We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visiting the Gulf Islands? You must get out onto the water.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outdoor Visions Private Tours

Outdoor Visions Private Tours
#3-126 upper Ganges Rd | Salt Spring Marina, British Columbia V8K2S2 , Canada
+1 250-538-7188
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: located two minutes,1 kilometer from Ganges
Salt Spring Island, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Visiting the Gulf Islands? You must get out onto the water.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

What a great company. They made an eco adventure so interesting, explaining so much about the islands and the sea life here. It made it very interesting for the whole family. Very ethical and helpful guide, Ian, that we had through Outdoor Visions, was the best! While no one, including Ian can guarantee whale sightings, he does his best, and lets you know if it's "likely" or not. He made it special all day regardless and we did see whales! He was respectful of the guidelines too: great trip.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Highlight of our vacation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Getting to see a pod of beautiful transient Orca whales with Ian as our guide was definitely the highlight of our trip to Salt Spring Island!

Ian was very knowledgeable and friendly and ensured that we had an awesome experience.

I had contacted him by email before our vacation and then when we arrived on the Island we discussed which day we would like to go out. Ian took the cell numbers of myself and my husband and when he got information of sightings he texted us and met us at the Marina and we went out in his Zodiac.

Our kids loved getting to see the Orcas and also the sea lions and the whole excursion was a great success. We also got some great pictures to remind us of the experience.

Thank you Ian!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Tremendous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Unlike other whale watching companies, I've seen, Ian at Outdoor Visions wouldn't take us out until he was sure we would see something. We were flexible, so he sent a scout boat out and then called us back to say if we wanted to go about 40 minutes south there were two "transient" Killer Whales we could watch. Off we went, watched these amazing whales and then came back through Active Passage just as the tide was coming in and the sea lions and seals were having their evening feeding frenzy. Ian is an excellent guide and clearly loves what he does. You won't be disappointed!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Münster
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“An amazing tour!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

If you travel through British Columbia/Canada you are able to book hundreds of whale watching tours and you can't be sure if you will watch the whales passing by or not.

First we were a little bit disappointed when the tourguide Ian told us we had to wait until he'll send us a SMS and this might be in a few days. The reason is: he only starts his tour when he really knows that you will watch some whales!

After a few days we started with his zodiac and it was amazing:
We accompanied nearly 40 (!!!) orcas for two hours and it's impossible to describe this wonderful experience!
Ian knows everything about the"Pods" and he creates a calm and quiet atmosphere so you are able to enjoy it to the full!!

It was the the greatest experience we made during our trip through BC.

THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!!!!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Always Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

What makes this experience so amazing is that fact that you are guaranteed a whale sighting - Ian, your captain, has contacts all over the area and wouldn't take you out if he doesn't know where the whales are. He is also knowledgable and friendly. As well as whales, you may see seals, sea lions, eagles and other marine life. I have been on two tour of his, this last April and one July of 2011, the previous summer. This is an intimate experience, as the zodiac fits only twelve people. Weather resistant/insulating suits are included in the fee, as well as water and the use of binoculars while on the tour. Each tour I have been on was amazing - simply fantastic!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outdoor Visions Private Tours also viewed

Galiano Island, British Columbia
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
 
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
 

Been to Outdoor Visions Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outdoor Visions Private Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Outdoor Visions Private Tours to your Saves list