We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Steakhouse for over 30 years!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mr Jake's Steakhouse

Mr Jake's Steakhouse
1545 3rd Ave, Prince George, British Columbia V2L 3G3, Canada
(250) 563-2529
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 189 Restaurants in Prince George
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Prince George, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best Steakhouse for over 30 years!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I have been going to this place for as long as I can remember. Always a great steak with a salad, baked potato and garlic bread.. An extremely good steakhouse. We always go back there after trying other places and finding them too expensive or no really very tasty. Mr Jake's is the best for a basic great meal. We can always count on them!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    17
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Prince George, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Old Diner feel, Perfect bloody steak!! lol”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

As the title states old run down diner feel, but no better place to get a perfect steak.Normally i hate potato salad, but theirs is to die for!! Def perfect place to take the family for a great steak!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George BC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Excellent food with great service. Owners are serving you, really care about the customer. Highly recommended.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Prince Gastronome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Many readers will disregard the remainder of this review based on reading the title. Jake’s couldn’t be more rebellious if the patrons all wore Guy Fawkes masks. Like A&A Burger Bar, Jake’s defies definition, flying in the face of expectations. One part industrial zone cafe, one part hospital cafeteria, and one part family restaurant, I’m surprised the chefs aren’t screaming orders to each other in clear view of the public.

Jake’s tables resemble that of a truck stop diner, perhaps with a scant more polish. Burned bronze chandeliers and lamp posts offer some measure of prestige against the wooden railings and period murky posters hanging off of slate blue walls. The dominant feature is the order counter where customers flank the chefs opposite searing oven tops and broilers. They take the orders and cook the food. Above them a classic order board lists options in wavy retro font. No menus. Jake’s bleeds local history, like it hasn’t changed its decor in 50 years. Photos under the counter harken to a time when this town was dominated by a single street, surrounded by an invasion of old-growth pine. The illusion is that Jake’s steakhouse survived all those decades, with the town growing around them. Regardless of the truth, it’s a believable claim given the decor.

Being lunch, it would have been inappropriate to open with a steak, so I opted for a slightly more reasonable bacon and mushroom cheeseburger. The prices were exactly where you’d expect them to be, with nearly every selection under 10 dollars. The exceptions to these were the steaks with the king a 15 oz mini-cow at 22$. There was nothing terrible fancy with the burger, and it wasn’t required with a quality of beef. This was not some frozen patty from an unlabeled wholesale box but a molded piece of art sculpted by hopefully sanitized hands. Even the unsung fries were among the best I’ve had, that perfect balance between soft and crispy. This is the kind of place that serves coleslaw in a styrofoam cup but also offers Caesar salad as a complimentary starter. You would expect the service to be lackluster but the single waitress that snaked around the tables was attentive and perky.

So, a waste of a review I would think. I mean anyone looking for a pretentious restaurant to conform to their ostentatious demands would be best to avoid Jake’s. People who know Jake’s love Jake’s, and people who don’t know or don’t care might be turned off by its borderline schizophrenic nature. Doing so would be denying some of the best fried and broiled meat in town. I can imagine the entire restaurant falling into an ominous hush like that moment in Vanilla Sky when Tom Cruise bolts from the coffee shop at the mere mention of vegetarian dishes.

This was a perfect burger with a proper level char, filling up every square inch of the bun, even to the final bite. It may not be appropriate to wear a tie here or talk about something other than hockey, but Jake’s is a location those customers enjoying quality beef should take in. It’s one of those restaurants Gordon Ramsay would take another restaurant’s owners to in Kitchen Nightmares to show them what a good burger looks like. Unlike the Burger Bar, I can see returning to Jake’s for dinner, granted I don’t bring my fedora and wear those jeans I’m never seen in outside of my house.

Food: 4/5
Service: 4/5
Presentation: 3.5/5
Value: 4/5
Recommendation: 4/5

And for those still on the firing line of deciding, or need some additional justification for coming here, Mr Jake’s offers free wireless internet. In defense of my previous statement, I stated that the customers probably didn’t know what a netbook was.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good food for a good prince”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Don't expect some fine dining or extreme class but expect fast quality food at a reasonable price with a quirky style of service. Prob start going here more often now that I discovered it.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr Jake's Steakhouse also viewed

Prince George, British Columbia
Prince George, British Columbia
 
Prince George, British Columbia
Prince George, British Columbia
 

Been to Mr Jake's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mr Jake's Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.