We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and ambience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tree-House Cafe

Tree-House Cafe
106 Purvis Lane, British Columbia V8K 2S5, Canada
+1 250-537-5379
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $9 - $21
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: We are passionate about serving delicious, wholesome food prepared from scratch. Our cafe is located in the heritage cottage next to Mouat’s in the heart of Ganges village on beautiful Salt Spring Island. We are a one of a kind restaurant and music venue with live music under the stars every night of the summer featuring some of the best live music you will hear anywhere.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food and ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The food was delicious, and very friendly service. We were there for dinner on Saturday, and the band was wonderful. A must while visiting the island.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    118
    23
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Unique rustic charm and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Good menu selections, an excellent dinner, efficient and cordial service, all in a uniquely charming restaurant.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The Best of SaltSpring!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

During my last trip to the island, I stumbled across the Tree House after seeing it on tripadvisor, and thinking what a cute place. The first night we were there, we felt so welcomed. There was great music and happy people all around. The meal I had was exceptional. It was the nightly special, a piece of coconut poached salmon, barley risotto on a bed of wilted spinach, asparagus and an array of amazing sauces. This meal was devine. The food was so good we came back the next day for brunch. Everything I've had here has been exceptional. There is a lot of variety for every diet, and the staff are very accomodating. Another great menu item here, is the goat cheese balls, with warm bread and chutney. Simply amazing. If you come to this island, you must eat here, many, many times.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Better be hungry!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Went to lunch at the Treehouse cafe - go early or be prepared to wait, at least on a Saturday. Once seated the service was terrific. We all ordered something different and none of us were disappointed! I had the burger and it was big and juicy, cooked to perfection. My lunch companions had a salad and the other had a quesadilla.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“You get to eat around a tree!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I know it sounds strange to be thinking that you're eating around and underneath a tree, but coupled with the fact that the food is amazing - this is such a fun place to take kids or go by yourself! The food is really unique and delicious! In the winter they have lots soups, often with curry, and in the summer they have the regular menu - I always say that this is how food is supposed to taste! The sandwiches are fresh and large, salads great, and in the winter when it gets a little cool they give you blankets and have heaters under the seats! It truly is stereotypical quirky Saltspring, with the delicious food! Definitely worth the trip!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tree-House Cafe also viewed

Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
 
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
 

Been to Tree-House Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tree-House Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.