We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“limited menu but nice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gypsy at Red

Gypsy at Red
4430 Red Mountain Road, Rossland, British Columbia V0G 1Y0, Canada
250-362-3347
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 21 restaurants in Rossland
Price range: $9 - $26
Cuisines: English, Tapas, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Gypsy at Red serves Creative World Cuisine in a warm, relaxing atmosphere. Dinners 7 nights a week. Fantastic Lunches! Creative world Cuisine located near the base of Red Mountain Ski Hill. Tasty Winter and Summer menus. Warm up by the fireplace and enjoy excellent service and tantalizing food.
west kootenay
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“limited menu but nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We visited this restaurant on the advice of friends,it was a pleasant experience,the food though slightly overpriced was well prepared and the sevrice was fine

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    11
    6
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“So Good...and then So Average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

We had our best meal in Rossland here. The portions are gigantic, the atmosphere warm and cozy and the service is excellent. Our food was awesome (vegetarian phyllo appetizers, chicken breast and lamb shanks for mains, chocolate ganache for dessert). We made the mistake of eating here again the next night because we loved it so much. That meant we had to have our second choices because we wanted to try something 'new'. Big mistake. The service was still wonderful but the food was disappointing (thai curry bowl, sirloin steak and cookies & cream mousse).
Still check it out - just choose wisely!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee, California, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dinner in Rossland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

This is an excellent restaurant. Great selection of food and nice atmosphere.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossland, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A must experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

This is my favourite place to celebrate important moments like our anniversary, my birthday, girlfriends lunches out. The food, service and ambience are wonderful

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time or money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012 via mobile

EveryOne in town said this was great. Service was crap, food was crap, no good table in the place. Said hi to the server, she didn't respond and started with the specials. Like a robot all night. The food was mediocre, not one of the four people at my table was impressed with the food. When the Owner / manager came past and asked how it was, I said "it's okay. " she said "I've served that all night" and walked away. We had the halibut special (which required a knife to cut), the lamb shanks, the veal cutlet, and the prime rib. For appetizer we had the Caribbean beef empanadas and the crab cakes. The empanadas were the best thing on the table all night. Crab cakes sucked. Shredded to mask the filler. I ordered a martini and the glass came half full. Apparently you half to order a quadruple to get one martini. The lamb shanks were normal. The halibut special required a knife as mentioned earlier. The veal was bland. The steak was blah. After waiting and waiting and waitIng and waiting I paid the bill so we could go somewhere else to get dessert because I was tired of giving them my money. Go to Idgie's instead.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gypsy at Red also viewed

Rossland, Kootenay Rockies
Rossland, Kootenay Rockies
 
Rossland, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Gypsy at Red? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gypsy at Red, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.