We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great getaway weekend spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hedgerow House Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Hedgerow House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hedgerow House Bed & Breakfast
238 Park Drive, British Columbia V8K 2R6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great getaway weekend spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Thanks to Bill and Taylore ( the excellent new managers of this first class B & B) we had a lovely weekend and felt thoroughly spoilt. The house is charming, the Balcony bedroom very comfortable, and the breakfasts outstanding! Our hosts had thought of everything to make our stay perfect: there is a spot to make your own coffee/tea, plus homemade cookies that appeared about tea-time, flashlights for an evening stroll, wineglasses to take to our room, and novels to read. We appreciated the little touches that make it special. We enjoyed the fact that this lovely house is an easy stroll away from the centre of town, and yet very quiet at night. We will be recommending this spot to our friends

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    95
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
75
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

Chris was a wonder and she had lovely guests, some were repeats which says alot.
I'm a travel agent, my worst client - very difficult to please!
I wouldnt hesitate to book again, would only stay longer next time round.
Enjoyed the top bedroom with a great view, within walking distance of town.
This posting is a bit late, but I truly enjoyed my stay at Hedgerow.

thank you Chris!

Sandy and Joyce from Berkeley CA

Room Tip: choose the top room, with deck, queen bedded
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Thank you Chris for a wonderful stay at Hedgerow House B&B! I would highly recommend this gorgeous lodging for any stay on Salt Spring Island.

The house is very modern, and newly decorated/refurbished (very tasteful). Everything was 5 star quality, from the linen and towels right through to the 3 course delicious breakfast that was cooked for us by our lovely host, Chris. Some of the ingredients were even grown right in the backyard!

The king sized bed in the Balcony Room was incredibly comfortable, as were the pillows. Both provided for a wonderful night's sleep. The heated tiles in the bathroom were an added bonus. Room was a good size.

Great location - walking distance to town (Ganges). The Balcony Room has nice views of the front garden (very nicely landscaped).

I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Balcony Room was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilauea
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

The hospitality was over the top and quite charming. The perfect excuse to sleep in while Chris surprised us each morning with a fantastic breakfast. Each morning brought a new look on the table along with a surprise of what local food she would dream up. Not being one for breakfast, I found it irrisitable. The accommodations were most comfortable to boot,with lovely linens and yummy towels. I would recommend this to our friends to be sure.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Our group of four had a lovely time at Hedgerow House. Loved the sophisticated decor and the open snack bar stocked with tea, coffee, fresh fruit and home-made pastries. I especially appreciated that books were located in the upper cabinets, so guests could choose their reads along with their beverages. Breakfast was divine. We had piping hot shirred eggs and helped ourselves to fruit, juice, muesli and delicious home-made granola. Chris, the manager, is also a terrific cook! We felt at home and well taken care of.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

A great weekend away. Great place to rest a tired city head!

Lured from the bed with the scent of Amazing food accompanied by the best granola, really comfortable rooms, great advice to get the best experiences salt spring has to offer. All thanks to Chris the wonderful host.

We will definitely be back again

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, oregon
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

This place is immaculate and the furnishings are sleek and modern not typical over decorated b and b, so enjoyed that. Also loved the manager of the b and b, Chris, warm, helpful, funny and she made the best breakfasts we ever ate. She gave us good info on the town that was helpful and spot on, she helped in every way to make our visit enjoyable.
The only thing I would warn about is the showers in the balcony and studio rooms are small so if you are very large you might want the garden room for its comodious shower. We loved staying in the balcony room and having wine and cheese out on the balcony each evening watching the birds and enjoying the view and the breeze.

Room Tip: balcony and garden rooms both have lovely outside areas, the studio does not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hedgerow House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedgerow House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 238 Park Drive, British Columbia V8K 2R6, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Salt Spring Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Salt Spring Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenity and Simplicity on Salt Spring Island. Hedgerow House is a new three room boutique-style Bed and Breakfast nestled in the heart of Ganges on Salt Spring Island. We are about a 15 minute walk away from art galleries, restaurants, and the famous Salt Spring Saturday Market by the harbour. This private oasis has been created for guests who can enjoy understated luxury in the atmosphere of our island's peace and tranquility.Hedgerow House is a unique place just to be. Relax in our professionally decorated rooms. Feel pampered with European bed linens and large fluffy towels.Our resident Managers will prepare your breakfast with flair and imagination using fresh local ingredients when possible.Feel the spirit of the island while you rest, meditate, walk the trails and beaches or take advantage of the many choices of activities. The Garden Room is a self-contained luxurious suite with a queen size bed and an en-suite bathroom with a shower.This deluxe ground floor room has a private entrance and its own enclosed delightful garden patio.The spacious bathroom has a glass shower for two. The Balcony Room is a spacious room with a king size bed and an en-suite bathroom with a shower. Star watch or greet the dawn from your own private balcony, a perfect place for peace and comfort.The Studio Room is beautifully appointed room with a queen size bed and an en-suite bathroom with a shower. Listen to the bird songs in the morning.Enjoy a cozy retreat. All Rooms have:Luxury pillow top beds.Heated bathroom floors. Flat screen TV's.Free wireless access - we are laptop friendly! Access to a guest refreshment center offering tea, coffee and a fridge to keep your wine cool.This is a smoke free Bed & Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hedgerow House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hedgerow House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.