We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad overall” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crest Hotel

Save Saved
You added Crest Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crest Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   222 First Ave W, Prince Rupert, British Columbia V8J 3P6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Prince Rupert
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Not bad overall”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2005

First time in Prince Rupert and stayed only 1 night. The hotel is supposed to be nicer than others in the same neighbourhood and it probably is. I arrived w/ 4 colleagues so we all compared rooms.

The rooms are fairly comfortable if a bit small - not much space to move around the bed. The modern decor is nicely co-ordinated in plaid and stripes. The best feature in the room is the king bed, w/ a soft duvet, fluffy down pillows and decent mattress. There is also a wing chair w/ ottoman, as well as a nice window seat in the bay window.

The lighting is poor, however, so if you plan on working in your room, you will find it too dark. The lamps are in bad spots so the entire room is left dim.

The small bathroom has some modern features. The best thing is the heat lamp to keep you warm as soon as you can step out of the tub. Illumination is excellent but there is no counter space to lay out your toiletries. The bathtub was old and not altogether clean between the white ceramic tiles. Wouldn't have minded that if I could have had a hot shower. I would lose the hot water when someone else in the hotel flushed the toilet or whatever. Quite frustrating to stand and wait for the hot water to come back on and then sometimes, too hot.

Furthermore, if you get a room on the parking lot side, you will hear the comings and goings outside. For that matter, there is rather poor insulation between the walls and you also will hear all the hotel plumbing.

On the plus side, the staff is wonderful, from the friendly reception employees to the lively restaurant waitresses. The food at both restaurants is very good, in addition to a lovely view of the coast. You can even sit outside on the deck, which is equipped w/ heating lamps to keep away the damp cold. Check out the men's washrooms and watch some TV while you're, er, busy.

As for location, this is such a small town that nothing is too far away. Nonetheless, the Crest is closer to the charming Cow Bay area than other hotels.

Not bad, better than I expected for a small town hotel but definitely could use a lot of improvements.

  • Stayed August 2005, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    83
    29
    14
    7
See reviews for
22
74
17
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2005

After having travelled for 15 hours we just wanted to enjoy a good night's rest at the hotel whose marketing is "we strive to exceed your expectations". We were given a ground floor room next to the car park where, after half an hour's sleep, a 4x4 parked within 6" of our 'cosy window seat', along with 7 motorbikes and a couple of coaches with accompanying vehicle alarms and very loud voices. Country and Western music and sing-alongs by the bikers didn't go down too well - I am more of a rock and roller. Don't believe the website or the brochure - you will probably not enjoy the view. Just make sure the room is quiet before you get into your nightie! On the plus side, I now know all the words to "Stand by your Man" - backwards!!

Stayed July 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2005

The Crest was part of an around Canada trip for my parents 50th Anniversary. Even after the royal treatment at all of the Fairmonts(Banff,Lake Louise,and Jasper) I would say that our 2 day stay at the Crest was outstanding. The rooms were very, very nice but the highlight of the stay here is having the bald eagles come in the morning and perch in the tree outside you window and to be able to watch their activities all day long. They perch, take off, circle a few times, swoop, dive and then come back and perch. Then they do it all over again all day long. If you are there the first part of July then expect to see this from about 4:30 am to 10:00 pm. Fantastic. Food in the restaurant was very good and the staff was wonderful. We were perfectly located on the waterfront what with the liquor store across the street, the boat tour terminal and tourist area next door. Had lunch in a tiny cafe on the waterfront that was excellent with a great cookbook library to look through while waiting for food to arrive.

  • Stayed July 2003
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose, Ca
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2005

My husband and I stayed one night at the Crest Hotel prior to riding the train to Jasper. I wish it could have been more! We had a room with a window seat overlooking the water. As I relaxed in the afternoon, I watched about 6 eagles playfully fly back and forth right in front of my room. In the evening, a large cruise ship docked right outside our window.
The room and bathroom were spacious, airy, and comfortable. We ate both lunch and dinner at the Crest and had delicious meals. I particularly liked the seafood chowder and fresh salmon. Although Prince Rupert is somewhat out-of-the way ( a flight on a small plane or a 15 hour ferry trip), I'd actually like to return and would again definitely stay at the Crest Hotel. Don't miss the beautiful new museum right by the hotel.

Stayed June 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crest Hotel

Address: 222 First Ave W, Prince Rupert, British Columbia V8J 3P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Prince Rupert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Prince Rupert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crest Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Crest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crest Hotel Prince Rupert

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crest Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.