We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exeptional experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anchor Point

Anchor Point
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salt Spring Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anchor Point
Save
You added Anchor Point to your Saves list
150 Beddis Road, British Columbia V8K 2J2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
vancouver
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“exeptional experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2006

We would ;like to thank Ralph and Lynn for a wonderful stay at their
beautiful B&B. They thought of everything to make our stay most enjoyable. Robes and slippers for the Hot Tub. Mini fridge stocked
with pop, delicious appys at 5:00 p.m. every evening with refreshments. The Breakfast were to die for. A basket of assorted
warm biscuits & muffins followed by warm carmalized peaches on
yogurt and our entree baked fritta. A marvelous meal. Lynn gave us a paper bag to take along our left over muffins to enjoy during our day of exploring this wonderful Island of Salt Spring. Ralph was full
of knowledge about the Island and gave us some great tips on what to see, where to go, great recomendations on restaurants.
We will be back. There is so much we did not see on the Island.
We will stay at Anchor point on our next trip and look forward to enjoing all the great amenties it has to offer.
Thanks again Ralph and Lynn for a most enjoyable 2 days.
Aug 16 & 17
Libby & Wayne

Stayed August 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
11
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
toronto, on
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2006

We have stayed at many B@B's but have never stayed at one like Anchor Point. Lynn and Ralph thought of every possible detail that a guest would want on a holiday. From the 3 course gourmet breakfasts, to the endless cookie jar, movies, music, hot tub and then the beautifully appointed bedroom that left nothing to be desired. Our room had every detail that I wished my own bedroom would have! Thank you Lynn and Ralph for making our holiday so memorable.We hope one day to return!

  • Liked — the detail for the guests enjoyment
  • Disliked — all was wonderful
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukilteo
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2005

Anchor Point is by far the best B&B I've found anywhere in the world: east coast, west coast, US, Canada, Europe, you name it.
The setting is quiet, lovely, relaxing, and near town. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed.
The common areas are relaxing and thoroughly enjoyable from the soft background music, to the Video/DVD room, to the hot tub, breakfast porch, and deck.
But what makes Anchor Point stand out is quite simply the proprietors: Lynn and Ralph Bischoff. Yes, the are gracious, completely knowledgeable about the events, locales, and personalities of the island. Yes, they welcome you warmly and are discrete and available. Yes, they can speak in a variety of language, about a huge range of topics, and with serious tones or jolly good humor.
Yet it is the caring, gentle nature of these folk that makes this truly a place I hate to leave.
And to top that: Lynn is the Julia Child of Breakfast.
If you want more than that, give it up. It doesn't exist.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2005

Anchor Point B&B is a fabulous place to stay. The house is lovely - both inside and out. The owners have taken great care in making sure your stay is both memorable and special: daily newspapers, a fantastic array of books and movies, sherry and appetizers at 5pm, slippers and terry cloth robes, three course breakfasts - yum! I could go on and on.

We loved our room. It was a lovely, well furnished and comfortable space (especially the four poster bed!) It was a lot of fun to snuggle up and watching movies with popcorn and cookies – provided by our hosts.

But what I liked especially is that you are not limited to your room. Guests can freely access the entire upstairs portion of the house. There is a really cozy sitting room, tv room, kitchen and outside porch. The owners live downstairs in a separate private suite, so it is like having the house all to yourself! The view from the house is spectacular. And it is especially enjoyable when viewing from the hot tub!

The owners are very knowledgeable about the island and they are happy to give you advice on the best places to eat and visit. I also loved the proximity of the house to Ganges (essentially the centre of Salt Spring activity).

We are definitely going to go back. It was a very romantic and relaxing experience.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2005

My husband and I stayed at the Anchor Pt. B&B for 4 nights in late June.
It is one of the nicest B&B's we have ever stayed in. The innkeepers were
very friendly and unbelievably knowledgeable about everything and everyone
on Salt Spring Island. The accommodations were wonderful and the food was
the best I have ever had at a B&B - and I have traveled extensively for over
40 years. They serve a gourmet three course breakfast and then provide you
with a bag to take all the leftover baked goods to munch on the rest of the day.
There are only two rooms so there is lots of privacy. They also provide the
entire living room and the TV room for guests only - and the TV room has over
800 videos and DVDs. They provide microwave popcorn and a cookie jar full
of the best cookies you have ever eaten for movie watching. The B&B is
walking distance from Ganges (although the walk home is uphill) which is a
charming village with wonderful shops and restaurants. And don't miss the
Saturday Market. We loved Salt Spring Island and this B&B and will defintely
return to both.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2004

Anchor Point Bed and Breakfast on Saltspring Island is clearly a labour of love for the proprietors Ralph and Lynn Bischoff. The hospitality they offer is only outdone by the beautiful and peaceful surroundings they have created for their guests. Much care and planning have gone in to providing guests with privacy, amenities and comfort. Anchor Point hosts only two suites of guests at a time, making it feel like an elegant and restful home away from home! The multi-course, silver service breakfasts are works of art. Lynn and Ralph are clearly an excellent working team. Lynn's culinary talents are obvious and Ralph's knowledge and interest in the area made our time at Anchor Point a most enriching experience. I would be happy to return to Anchor Point at any time and would heartily recommend it to all.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, BC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2004

My wife and I spent 5 nights recently at the Anchor Point B & B. We felt entirely welcome, and we were hosted by a very interesting and gracious couple. The food was beyond excellent, the bedroom was spacious and comfortable with lovely ocean inlet views, and we were given attentive but unintrusive service. The nightly rate includes use of a living room (seating and reading area), a small but comfortable video viewing room (with an enormous selection of VHS tapes and dvds) and access to a kitchen area for refreshments at any time.
Excellent value for very fine accomodation, and so highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anchor Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Point

Address: 150 Beddis Road, British Columbia V8K 2J2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Salt Spring Island
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Salt Spring Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be pampered in our traditional cape-style residence! Harbour sunrises and island breakfasts. Designer appointed. Open living/dining space with fireplace, library, Cable and Wi-Fi. Cozy robes & slippers, hot-tub. A true escape from the everyday. All "Yours to Enjoy"! Frommer's recommended, BC Tourism Approved, Member WCBBIA Canada Select 4 Star Rating. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchor Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.