We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Say cheese” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salt Spring Island Cheese Company

Salt Spring Island Cheese Company
285 Reynolds Road, British Columbia V8K 1Y2, Canada
250 653-2300
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Salt Spring Island Cheese Company makes both sheep and goat milk cheeses. Come visit us on the farm where we are located, and sample all of our cheeses. There are windows into every room of our facility, so you can also see the entire cheesemaking process from start to finish.
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Say cheese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

The only thing better than the farm, the tour, the happy goats and the hyper sheep dog is the taste of the cheese.
We always take visitors to the island to enjoy a picnic at the cheese farm and it never disappoints.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    24
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Yup...this is beautiful cheese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Picked up some gorgeous goat cheese brie and feta at Salt Spring Market. Added a fresh baguette and a crisp cold sauvignon blanc. A perfect dinner.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Cheese it Up on Saltspring”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Nothing cheesy about this CheeseWorks.....Wow ! goat cheese so Fresh you couldn't 'handle' it ! Try to go in shoulder seasons...avoid the crowds, slow down and take your time in the tasting room....Flavours and combinations that will rock your palate into submission!! Hard to pick a favourite but Herb and Garlic Fresh Chevre will put a smile on the most jaded 'Foody' out there. Don't miss the Olives, fresh tapenade and other treats. Old world charm and down-home farminess. Take time to picnic outside beside the chicken coop with your fresh selection of cheeses.....you will be back!! Wish I had bought more.
My apologies to those that are lactose intolerant - I feel your pain.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Salt Spring Island Cheese Company—WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

From the spectacular views of Mt. Maxwell (not to be missed) we drove to the highly recommended Salt Spring Island Cheese Company, located on Weston Creek farm on 285 Reynolds Road. We did some cheese tasting along with some tasting of different varieties of Olives. The company specializes in handmade goat and sheep cheeses. There was no charge for tastings and we were able to wander around the small farm and enjoy a little of the cheese making process through their viewing windows. Of course, we tried almost all of the cheeses and olives available and left with some wonderful goat cheese to take back with us to family in Pemberton BC. Cheeses and Olives--one word: WOW!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver. B.C.
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“We left with 50$ in cheese!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We went here for something to do on a sunny winters day. The tasting room and shop are located on the farm in which the cheese is made and packaged. You can walk through the process on your own with short descriptions of the process and viewing windows. Headed into the tasting room where a fabulous tasting begins...for free! Great selections of cheeses (goat and sheep), and olives available for tasting. The tasting itself was a fun experience with the lovely lady working the cheese bar. Well worth a wee trip up there.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt Spring Island Cheese Company also viewed

Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
 
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
 

Been to Salt Spring Island Cheese Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salt Spring Island Cheese Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.