We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

See the Ocean from your Bed and Bath at Suncrest

Sunrise from Suncrest B&B
Bedroom with ocean view
Very comfortable furniture in the sitting room.
Salt Spring Island
|
Rental Home – 
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
JBRS16
Santa Cruz, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful haven with a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Suncrest Cottage. The cottage adjoins the hosts' house, but feels separate enough. We only saw the hosts occasionally, but they were available if we needed anything. They have a beautiful vegetable and flower garden, and not only had flower bouquets in the house, but gave us the sweetest figs I've ever tasted! We also picked tons of blackberries! The cottage had enough room for us, though with two teenagers, it was a bit snug (teens take up a lot of space!) I chose this place primarily for the location, and it's everything the photographs promise--a peaceful backyard, with chairs, table, and two lounge chairs, overlooking the water and other islands. Beautiful! It's a good 10-12 minutes from Ganges, but worth it. Maria and Rolf are kind and generous hosts, and I would return to the cottage in a heartbeat.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: The view from the backyard, the gardens, and the blackberries!
Liked least: It was slightly snug for two grown teens and a mother, but feasible.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Cynthia B
North Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Homey & sweet!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

My aging parents, my teen son and I stayed for two nights in this cleverly done renovation to Maria and Rolf's home. While we were a bit "large" for the one bedroom, Maria was so kind in accommodating our extra linen needs, and the place is very dog-friendly. Maria's fridge was well stocked with local eggs, her own jam and all our necessities. She is a lovely host! The view from the bedroom terrace is exquisite, but we didn't really take advantage of it. The place is very quiet and just 10 minutes or so from Ganges, the main town. It feels very isolated, but if you like walking, the beach is just down the hill, and at low tide, there is a good walk along the shore. This little B&B is best for an intimate couple who will eat breakfast in the sun, lounge around and wish to be quite independent. My dog loved the wild rabbits in the pasture out back-great for a fun run with the hound!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 3 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Maria was so welcoming and I felt very comfortable with her.
Liked least: We were a bit cramped with four people.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Edmonton
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 3, 2013
Thank you for this lovely review. We love Suncrest and enjoy sharing its magic- I'm glad you love this place also.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Tori
Indonesia
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 20, 2013
Tori I am so glad you and Yasmin had a lovely time at Suncrest. Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Salt Spring Island
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 for a stay in October 2006
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 18, 2013
Thank you for this wonderful review. What a pleasure to do what one likes and then get a write up like this.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
fiddleastoria
OR
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Martins45...
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great place for 1st time to salt spring island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011 for a stay in August 2011

Enjoyed our visit, especially because we could eat out on the patio overlooking the ocean vista. Though a self-catering cottage, Maria welcomed us with a little food before we could get to the store. Very friendly and helpful. Lovely gardens. We were a couple and stayed with a relative--so a little small space for 3 people, but beds all comfortable. Be aware the place is 6 km from Ganges up and down hills, but so quiet because of that. Good value!

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$138
/
Night
Week
Month
Request to Book
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
this property has payment protection
Owner
Maria D
Speaks English
Listed since : Apr 2011
Response Rate: 73 %
Calendar Updated: 3 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing