We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous, absolutely perfect...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hastings House Country House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hastings House Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Hastings House Country House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   160 Upper Ganges Rd | British Columbia, British Columbia V8K 2S2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Portland, OR
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Gorgeous, absolutely perfect...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2008

We chose Hastings House for our elopement without ever having been there- our choice was based completely on their web site, their zagat rating and the reviews we read.

Well, we were blown away when we arrived- it completely exceeded our expectations. I will forever cherish my memories of our perfect elopement weekend. Everyone was so nice and helpful. The service was amazing...so many extra little details in everything they did. Everything about this place exuded pride...

The grounds were stunning and there were more flowers blooming while we were there than are pictured in the web site photos. There were bouquets of flowers in our room when we arrived. At night, their turn-down service not only leaves a bottle of water on a doilie on your night stand, but chocolate on your pillow too. We also loved the "morning hamper" (freshly baked warm muffins and coffee on the doorstep). The food in the dining room was fantastic. We just loved every minute of being there- it's such a special place, beautiful and charming, elegant but not snooty. It was hard to leave.

If you are planning on being there for a romantic getaway or honeymoon, I'd highly recommend the Post Cottage- it's a separate little building and it's lovely and charming. You can see part of the harbor through the french doors in the living room.

After our little wedding ceremony and fireside dinner in our room, we were sitting in the adirondack chairs outside enjoying the evening and sipping champagne when suddenly a bald eagle flew over us and disappeared into the woods next door. It was perfect. Can't wait to go back someday.

  • Liked — The ambience... it was charming, beautiful, quiet and peaceful.
  • Disliked — Nothing- it was perfect.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    15
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
27
92
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2008

This hotel is one of a kind. My husband and I have both traveled extensively all over the world, yet we had never had this sweet combination of class, privacy, charm, history, nature, art, view, fabulous food, comfort, and excellent friendly service anywhere else. You can feel comfortable in your shorts or in your elegant evening ware, and staff treats you like you are the only one in the hotel.

I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to rekindle their romance or for a honeymoon. The two-person tub is the best tub I have ever soaked in (yes, of course they have a separate full size shower, too). The little details such as soothing romantic CDs, tea candles, robes, full size tea pot with great selection of tea really made our stay romantic. Then, of course, there is their world famous restaurant! We were teased into the culinary heaven with the complimentary afternoon tea (scones and the lemon tart were truly fabulous), and even with our highest expectation for the dinner, they still surpassed it with every details done right. As if that was not enough, after a great night sleep in a heavenly bed, we woke up to a morning hamper with muffins and fresh coffee delivered to our door (also complimentary). To top it all off, they offer a complimentary breakfast at the restaurant for one more taste of the Hastings House.

I can keep going, but I think you get my point. Hastings House is over-all the best hotel we have stayed in. We could only stay for one night, but trust us; we did not want to leave this place!

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Nothing...it was perfect
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2008

Amazing, the location, the building, the food.
We had a very short trip to Saltspring Island, float plane in with www.saltspringair.com walk through the market, little tour bus around the island, vine yard www.saltspringwine.com Hastings house for the amazing scenery, old charm property and impeccable service. We will be going again. I would guess it is one of the more expensive on the island, but compared to Vancouver nothing you wouldn’t expect to pay and delivers so much more.

  • Liked — the setting, no the food, the service
  • Disliked — that i cant go more often
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2007

Hastings House is so much more than an inn - it is a state of mind. From the moment of arrival amid the lush landscaping and perfect views, you feel transported to a different time and place. Tension from your other life falls away almost instanly. The staff is remarkable - all especially nice and helpful. The rooms are absolutely lovely. They give the feeling of being guests in someone's comfortable country home if that someone had really given thought to what guests need to feel right at home. The gardens inspire envy - I've never seen so many flowers arranged so beautifully. Rooms benefit from these blossoms with fresh bouquets in each. The restaurant combines some of the best food we've ever had with lovely views of the harbor and mountains. If you are lucky, you will have Michael take care of you while you dine.

Salt Spring Island is also a special place. The natural settings are astonishing - views of the sea, the mountains and the forests are breath taking. The level of art available in the local studios and galleries is amazing. A great place to visit.

  • Liked — THe entire experience of just being there
  • Disliked — It is expensive.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2007

Hastings House on Salt Spring Island is the perfect getaway. My sister and I were royally treated when we booked the Pajama Party Package at this luxurious resort. Over the two days we enjoyed everything from our fabulous accommodation and awesome massage treatments, to meals prepared by their award-winning chef. One of the real highlights was the fireside dinner that was also included in our stay. The chef personally met with us beforehand to plan and prepare our three course meal. It was then delivered to our suite, accompanied by a bottle of wine, and served before a crackling fire. I can see why this small luxury hotel has won so many awards. It sure provided a weekend that my sister and I will never forget.

  • Liked — The superb service
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2007

Hastings House is a very special place that evokes the English Countryside but set in a tranquil island setting on Saltspring Island one of the British Columbia Gulf Islands. The ambience was very peaceful and the service exceptional. We stayed in Farmhouse West which was very romantic and had lovely views of Ganges Harbour. The spa treatment was great and a good way to end the day!!
The chef is a magician in the kitchen and you should definitely try to have at least one dinner at the hotel.

The price was very reasonable for this level of quality.
It was a a real 5 star experience! We will be back!

Stayed November 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2006

Great view, great location, quite, peaceful environment, and wondeful food. It's not cheap but worth it. You feel like the resort is there for you personally, mostly due to it's small size, and the staff is very attentive. Thye menu for dinner was magnificent.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hastings House Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hastings House Country House Hotel

Address: 160 Upper Ganges Rd | British Columbia, British Columbia V8K 2S2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Salt Spring Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Salt Spring Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hastings House Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hastings House Country House Hotel is a small waterfront luxury country resort, spa and restaurant sitting on 22 acres on the waterfront of Ganges Harbour, Salt Spring Island, British Columbia. Enjoy luxury lodging, fine dining, wellness and relaxation in a casually-elegant atmosphere. Explore British Columbia’s natural beauty, Salt Spring’s mild climate and the warmth and creativity of its people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hastings House Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hastings Hotel Saltspring Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hastings House Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.