We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jazzy treat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shiraz Cafe & Restaurant

Shiraz Cafe & Restaurant
159-1600 15th Avenue | Parkwood Mall, Prince George, British Columbia, Canada
250-596-7397
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 197 Restaurants in Prince George
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Persian
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Toronto
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A jazzy treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

They often have live music here and it makes for a lovely setting. The food here is delicious and lots of vegetarian options too! The decor is a little funny with TVs showing the dishes and other things around the room but with a large party we hardly noticed and it all adds to the quirkiness of this place.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    20
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great surprise for Prince George”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Were looking for somewhere different to take family for a thank you meal. Heard good things about Shiraz by people who went for lunch. Small place in a strip mall but service was friendly and attentive. Owner told us the story of a Persian restaurant in northern BC. Good choice of dishes either grilled kabobs or 'STEWS' which we all had. They were dishes of slow cooked meats and vegs in different sauces served with rice and salads. All were excellent. And the price was excellent about $15 a plate. There is a small wine list where we were able to select some hard to get BC wines. Desserts were good as well. Go to Shiraz

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“just awsome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

just awesome food and service was great too the waiter told us about the food and it's history in the persia

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice change”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Went here at the recommendation of my son. The owner greeted us at the door and then came around to explain the dishes and the ingredients. Nice mild flavoured dishes with unique tastes that are easy on the palate. The rice that come with the dishes are flavoured perfectly and are a real treat. When you look at the menu there are interesting items that will tempt you. I have been back twice now and hope to expand my taste horizons further. The atmosphere and price point of the items on the menu further enhanced my dining experience. Would have no hesitation in recommending Shiraz.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Something wonderfully different.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stopped in here for a last minute lunch and were pleasantly surprised having never really tried Persian food. The food was fantastic and our server was very informative about the menu and how the food is prepared. She definitely sold us on how great our lunch was about to be. The meat kabobs were juicy and so flavourful, even the rice was flavour packed. We split the Queen Kabob meal and were stuffed. The price was definitely reasonable even though we shared a plate. I found the kabobs to be a lot like Greek souvlaki. Give it a try, you will not be disappointed. I cannot wait to eat here again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reza A, Owner at Shiraz Cafe & Restaurant, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience at Shiraz with our audience. We are glad you had a good experience at Shiraz. At Shiraz all staff work hard together. We want to be part of change and bring a new color to Prince George. Passion, Love and determinations are the key elements for all of us which we apply in every parts of our business.

Thank you,

Reza Akbari
Owner/operator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shiraz Cafe & Restaurant also viewed

Prince George, British Columbia
Prince George, British Columbia
 
Prince George, British Columbia
Prince George, British Columbia
 

Been to Shiraz Cafe & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shiraz Cafe & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.