We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value & spacious suites” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Vesuvius Villas

The Vesuvius Villas
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salt Spring Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Vesuvius Villas
770 Vesuvius Bay Road, British Columbia V8K 1L6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good value & spacious suites”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Clean, we'll managed vacation rental. Accommodation on Saltspring Island can be pricey and Vesuvius Villas offers good value for your money. We stayed in suite #8 which was spacious with a very well equipped kitchen, BBQ and a nice patio with an ocean view. Short stroll to Vesuvius Bay and local coffee shop, restaurant. There is some noise from the ferry traffic but it is a small ferry. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssivv, Manager at The Vesuvius Villas, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We so appreciate hearing from our guests...and that you share your thoughts on what the Villas has to offer. Being a vacation rental - the suites are fully self contained with all of the comforts of home. And as each suite is independently owned and therefore decorated and stocked differenlty - it is great feedback to know what may or may not be missing. It provides us with the opportunity to rectify it.

We appreciate your comment about the ferry traffic - though it is minimal - it could be a consideration to some guests. It's important for our guests to know. Thanks.

The community of Vesuvius offers a great seafood restaurant, a small country store, and a great swiiming beach - pleased that you had the pleasure to enjoy the amenities!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whittier, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

For our 40th anniversary of friendship, myself and two friends stayed for four nights in Suite 10. It was fabulous having two bedrooms with en suites, fabulous views from the balcony of the bay and deer grazing on the grass below. Fully equipped kitchen, washer and dryer...what more could you ask for except and fabulous restaurant a short walk away!

Room Tip: Villas on the third floor have great views of the bay and there is an elevator so no worries for old...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssivv, Manager at The Vesuvius Villas, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Hello Pam - it's always a pleasure to know that our guest's enjoyed their stay.Thanks so much for sharing your trip. Although our west coast weather provided you with a full mix of conditions - we are pleased that the sun shone on your last couple of days. You had a wonderful reason for your trip and glad that we could provide a comfortable place to call home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This was our second time staying at the Villas, suite #1. It's so comfortable, clean and beautiful, with everything we need (especially the fully equipped kitchen - it has more utensils than I have at home!). Love the fireplace. And I'm in love with the location - Vesuvius is a little gem of a village, with the cutest little cafe 50 meters away. I would recommend it to anyone. Photos in my other review....

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssivv, Manager at The Vesuvius Villas, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about your stays at the Villas. It is always such a pleasure to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us. Being a Vacation Rental, we are able to offer that special accommodation that provides you with a true home base to explore the island. It has become apparent that suite # 1 has provided you with that - a lovely comfortable suite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed in Unit #2, a two bedroom two bathrooms ground floor suite at Vesuvius Villas this past weekend. The suite was furnished by designers, hardwood floor, wooden blinds, beautiful drapes, comfy beds, high quality bed linen and bath towers, all high quality furniture, Wedgewood china from England, dimable lighting, bath tub as well as shower stall, good water pressure from the showers, fully stocked cupboards in the kitchen, brand name appliances including washer and dryer. More importantly, everything is very clean. We particularly appreciated the awning and the patio furniture outside the unit, two lounge chairs, and a dining set. Lots of space to spread out to read and relax. The entrance and patio is full of flowers. We lied on the lounge chairs to read and nap, with the flowers and summer breeze in the background, what more can you ask for? Last but not least, Lynell, the manager, very friendly and knowledgeable. First class service from beginning to end. We highly recommend the Vesuvuis Villas.

Room Tip: Our ground floor suite is cool even during the mid summer days, and has the easiest direct access fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssivv, Manager at The Vesuvius Villas, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for your comments. It is always enjoyable working directly with our guests to ensure that their stay at the Villas truely suits their expectations. As the Villas is a unique accommodation location on the Island - each suite offering a different decor and style - it is great to be able to provide a suite that is the best fit. Looks like we found that fit!

From our initial converstations of your family's specific needs - through recommendations of great "island spots" - right up to your departure - we enjoyed conversing with you. Do hope taht you are able to enjoy our wee rock some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enderby, BC
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

My girlfriends and I had a weekend away from the okanagan and came to the Vesuvius Villas. What an awesome place. We had an incredible time!!! We walked down and took the ferry over to Crofton to check it out. We made some awesome food and drank some incredible wine, all local, and totally had a blast!!! The villas were excellent, clean & comfy, we had everything we could ever need. We will be back next year!! :)

Room Tip: The top floor is best as you get an awesome view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Our weekend at Vesuvius Villas was perfect - having spent much time all over the rest of Salt Spring Island, I was surprised to find this beautiful little oasis tucked away but still less than 10 minutes from Ganges and the incredible Saturday market. We loved our evening walks down what felt like country roads from another era. The suite (#1) had everything we needed (and more) and was beautifully and comfortably appointed - very comfy master bed! With our private entrance and terrace, we never felt we were sharing space - it was alarmingly quiet and perfect for a peaceful get-away. All this and an ocean view - lucky us!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnigan Lake, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

If you are ever in Saltspring and need more than a day to enjoy the beautiful laid back island, be sure to book a night or two at the Vesuvius Villa! I would highly recommend suite number 10! It is situated in the middle of the condos with an outdoor deck over looking the beautiful view! You will not be disappointed! The decor and atmosphere is very welcoming! We will definitely be back.
Thanks again! The McQuhae's and Robertson's

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Vesuvius Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vesuvius Villas

Address: 770 Vesuvius Bay Road, British Columbia V8K 1L6, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Salt Spring Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 Specialty lodging in Salt Spring Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vesuvius Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Vesuvius Villas to your Saves list