We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing little place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pioneer Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pioneer Guesthouse to your Saves list
Pioneer Guesthouse
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   167 3rd Ave East | Cow Bay, Prince Rupert, British Columbia V8J 1K4, Canada (Formerly Pioneer Backpackers Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
10% Cow Bay Discounts
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Redmond, Oregon
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“amazing little place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

first time in a hostel and I love it. it's very clean people very friendly and the place feels like you belong here and want to stay. I would recommend this place to anyone. the wi fi is great and what more do you need.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    27
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
10
40
42
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Terrace, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Although our stay was quick we were VERY impressed! One of the nicer hostels that we have stayed in. Charming character, friendly staff and spotlessly clean! We felt safe and comfortable.
The room was lovely.... Two large windows, very comfortable bed, small desk and chair, small couch and a large flat screen TV plus free WiFi. The ensuite bathroom included toiletries towels,facecloths, shower, toilet and sink with mirror and again spotless! :)
Even though we didn't have much time to truly enjoy this little hostel we took a moment to check things out. The common area was inviting and cozy looking. the kitchen area was small but clean and well organized. The outdoor common area was lovely and well groomed.
Over all this hostel receives a HIGH FIVE!! Most definitely recommend and will stay again. Thank you ladies for the great stay. :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Pioneer_Inn, Manager at Pioneer Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thanks a lot for the great review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here and are looking forward to seeing you again :)

Cheers,

Juliane (Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I stayed here for two weeks while I was working and was very pleased with my stay. Everything was kept very clean and I found all the staff and guests respectful and friendly. I stayed in one of the bunkbed rooms and although small there was enough space for my things and the bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quadra Island, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

I have stayed, in the Pioneer, several weeks to the work. This place is perfect.The staff is very well. There is a warm and convivial atmosphere, it's clean and comfortable. The kitchen is very nice to do cooking and the wifi was well.
Prince Rupert is a town which need to be discover. This town have a lot of charm. I liked a lot the restaurants and cafes in Cow Bay. I went hiking also, there are several good trails.
I warmly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tlell, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

I have stayed here several times in a variety of rooms from the economy dorm style rooms with shared bathroom to the private room with private bathroom to more recently the fantastic apartment! Excellent quality at very reasonable rates. Clean, comfortable, friendly and organized. Great common kitchen and sitting area. Good internet, lovely outdoor space, close to trendy Cow Bay shopping and touring area. Close to running trails and ocean. I would highly recommed this establishment.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marburg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

The hostel is located in downtown PR. The first impression I had when I walked in was how friendly and familier this place looks. Everything has its personal touch and there is no place where you don't feel confortable. I enjoyed my stay even more because of the great and friendly stuff.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I stayed at the Pioneer Backpackers Inn for 2 nights and would very highly recommend it to others. The room and bathroom was exceptionally clean, the bed comfortable and the hosts were helpful. The common kitchen and sitting areas were also very clean and well-organized.

Prince Rupert is fairly small and so it's easy to get around, but this hostel is also well-situated so that it's a short walking distance to restaurants, coffee shops, whale watching, etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pioneer Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pioneer Guesthouse

Address: 167 3rd Ave East | Cow Bay, Prince Rupert, British Columbia V8J 1K4, Canada (Formerly Pioneer Backpackers Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Prince Rupert
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Prince Rupert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pioneer Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the premium tourism district of Cow Bay, you are only 2 blocks from the waterfront, Tourism Office, coffee shops, pubs and shopping. Private en-suite bathrooms, private rooms with shared baths and dormitory style rooms are all available for every budget. Organized movie nights, BBQ socials and pub nights are offered to guests. We would love to share tips of what to see in the area! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Pioneer Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pioneer Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.