We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warmth, friendliness and beautiful views in abundance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Suncrest Cottage B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salt Spring Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Suncrest Cottage B&B
Save
You added Suncrest Cottage B&B to your Saves list
140 Head Street, British Columbia V8K 1P4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Pay for 5 Stay 6 nights
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Warmth, friendliness and beautiful views in abundance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

Maria and Rolf were the warmest B&B hosts I have ever encountered. The breakfasts were delicious, the gardens beautiful and the view over the ocean incredible. I am generally uncomfortable staying in a B&B if it feels like I'm in a room down the hall from the hosts, but Maria and Rolf's house is nicely separated. My companion has a few dietary restrictions and Maria treated these as a welcome challenge and she triumphed! All in all, a lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
35
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

We stayed at Suncrest for two nights and were very impressed by the excellent service and accommodation. Maria is an attentive and friendly host who will make your stay something special. Breakfast is prepared lovingly with many fresh ingredients from Maria's garden. We highly recommend this B&B!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

Maria & Rolf are the best hosts that we've ever had the luxury of staying with.
The breakfasts were nutritious and plentiful, and the beds were tranquil and cozy.
And the views! Who could forget breathtaking view of mountains and ocean from our bedroom windows.

The best sleep we've had in years.

Will definitely recommend to everyone we know, and will be staying at Suncrest Cottage for years to come!

- Vaseem, Khadijah, and Derick!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osoyoos, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

This place is so beautiful and peaceful we didn't want to leave. Watching the eagle nest was a special treat-wish we could stay a few more days so see the baby fly. The ocean view from our large well furnished suite was awesome. We will return and recommend to our friends. Our hosts were helpful with information about the Island and recommendations for restaurants-the breakfasts looked to beautiful to eat and so wonderful to eat.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

My husband and I didn't stay in the outside cottage, but we did spend two wonderful nights inside the house of the very friendly Suncrest hosts, Maria and Rolf. The B & B consists of two rooms, a bedroom and a sitting room (also a nice size bath), all of which are upstairs, away from most of the rest of the house, and hence, very private. Because the house sits on top of a hill, the windows in the bedroom and sitting room provide spectacular views of the natural scenery below. You look out over a beautiful, wooded hillside to the water beyond (Galiano island is in the distance). Thanks to Rolf's telescope, we got to see an eagle family nesting in a tree down below us. That was a thrill. Maria and Rolf are wonderful hosts, not intrusive but ready to help in any way. And Maria's breakfasts are to die for! She's also an avid and accomplished gardener, so save time to walk around the grounds of the house and admire the many beautiful flowers, shrubs, vines and trees she's cultivated. Salt Spring Island is a wonderful and special place. This B & B is as well.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooke, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

This was our first time staying at a B & B and it was most enjoyable. We were only there 2 nights but wished we could stay longer. The breakfasts were delicious and beautifully presented. While this is a quiet and peaceful location at the end of road it was not far from lots to do and the hosts were very welcoming. There was a wonderful library on site with a very interesting assortment of reading and a gorgeous view. I would highly recommend to everyone who would love to spend some time on Saltspring Island.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, B.C.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

If you're looking for a quiet place with beautiful views and a warm welcome at a reasonable price on Salt Spring Island, this is it! We found it by chance and were delighted with it, and plan to return. We enjoyed a lovely view from the bedroom, good breakfasts, being able to roam the gardens and grounds while enjoying the views, visiting with nearby friendly horses and a cat, and meeting Maria. And it was blissfully quiet at night, but not too far out of Ganges. A lovely spot from which to explore the island.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dammel, Owner at Suncrest Cottage B&B, responded to this review, May 26, 2010
Thank you for your review of Suncrest. The private patio overlooking the ocean is a favourite spot with our guests, it is a great place to barbecue some of the fresh local foods available on the island.
We have renovated the bathroom and added a large window so that one can enjoy the view from the bathtub.
Wish you were here now as the roses and iris are in bloom and we are having great fun watching an eagle nest - the baby is now two weeks old. Feeding time is interesting.
Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Suncrest Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suncrest Cottage B&B

Address: 140 Head Street, British Columbia V8K 1P4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Salt Spring Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Salt Spring Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Suncrest you are the only guests, see no houses or roads. This is a unique ocean view Salt Spring Island accommodation only 6km from the Village. Well appointed cottage with private ocean facing patio on a peaceful 28 acre estate near island amenities. See the ocean from bed and bath at Beautiful Suncrest Cottage. Suncrest offers the quintessential Salt Spring experience: lovely garden and forest setting, organic fruit and vegetable gardens, deer, great birding, forest trails and amazing ocean and mountain views. Enjoy tranquility in our forest, meadows and extensive gardens. At Suncrest we provide quality west coast accommodation and hospitality while working to have low impact on the earth. We re-use, re-cycle, compost, practice water conservation and garden organically. Through our sustainable practices we encourage responsible tourism in our island paradise and have earned sustainable credentials for our eco practices. We have Land Stewards status from the Salt Spring Island Conservancy. We have been a SSI Chamber of Commerce Green accommodation since 2007 and in 2014 we were awarded Greenleaders Platinum from Trip Advisors. Suncrest Cottage gives you the convenience of having a little home- away from home; a place to relax and unwind surrounded by beautiful nature. You will find comfortable furniture, TV, DVD, VCR, Stereo, books, games, complementary free phone for all of North America, high speed WI-FI, full size BBQ in your own private ocean view patio, a well equipped kitchen with some breakfast foods and beverages, a bath with ocean view, flowers, binoculars... and much more. We provide acres of privacy only 6 kilometers from Ganges, a vibrant village with good restaurants, art galleries, music and much more. Come and relax in nature; enjoy yourself at Suncrest. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suncrest Cottage B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.