We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Friendly customer service but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Treasure Cove Hotel

Save Saved
You added Treasure Cove Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Treasure Cove Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2005 Hwy 97 South | P.O. Box 421, Prince George, British Columbia V2N 7A3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 23 hotels in Prince George
British Columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice Friendly customer service but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We had great customer service! Staff was very accomodating and friendly BUT the room was not clean! We found an old lotion bottle under bed and hairpins on carpet by bathroom door. The carpet was a little on the gross side. Its too bad their housekeeping service was not kept up because although we were treated well the room has to be clean too! The room was very small for a "suite". The entrance and exit points from the site was very annoying in that when u left you could only turn right. That was inconveniant. We will not be staying there again unfortunately.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreasureCoveHotel, Director of Sales at Treasure Cove Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Hello Carmen22,

I'm regret to hear that your room was not cleaned properly. We take pride in our hotel being one of the cleanest in the city. I know over the busy summer months we face a lot of turn over in the housekeeping department which sometimes can results in newer staff making oversights. This still is no excuse. If you would call in or e-mail me with the details of your reservation I would like to follow up with the staff responsible for your room that day.

If you would consider staying with us again in the future please call in or send me an e-mail request. I will make sure you get a clean, upgraded room type, at a discounted price.

Sincerely,

Nigel Rimmer
Sales Manager
Treasure Cove Hotel
250-614-9111 ext. 104
sales@treasurecovehotel.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    23
    22
    6
    11
See reviews for
26
14
2
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Quesnel, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Good:
- Room is decent, large, clean.
- Typical hotel breakfast (make your own waffles, muffins, etc.).
- Quiet.
- Good internet.
- Big tv.
- Waterslide.

Bad:
-I had to head towards Vanderhoof in the mornings for work and you have to head in the wrong direction and make a u-turn somewere to do this.
- I HATE how everytime you turn off the tv it switches back to that stupid movie ordering channel and you have to fiddle with it to get it back to what you last left it on.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreasureCoveHotel, Director of Sales at Treasure Cove Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Hello Kootenay23,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I'm glad you found your stay enjoyable.

Sorry you found it inconvenient to head West from our property. This is one of the downfalls of being at the cross roads of the highway. East, North, or South is not a problem however you do have to take a minor detour to head West. The other 2 properties located in our area suffer this problem as well for guests trying to head a certain direction. We do however see our locations as an advantage over some of the downtown properties.

Your concern about our TV switching back to the "Welcome Screen/Order Movies" is the first I have heard. I will look into this with our provider and see if we can adjust the settings. In the future if you turn on the TV and it displays this screen simply hit "Channel Up" to return to the cable television channels and then select your channel. Hopefully that helps!

When your travels take you to Prince George again I hope we can accommodate you!

Sincerely,

Nigel Rimmer
Sales Manager
250-614-9111 ext 104
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

On our way out of Prince George, the highway was closed due to a serious accident. The RCMP informed each vehicle there could be a long wait and the road is unpassable, go back to Prince George. As we were only relaxing now after our business trip, we thought we could try Treasure Cove. Apparently it was difficult to get a booking at this hotel but we managed and booked for one night only. The reception gave us $5 voucher for the casino and discounts for the spa and restaurant. There is complimentary breakfast and the diner serves coffee and tea 24 hours. There's a fridge and coffee maker in the room and complimentary water. There's a swimming pool and slide. Quiet place but parking is crowded due to the casino. Friendly staff, very clean although quite used up hotel but well-maintained. I wouldn't mind going back to this hotel. It cost $174/ night. The only available room has 2 queen size bed.

Room Tip: There is a parking space at the back of the hotel which is easier to park at than in front of the bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreasureCoveHotel, Director of Sales at Treasure Cove Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Hello dorncolby,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I'm glad that you found our hotel "excellent"! We are quite a busy hotel (highest average occupancy in the city) so I am glad we were able to accommodate you on such short notice.

Keep in mind our rates do fluctuate with availability - so if you are booking in advance you can usually expect to have a wider variety of room types to choose from as well as a lower rate than the one you paid. We also offer corporate discounts, AAA, and seniors discounts so feel free to ask if you fit into one of these categories!

If you are ever planning on coming back to Prince George feel free to contact me directly and I will be happy to make reservations for you.

Best regards,

Nigel Rimmer
Sales Manager
250-614-9111 ext. 104
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

To be honest it's not that the hotel is bad it's just not that good. Rooms were large and clean but dated. The hotel building is in a good location but getting in and out on to HW16 or HW97 is a bit difficult as the exits are both in one direction only. The bar downstairs is friendly and the food is good if not just a little bit pricey for the quality. Breakfast is a bit basic even with the 'make your own waffle' option.

Functional I think is a good word to describe it. I did not use the spa facilities so cannot comment n them.

Staff were friendly and helpful which was good, they are Canadian so what would you expect really!

I would stay here again having said all that and as I am back in PG later in the year I probably will do.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreasureCoveHotel, Director of Sales at Treasure Cove Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Flying_dad,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I'm glad that you found our staff friendly, and hotel functional.

Sorry you found our breakfast "basic" however our hotel is the only hotel in Prince George to offer a complimentary breakfast - which includes make your own waffles, cereal, pastries, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, coffee, tea, and juice. Perhaps next time you may wish to try to Casino's Cafe breakfast which has a lot more selection however does cost money!

Our location at the crossroads of HWY 16 and 97 can be a bit inconvenience if you are heading West from our hotel - you do have to take a minor detour to get to this part of the highway. The other 2 properties located near by share this problem as well with guests trying to go a certain direction. We do see our location as an advantage over some of the downtown properties.

I'm glad that you are planning to come back later in the year and hope we can help accommodate you then!

Best regards,

Nigel Rimmer
Sales Manager
250-614-9111 ext. 104
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Rupert, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

This hotel was way over priced for what we got. Our room was decent, but the interior run down and the service at the continental breakfast was horrible. the servers started taking plates of food away before guest could finish it without asking if they were done, it was also not very comforting to see 3 police cars out frontwith a huge crowd of drunk people. never again will we stay there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Treasure Cove Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Hello mikha34,

We're sorry that your most recent stay was not as enjoyable as it could have been. In regards to our rooms - we are currently in the process of updating the interiors (paint & decor).

I am surprised to hear that you did not enjoy the service at our complimentary continental breakfast - we usually receive rave reviews about our breakfast ladies.

We have very high security at our property especially being adjoined to the Casino. The number of police cars would not be uncommon for any type of disturbance at our property (hotel, restaurant, or casino).The RCMP is one of our top clients and are always either on-site or very fast to respond!

We hope you will reconsider coming back sometime in the future, send me an e-mail if you want to make reservations and we will make every effort to make the next stay more enjoyable.

Nigel Rimmer
Sales Manager
sales@treasurecovehotel.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

My husband and I won a contest through the Treasure Cove that included; a couples massage at NuSpa, dinner at The Crave Restaurant and a night in the Junior Suite at the Treasure Cove. All our reservations were arranged for us and the service and stay could not have been better. The service at the Crave was FABULOUS, our server made our evening so enjoyable, he was friendly and on the ball. Our massage was relaxing and the staff was very professional. The Hotel was clean and our room was really nice, especially the King size bed!! All in all it was a perfect little vacation and we felt so lucky. We would highly recommend staying at the Treasure Cove and having an evening getaway, we will definitely do this again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Treasure Cove Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Hello Kristi M,

First off Congratulations on winning the contest! You're best hotel experience story was very deserving of our grand prize!

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience and will share your positive comments with our staff.

Next time you are looking to get away for a "staycation" let us know :)

Nigel Rimmer
Sales Manager
Treasure Cove Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights for UNBC convocation over sold out weekend.Booked 2 rooms online and requests were accomodated for upper floor room.We have stayed here 4 times over past 5 years and would book here again.Recent upgrades to lobby ,breakfast common area and rooms a plus with flat screen LG tvs in rooms.
Clean rooms with nice Aveda bathroom amenties restocked daily.
Liked the fridge ,coffemaker with Starbucks coffee and free Internet.
Attentive friendly staff from the houskeeping gals ,front desk ( great check in with Gerry !) and hardworking wonderful breakfast bar ladies. The excellent breakfast bar that runs from 6;30 -10 or 11 on weekends makes this hotel a plus to stay at. We love the make your own waffles ,yogurt,fresh fruit ,muffins,croissants,eggs etc.
Nice to have hot coffee ,tea available 24/7 in common area .We socialized here with friends after dinner.
We ate at hotel restaurant "Crave"twice and ordered room service once .Nice outdoor patio too..
Good food at reasonable prices & excellent friendly service.
Although hotel attached to busy casino our rooms were quiet,lots of parking available in well lit safe parking lot.

Room Tip: upper floor (4th floor ) away from elevators. South side gets morning sun and north has nice view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreasureCoveHotel, Director of Sales at Treasure Cove Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Hello islandgal7,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We're thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. I shared it with our staff including the breakfast ladies and it put a huge smile on their face. It means a lot to know we can make a positive impact on your trip!

I hope we can continue to exceed your expectations on future visits to Prince George!

Sincerely,

The Staff of the Treasure Cove Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Treasure Cove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treasure Cove Hotel

Address: 2005 Hwy 97 South | P.O. Box 421, Prince George, British Columbia V2N 7A3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Prince George
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 hotels in Prince George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Treasure Cove Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Treasure Cove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treasure Cove Prince George

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Treasure Cove Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.