We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“COMFORTABLE WITH A VERY WELCOMING HOSTESS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pillsbury Guest House

Pillsbury Guest House
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Pillsbury Guest House to your Saves list
Pillsbury Guest House
1 Pacific Place, Prince Rupert, British Columbia V8J 3H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Prince Rupert B&B and Inns
Kitimat, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
“COMFORTABLE WITH A VERY WELCOMING HOSTESS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Very comfortable room with a newly remodeled bathroom down the hall. The house was charming. We learned of it's history from our hostess, Colleen at our gourmet breakfast and were also treated to an Edith Piaff concert by Colleen following our meal. Amassing talent! Great location - could walk almost everywhere. We had a panoramic view of the harbor from our room - just gorgeous!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    6
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Blythewood, South Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

The Pillsbury House was the first house to be built in Prince Rupert. It is run by a woman named Colleen who has an interating background and sings Edith Piaf songs to you at breakfast. She made us a lunch to eat on the ferry as we only had time for juice, muffins and coffee in the morning. She knows all the best restaurants to send you to for lunch and dinner.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltash, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Colleen gave us a very warm welcome. She is a very good cook. The house is old and quaint but a very good contrast to the souless hotels we stayed in on our trip across Canada. We had the chance to get to know Colleen and she sang Edith Piaf songs to us at breakfast. Collen is a wonderful hostess and it was nice to learn more about Prince Rupert from her..

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed for three nights while waiting for the Skeena train to Jasper.
There are steep stairs to the upstairs bedrooms.
There are 4 bedrooms, and all share the one bathroom.
While we were there, they were all full except one night, one was empty.
Sharing (although we knew this ) became a little difficult.at times.
As a heritage building it appeared cluttered, but to others this may enhance the stay.
Colleen was a superb host.
Her breakfasts developed into a commentary of the world,
and she couldn't do enough for us.
She even gave a lunch bag for the train journey when we left.
For the price we paid, this definitely is value for your money.

Room Tip: If stairs and shared bathrooms don't worry you, this is the place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

We slept just one night in this beautiful and oldest house in Prince Rupert. Colleen was very kind and we enjoyed our time a lot. Thanks a lot to a wonderful woman. Everything was fantastic - food, talking to Colleen and her entertainment, beds - very nice bathroom.

We found this place on the internet - we are so happy that we met Colleen and that we were in the oldest house in town.

There is a beautiful view to the ocean.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

Our hostess, Colleen was wonderful on our very short stay. We arrived by the Skeena train and took a cab to Pillsbury House ($10). They parked the train for the night about 200 yards from the B&B! Our room was small, with two twin beds, and the only electrical outlet was an extension cord (this is an old property). There was a bit of noise from the north with people talking late at night. Unable to stay for breakfast, due to having to catch the ferry, Colleen was up early and provided us with a gigantic bag lunch specifically with my wife's dietary restrictions in mind (lactose and gluten intolerant). She even called the cab company when they were late to pick us up.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Pillsbury Guest House for 3 nights in July. Colleen (the hostess) is a great lady with many talents. We enjoyed a nice breakfast and chat with Colleen the first morning. She told funny jokes and also knew a lot of history. Colleen loves Edith Piaf and sang one of her songs beautifully. She also speaks both french and english! The house itself is quite old as it is the first house ever built in Prince Rupert. Therefore, the furniture and washroom were outdated and a little dusty. The washroom had a nice view but I hated the shower. It felt dirty. My husband hated the bed because his feet hung over the end and the wood that was part of the headboard was uncomfortable on his ankles. I would stay there again though despite the uncomfortable bed and yucky washroom. The value is good, the view from our bedroom window was spectacular, breakfast was good, and hostess a real character. Also, Prince Rupert itself was a charming little villiage with some nice little shops, restaurants, and even a Casino! We took a short bus ride to Butzy Rapids and really enjoyed that.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pillsbury Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pillsbury Guest House

Address: 1 Pacific Place, Prince Rupert, British Columbia V8J 3H8, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Prince Rupert
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Prince Rupert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Pillsbury Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pillsbury Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.