We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great and Restful Stay"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Birdsong B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salt Spring Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Birdsong B&B
Save
You added Birdsong B&B to your Saves list
153 Rourke Road, British Columbia V8K 2E6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Richmond, Canada
1 review
“"Great and Restful Stay"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The cottage at Birdsong B&B is one of the coziest and cleanest places we've ever stayed at. It has a French Country charm to it, and both Cottage and Main House, are very tastefully-decorated.

Though we did not have the view of the ocean, we did however had the view of the woods from the back patio. We enjoyed the sounds of chickadees feasting on the seeds and berries that were growing wildly around the property. The front porch faces a small Japanese garden, and one early morning, caught a glimpse of a mother deer and her young standing right in front of our porch. The property itself is gorgeous with breath-taking views of the ocean and forest, especially from the main house.

We enjoyed a couple of nights bbq-ing steaks in the patio while our daughter picked fresh blackberries to add to our breakfast pancakes the next day. Because we were staying at the cottage, we did not have the privilege of trying the delicious-looking breakfasts our host, Bill, was preparing for the other guests in the house. But that was ok since the cottage had a very modern kitchen equipped with everything an average person would need. Having a chef in the family, we always brought our own provisions (other than food, of course) like a sharp knife, teflon pan, and a silicone spatula--- which always prove to be a wise choice. It would be good to pack some of your own towels too if you want to follow suit.

We highly recommend this B&B and hope to return next summer. Bill was a very charming and friendly host. We can't wait to return to Salt Spring Island and stay at this property again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    0
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
34
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Spent an exceptional five day holiday on Salt Spring holiday at the Birdsong B+B. This B+B is located in an idyllic setting. The view of the ocean, the woods and the beautiful garden make the surroundings a fabulous escape. The house is nicely decorated and very well maintained. The delicious breakfasts are an additional bonus.

Room Tip: Both rooms in the house have balconies and excellent views. The king bedroom and bathroom are larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

My husband and I recently had a fabulous 3 night stay at Birdsong B&B. My husband was initially a bit apprehensive about staying at a B&B but he was immediately put at ease by the layout of the home and the host Bill's natural friendliness. The rooms upstairs are separated from each other by a large landing and have private balconies with beautiful views of the ocean. Our morning was started off with a delightful ringing of a bell signalling the delivery of coffee/tea and mini muffins to our room. What a lovely way to start the day! Thirty minutes later we enjoyed a full breakfast down in the dining room. Birdsong B&B is located in a spectacular spot conveniently located close to Ganges and lovely Beddis beach. We enjoyed meeting Bill and are grateful that we were able to have such a wonderful stay on Saltspring--Birdsong is the perfect spot to relax and rejuvenate.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We could not have had a more perfect stay. The view from our room was magnificent, the garden was beautiful, our host was kind and considerate, the food was delicious, and we could hear the birds singing.
We highly recommend this delightful B&B.

Room Tip: Both rooms are equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We recently spent two days on Salt Spring, and chose Birdsong B&B because of the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed, in fact, the setting, our room, and Bill's hospitality were absolutely delightful, and far exceeded our expectations. The view from the “Hummingbird Room” (and its large soaker tub) was spectacular, and we enjoyed watching hummingbirds, eagles and deer from our private balcony. The breakfasts were wonderful, and the muffins and tea were delivered to our room each morning. We have wonderful memories of our weekend and happily recommend Birdsong B&B.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

My husband and I recently enjoyed a three night stay at the Birdsong B&B. It was a delightful and comfy stay in a room with a wonderful view out over the water. The "icing on the cake" was the delivery to our room each morning of coffee and muffins. What a wonderful touch! This was in advance of a well-presented/prepared breakfast!! Great job, Bill.
We will look forward to a return visit.
Ray and Jenny
Kelowna, B.C.

Room Tip: Both rooms have an ocean view so you can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, B.C.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

When a lodging feels instinctively like a home (a beautiful one at that), and a host feels immediately like an old friend, you know that you have found something very special indeed. Bill welcomes you warmly to his delightful B&B perched high over the coastal waters of Salt Spring Island, separated from the shore by just the right amount of trees and bushes to sustain a plentiful community of songbirds. The breathtaking view outside your window is enhanced by the cozily eclectic décor of the house, a global village smartly transported to a small island. Talking with Bill, as he cooks you a memorable breakfast or greets you back from exploring, is a combination of travel diary, world culture lesson and sparkling joie de vivre. At Birdsong you will be refreshed by nature, refinement, and human warmth. No B&B could aspire to offer more.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Birdsong B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birdsong B&B

Address: 153 Rourke Road, British Columbia V8K 2E6, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Salt Spring Island
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Salt Spring Island
Number of rooms: 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Birdsong B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.