We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doctor Jekyll & Auntie Pesto?” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Auntie Pesto's Cafe

Auntie Pesto's Cafe
2104-115 Fulford Ganges Rd, British Columbia v8k 2t9, Canada
+1 250-537-4181
Improve this listing
Price range: $16 - $21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Auntie Pesto's is a family owned waterfront cafe that serves lunch and dinner Monday-Saturday from 11am to 9pm. Brunch is served on Sunday's from 10am-2pm.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Doctor Jekyll & Auntie Pesto?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Looking at some of the other reviews of Auntie Pesto's, it's hard to believe they're all about the same restaurant. Some seem to have a great experience here, while others have a miserable time. Unfortunately for us, we found ourselves stuck at the second version of this restaurant.

The waitresses were always in a hurry to be somewhere other than our table, we ordered drinks which never arrived, we suffered through a seemingly endless and unapologized-for wait for our orders, and were finally rewarded with indifferent dishes which tasted as if they had just been defrosted or poured out of a tin... and all of this in a restaurant with less than half of its tables occupied.

We finished nothing, went elsewhere for a snack/dessert, and will never return to Auntie Pesto's. Dine here at your own risk!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    77
    18
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chilliwack, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Don't let the name 'cafe' fool you! The view of the harbor is amazing! The lunch and dinner menu is awesome. Very friendly staff, the ambience is very nice at dusk and very nice music too! You got to check this place out!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port townsend
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic pasta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Great waterfront location good value and terrific pasta Service was wonderful. The window tables are best.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Best Meal in Salt Spring”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We ate there on the recommendation of my daughter who lives in Salt Spring and we were not disappointed. My sister had the lamb, which she said was one of the best meals she has had and the remaning party had pasta - which was also delicious. Our "little" traveller (4 yrs old) loved the large coloring book.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“So many choices, so little time.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This place is a pasta lover's heaven. I wish they served a pasta sampler...
I was so torn...Bolognese? Carbonara? Pesto? Seafood pasta?

At the end of the evening, all three in our party were very well satisfied with their tasty meals and pleasant service/atmosphere. Thanks.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auntie Pesto's Cafe also viewed

Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
 
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
 

Been to Auntie Pesto's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auntie Pesto's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.