We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, some tiny portions” 3 of 5 stars
Review of North 54

North 54
1493 3rd Ave, Prince George, British Columbia V2L 3G1, Canada
+1 250-564-5400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 189 Restaurants in Prince George
Price range: $15 - $36
Cuisines: European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: North 54 Restaurant in Prince George BC Canada is locally owned and operated, serving the local community and all travellers. We proudly serve local fresh inspired cuisine from homemade pasta to a wide selections of salads and appetizers. Our steaks , lamb veal, duck and seafood selection is a must and to finish our in house sweet tasty desserts! our wine cellar is completed with large BC selection as well as international! we continue to grow with love for fresh inspiring food !
Prince George, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food, some tiny portions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We were celebrating our birthdays, so dined at North 54 for lunch. The food is excellent, if a little overpriced. I would, however, like to make a comment about one dish in particular. I ordered the crab and shrimp melt sandwich which came with a small salad. When it arrived, I was quite taken aback. The entire "sandwich" consisted of half a roll about 6 inches in diameter. The small amount of crab and shrimp provided was tasty, but why would you have the nerve to charge $16 for such a tiny portion? If it is too costly to provide a decent portion, take it off the menu. I left hungry and really angry. Let me tell you folks, I have eaten at lots of very expensive restaurants over the years, and I have never felt so ripped off. I did not want to cause a scene, so said nothing at the time. Thanks for taking such good care of your customers. Guess we won't be going back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    26
    6
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best in PG”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I and my wife have eaten here many times, most recently last week. Since Winston's closed this is by far the best restaurant in town. The food is excellent and the service very good. We like hte decor to a point but would argue that it is not 'romantic' enough. It is not really possible to have a quiet dinner for two. Also, I have hated the chairs from the get go. They are very uncomfortable. Overall though, i recommend this restaurant highly.
On another note, several months ago my family held my birthday party here. There were 15 of us and the restaurant handled us superbly in the nice private room they have. Well done and thank you.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Never again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

The worst service I've ever had in my life. I went to North 54 for my birthday dinner with about 7 others. A few were running a little behind, and the older lady who was serving us (I think she is a manager) seemed concerned that we were not all there at the same time, as the reso had been made for 7-10 people. She was curt from the very beginning, and then it went downhill. When the rest of our group arrived, she did not even come by to take their drink order, we had to ask her as she walked by, and she was very rude in her behavior toward us. When we finally got to order our appetizers and entrees, we had a long wait, and when the appy's arrived my escargot was cold, and so was my friend's. No exaggeration, completely cold. I would have asked for a new one, but our server didn't bother to check on us. She never asked if we wanted other drinks, we had to ask her for them, and she acted as though it was a huge inconvenience, and when the entrees were dropped off, she was nowhere to be found. The food was lackluster, the wine overpriced. The whole night was a disappointment, and a terrible way to spend my birthday. I will never be dining there again.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best restaurant in Prince George”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

We frequent this restaurant approximately once every two weeks. We have always had fantastic service from the friendly staff as well as an excellent, creative menu. If you are looking for a high end establishment for a business meeting or for a special date, this is the place. The prices are NOT excessive and represent the quality of food you will be served.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Delicious and fresh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Best meal we have had in PG for some time. We were very impressed with the food quality and freshness, as well as the position size was quite impressive.
Bravo to North 54, and we will be back again and again!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North 54 also viewed

Prince George, British Columbia
Prince George, British Columbia
 
Prince George, British Columbia
Prince George, British Columbia
 

Been to North 54? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North 54, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.