We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely THE best japanese food in the Okanagan Valley !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tokyo Japanese Restaurant

Tokyo Japanese Restaurant
786 Westminster Ave, Penticton, British Columbia, Canada
(250) 492-6610
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 157 restaurants in Penticton
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Okanagan Valley
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely THE best japanese food in the Okanagan Valley !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Nancy Kim uses fresh ingredients & works wonders with them at this unassuming little rather out of the way Japanese & Korean Restaurant, located in Penticton, BC, Canada, at the corner of Westminster & Power Sts. Parking behind & on the street nearby. The place does not look like much but the food is consistently excellent. We have eaten in many many Japanese Restaurants all over the west coast & as far as Hawaii so we do think we know what we are talking about here. We also live here so get to enjoy Nancy's sushi, sashimi & other dishes whenever we like which is often. Other places will look flashier & lure you with glitz, but give us really good food please & skip the glitz.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    7
    4
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penticton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“GREAT SUSHI”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Love this place, always an amazing meal, excellent service and the owners are so sweet!! Great value and we love the private rooms!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Japanese Food Wide Selection of Dishes at a reasonable price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Nice atmosphere with friendly staff. Lunch menu is different then supper menu many great deals to be had for lunch.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“It's ok.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011 via mobile

Nothing life changing here. Your average Japanese restaurant. Food is decent for money, but all in all nothing special.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashcroft, Canada
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“sushi ya!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

This place does not look like much from the outside, but is setup nicely inside with your own seating cubes. The service is good and very polite. Their deep fried tofu is one of the best I've had.
The sushi is very good, not the best I've had, but I would eat here again.
The restaurant sits on the corner of Power and Westminster st.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tokyo Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Tokyo Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tokyo Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.