We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, welcoming and delicous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Theo's Restaurant

Theo's Restaurant
687 Main St, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 5C9, Canada
+1 250-492-4019
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 143 Restaurants in Penticton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $20
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Theo's is a family run Greek restaurant which opened in 1976. We use fresh produce from our garden when available and work with our local farmers and suppliers in the Okanagan valley to provide a menu which is both rooted in Greek village cooking and inspired by Okanagan ingredients.
Penticton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Warm, welcoming and delicous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Always look forward to dining at Theo"s.Consistent excellent meals time after time.Highly recommended to all our visitors and guests.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    72
    24
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“My favourite Greek restaurant anywhere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Theo's is a family run restaurant with all the charm of the "old" world. The walls are covered with vines and family photos that are fun to peruse as you wait for your meal. The service is homey and fun, the food excellent and wines, many local, are a reasonable price. There is a lovely big wood fireplace to sit by in the winter and a Greek countryside outdoor seating area in summer. Even though reservations are recommended, they have always found seating for us. We love Theos, whether it is for a family gathering, a romantic dinner or a quick bite en route to Vancouver or Naramata.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“The best Phyllo Salmon in Penticton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

A delightful friendly environment and all three of us had an excellent meal. Our waitress was extremely accommodating and it is defiantly a place where we will recommend and return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna
Top Contributor
349 reviews 349 reviews
262 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
“One of very best experiences ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Had a very nice time at Theos in Penticton tonight! Great ambiance, awesome tasting food, authentic Greek music in the background and a real fireplace to set such a nice mood. I used to think Villa Rosa was the best of the best in Penticton but now not so sure, maybe a tie between Theos and Villa Rosa now! Prices as well for both food and drinks were not barn burners! Thanks for a nice time!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penticton, BC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrible dinner”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We had dinner at Theos after making reservations and being totally excited about the hype on how good it was. The waitress was awesome as well as the service she provided, however the food was well below satisfactory. The mixed appetizer platter tasted awful and the entree came while we were still (trying) to eat the appetizer. Our entrees were flavourless and only lukewarm. This could have been because we are vegetarian and only have limited choices.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikosTheodosakis, Owner at Theo's Restaurant, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Hi, thank you for taking the time to post a review of your visit. I'm thrilled to hear you enjoyed your server and had awesome service, though as you mentioned, I would agree that the main course should have come after you finished your appetizers, as part of our philosophy is to provide a relaxed, non-rushed setting for dinning.

We usually have great feedback on our dishes, including our vegetarian menu items, so I apologize that they were not up to their excellent standards. I would love to find out what exactly you had ordered that night so that my team and I can look at this further, as we are recognize we are always learning how to improve our restaurant. Even though we have been open for 37 years, and despite all best intentions, I recognize mistakes happen, and that you did not receive the evening that we would have loved for you to enjoy.

I would appreciate the opportunity to take care of you dinner for that night, and to hear more about the details of the meals you received, please contact me at my personal email - Nikos at eatsquid.com at your convenience.

Thank you
Nikos Theodosakis
Owner / Theo's Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Theo's Restaurant also viewed

 
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Theo's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Theo's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.