We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tree House Theoneandonly...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auntie Pesto's Cafe

Auntie Pesto's Cafe
2104-115 Fulford Ganges Rd, British Columbia v8k 2t9, Canada
+1 250-537-4181
Improve this listing
Price range: $16 - $21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Auntie Pesto's is a family owned waterfront cafe that serves lunch and dinner Monday-Saturday from 11am to 9pm. Brunch is served on Sunday's from 10am-2pm.
Salt Spring Island, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tree House Theoneandonly...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Music .food. ambiance.staff. people. SSI Great place to dine. Full experience of SSI. Fabulous Food.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    73
    17
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“good food, nice place and setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

excellent fish, the local wine was not up to my husbands standards, but all in all a good place to eat

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern CA
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
“Average food experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We had four different meals. All in all, they were not memorable. The pasta was cooked a bit too much and had passed the al dente stage. The seafood dishes were Ok, but not special. I would not return given that the prices are similar to those at Bruce's Kitchen.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Really Amazing Food and nice service too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

This place is great! I have been there in November when it's all locals and the pace is relaxed and gentle and I have been there in August when masses of tourists are there and the place is jumping. Regardless of when I've been, I always have a great meal. You have to wait a little longer for food in August but when it gets to your table it's fantastic. The halibut is TO DIE FOR. I have had passing addictions to the carbonara and those prawns are amazing. The chicken liver pate is SO GOOD. The morning scones are so big you can hardly believe it and the coffee is really wonderful.
If you wander around Ganges asking where to go, 99% of the people you ask say Auntie Pesto's. It's because no matter when you are there, the service is friendly and efficient, the decor and view are beautiful and the food is nothing short of YUMMY.
I don't usually review restaurants, but after reading some of the negatives on here I felt that I needed to throw in my 2 cents. Auntie Pesto's is the best restaurant on Salt Spring bar none.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dreadful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Service at its lowest! We had to wait 45 minutes after our order to get our plates. When it arrived (and also a couple of minutes before) we indicated to the manager of the place that we felt it was a bit long, the only answer we got is that "this is a restaurant, some dishes need time to be prepared". No apologies! We tried to explain our position, but the answers we got were getting even worse and rude. We did not know that spaghetti and salmon where particularly long to prepare (apparently they are in this restaurant... The manager never came back to see us afterwards and just sent another person... The dishes were ok (salmon) or very heavy (sea food spaghettis).

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auntie Pesto's Cafe also viewed

Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
 
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
 

Been to Auntie Pesto's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auntie Pesto's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.