We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for a quick stop over.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on the Harbour

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Inn on the Harbour to your Saves list
Inn on the Harbour
720 First Avenue West, Prince Rupert, British Columbia V8J 3V6, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast!
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Prince Rupert
West Sussex, UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fine for a quick stop over.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

This hotel is centrally located in town, from where you can walk to the shops and restaurants. It is also opposite the airport drop off point so was ideal for us flying in and then catching the ferry the next morning. Check in was prompt and reception staff friendly. We had booked a mountain view room, which was perfectly adequate for our short stay. However, being on the ground floor we were right next to the car park and there was some noise from kids running around and shouting right outside our window. Not great when you have an early start, so we would book a harbour view (rear of hotel) next time. There is a light continental breakfast (coffee and toast) served in the morning, which starts early enough to catch a quick bite pre-ferry. We had booked a taxi the night before to take us the short drive to the ferry terminal, but unfortunately, reception had forgotten to book it. As this was shoulder/low season, a replacement was quickly ordered for us. A good choice of hotel for an overnight stay.

Room Tip: Choose a harbour view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    74
    29
    7
    4
See reviews for
23
61
11
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wimberley
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011 via mobile

Clean rooms but a litlle small, we had a " mountain " side which really was parking level and the view was a car parked right a front of the window. The hotel could use some updates: bathroom fan didn't work even after maintenance guy check, water temp was very irregular: almost burn me in shower and was going on between hot to cold without me touching faucet.
Staff was very friendly and helpful, had breakfast ready before regular time to accommodate our early time for ferry.
Would be nice if the owner let guests use the big patio overlooking bay( specially not being there themselves)

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

We spent two nights here on seperate occasions - first night we took their luxury room which was very comfortable and the second night we stayed in the next level down - happened to be next door! Great view over the harbour easy walk to Cow Bay - breakfast most adequate but simple. Overall expensive!

Room Tip: Choose a harbour view room - the extra cost is woorth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

We've stayed in a room with mountainview, but the mountainview was not that incredible. We had a room at the lower floor, so al kinds of buildings blocked the view. But the room itself was nice, in the morning you can enjoy a small breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

My wife and I stayed two nights here in a harbour view room with two queen beds. While the exterior of the hotel was drab, the rooms were well appointed and spacious. The view of the harbour was breathtaking and well worth the additional cost. The hotel provides binoculars in the room so that you can observe the wildlife and traffic on the harbour. While there was plenty of room with two queen beds, rooms with a single queen were the same size so are far more spacious.

Reception was very helpful and friendly and the complementary breakfast was adequate. The hotel is close to a major supermarket and a number of attractions and next door to a good restaurant. One problem is that there is no elevator which may pose a problem for some people getting luggage to the second or third floor.

We would have no hesitation staying here again.

Room Tip: Book a harbourview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011 via mobile

What a great place, make sure you get a room with ocean view. The young lady behind the till was very helpful in suggesting restaurants, and all in all gave us a great customer experience. I usually stay at 'The Crest', but I think my next visits I will return to the Inn.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

I arrived at 3:30 a.m. from the Alaska ferry, and couldn't have had a better reception - a warm welcome from the person on duty, efficient check-in (and a later check-out), and a free upgrade to a beautiful harbour view room. It was nice and quiet, and clean and comfy. I just wish I could have spent longer there. I would have liked to lounge on the couch by the window enjoying the view and looking for whales with the binoculars provided. The included breakfast was fine: yoghurt, juice, toast, muffins etc. The location was great for me, a short walk to the Greyhound terminal one side, and a short walk to the museum and gardens on the other.

Room Tip: From my experience and looking at comments from others, it appears that the harbour view rooms are g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn on the Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Harbour

Address: 720 First Avenue West, Prince Rupert, British Columbia V8J 3V6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Prince Rupert
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Prince Rupert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on the Harbour is situated on a bluff overlooking the busy Prince Rupert harbour. More than half of our rooms have a view of the Pacific ocean. Within walking distance of shopping, services and attractions, Inn on the Harbour is ideally located in the heart of Prince Rupert. We are steps away from the bus drop-off for airlines and Greyhound bus and just a short drive from ferry and rail terminals. We are pleased to offer a smoke-free environment for the comfort of our guests as well as free wi-fi and a complimentary continental breakfast. We now have an elevator for the convenience of our guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Inn on the Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on the Harbour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.