We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour House Restaurant

Harbour House Restaurant
121 Upper Ganges Rd, British Columbia V8K 2S2, Canada
250-537-4700
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $12 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood, Healthy, Organic, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Chef Brooke Winters creatively uses vegetables, fruit and herbs grown in our own organic garden to create meals that are a feast for the senses. Fresh artisan breads, sauces, and dressings are created in-house from local, sustainable ingredients grown on-site. Take a tour of the farm! Then join us for great food and live entertainment every Saturday & Sunday evening from 6:30pm to 9:30pm.
1 review
“Best restaurant ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

We never would've found this place if the guy from the bike shop didn't recommend it. We were so impressed with the organic garden out back and the strong attempt to maintain local ingredients in the dishes. Our server was very personable and the restaurant was full both days we ate lunch there. The food was top notch with our compliments to the chef on both meals. Highly recommend this place to anyone who likes good food and appreciates a restaurant that wants to serve their customers quality ingredients.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    45
    13
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Franschhoek
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Excellent Pub and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

This is a very good place to eat and have a drink. Good and interesting menu with excellent service. On a good day sit outside and enjoy.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Review of restaurant only”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Made reservations for a mid-week dinner. Took our seat on the patio and waited 20 minutes while the only server in sight spent quite a while talking with a single customer (who was not eating or drinking) about her future business plans. We didn't realize she would be our server until she came over and asked for our drink order. We hadn't yet been given a wine list or menu of any kind. We ordered one appetizer to split and each had a fish main course. The food was very good and well presented. The server asked if we'd like some time between apps and main. We said no as we were quite hungry. It took about another 20 minutes for our main course (and there was only one other couple eating in the restaurant). Don't know how long we would have waited if we'd said yes, spread them out. It's a shame the service was so poor (and others who live on the island have had the same experience, so ours was not unique). The hotel/restaurant is in a good location and the views from the outdoor dining patio are terrific - yet the place was empty during tourist season. Perhaps the service has something to do with it? The waitress assumed we were staying at the hotel and asked if we wanted that on our tab...maybe they don't have to try as hard with a captive audience?

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Restaurant good - hotel poor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

For breakfast, lunch and dinner - very nice interesting menu with lots of produce coming from the organic farm at the rear of the property. Fabulous food, friendly staff, service a little slow at times

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Coast
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Fresh veggies from their own garden, prepared by an experienced chef. They grown their own lamb and make their own goat cheese. Lovely sitting outside overlooking the ocean on summer days. Comfort food like roast prime rib and Yorkshire Pudding and creme carmel with local maple syrup.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbour House Restaurant also viewed

Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
 
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
 

Been to Harbour House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.