We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Great People” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salt Spring Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cedar Beach Resort
Save
You added Cedar Beach Resort to your Saves list
1136 North End Road, British Columbia V8K 1M1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Victoria, Canada
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Location and Great People”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

I've stayed in cabins at the resort a couple times and found it a wonderful each time. The location is beautiful with a scenic lake and small mountain range across the lake. Close to shopping when needed and each cabin is clean, smoke free, and complete with everything you need. The staff are friendly and really helpful. I'm hooked! Whenever I'm staying on Salt Spring for a weekend or longer...I'm staying here!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    31
    7
    6
    10
See reviews for
61
16
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

My sweetheart, her son and I had a great Easter weekend at the resort. I was impressed with Gregor and Shona's service.
The view of the lake was superb, the cabin was cosy, and there were loads of things to keep us busy.
Book your stay at Cedar beach, and enjoy.
Cheers!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Spent International Women's Day 2014 weekend at Cedar Beach Resort, celebrating with 6 wonderful women! The resort is a real gem, tucked away under a lovely tree canopy, overlooking St. Mary's Lake. Between us, we occupied two adjoining cabins, which were charming and came with well equipped kitchens for our gourmet meals! The resort's hot tub was a great way to finish 2 perfect days. The management was wonderful, helpful and VERY accommodating. I would very much recommend this resort as a great place for couples, families or friends.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Cedar Beach Resort proved to be the perfect wedding spot even in the pouring rain. We first came to the resort in early march to meet with Mark and Mary and we were totally sold on the beauty of the area and the helpfulness of the staff. Mark answered all my questions and was extremely accommodating. He even hooked us up with Matt and Courtney of FAT BABY FOODS who ended up catering our event. Their food is a must while on the island, especially their gluten free perogies! Our guests were able to fill all the cabins and we had full run of the resort. It was a great spot for all ages and everyone was comfortable and content in their own space. Some of the cabins were a little more posh than other but the older ones offered a rustic and cozy atmosphere. We were also encouraged to use the canoe and boats that were at the dock. We did take them out once but the rain made outdoor activities a little scarce. Regardless, we weren't phased by the rain and instead took in the beauty of the vibrant greenery, fog tipped mountains and glistening lake. It was like a magical paradise where rainbows and sunshine randomly shone from behind the clouds. Originally we wanted the wedding outside so we could have the beautiful backdrop but then we changed to the beach house in front of the old stone fireplace. We lined the mantle with candles and family photos and it ended up looking perfect. The sun even made an appearance after the ceremony making the dock and beach great photo spots. We were able to fit all our guests inside the beach house comfortably but i wouldn't suggest a wedding bigger than 60 guests. Overall we couldn't not have been happier with everything at Cedar Beach Resort and we plan on coming back year after year. A very special thanks to Mark and Mary and their wonderful staff for making our dream wedding come true!

Room Tip: We really loved Cabin 3, it was a updated and cute one bedroom cabin with all the right amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponoka, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I have stayed here for a week for the last four years. This is by far the greatest little resort if you like rustic cabins. Think log cabins, spiders, bugs and sand on your feet. Takes me back to my youth. If you want modern go look elsewhere these are old school log cabins. the lake is amazing, the managers are some of the nicest people you can meet, the other guests are great. There are always kids playing and swimming here so my son just loves it. The pool and hot tub are a great way to end the day also. The cabins are a bit more expensive than some of the other resorts but you do get a hot tub at this one and I love the cabins so it doesn't bother me.

Best place on Salt Spring in my books

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Had decided to have my wedding at the same place we went to last year. The camp manager was very accommodating and lucky for us, there is a caterer and a photographer on site. So, the good; Mark is very helpful and friendly, photographer good, caterer very helpful, honest and friendly. They keep to the 11pm rule almost to the tee. First night with our big group and the manager was at our site at precisely 1101 telling us to keep it down. We did and all went well. Showers are clean and so is the bathroom. Camper sites are nice and large.
The bad; spiders everywhere, we had used the beach house for our wedding and were surprised to see webs and spiders all over the place and I mean everywhere! I had someone from our group go down and sweep the place before the wedding. My sister in law rented a cabin there and her cabin was full of webs, spiders were coming out of the sink and the windows were dirty. Our cabin was not too bad. Water was not potable and it stank. Having a shower in stinky water is not fun nor not being able to drink it or use it for cooking.
Its still a lovely location to stay, but it sorely needs some maintenance done on it.

Room Tip: dont rent cabin above pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Cedar Beach cabins generally aren't fancy - it's fairly rustic, but the atmosphere is wonderful. The managers are great, very helpful and friendly. The pool is clean, the lake is absolutely beautiful, and guests do really quiet down in late evening, even on busy weekends in the summer. Great place for families, or a quiet mid-week retreat. This was our second stay here and we'll be back as soon as we can!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cedar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Beach Resort

Address: 1136 North End Road, British Columbia V8K 1M1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Salt Spring Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Salt Spring Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Cedar Beach Hotel Salt Spring Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.