combination of two distinctive suites with stunning unparalleled views of the picturesque Tofino Harbour. Choose from either the beautiful studio Oceanfront Suite or the stunning spacious 3 bedroom Captains Quarters Suite. Its the place to be in Tofino. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vista Hermosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.