We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Cooking at Great Prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shades On Main Restaurant

Shades On Main Restaurant
1909 Main St, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 1C1, Canada
(250) 493-0465
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 162 Restaurants in Penticton
Restaurant details
Oliver, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Home Cooking at Great Prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Shades on Main has served Penticton for many years with quality home cooking at value prices. If you have not been there lately, treat yourself to an enjoyable meal in new updated decor. The owner sets the standard in this restaurant with efficient friendly service and great food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    18
    11
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penticton, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The Very Best Mexican!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We go every Friday night for Mexican...we never miss it...it's so fab! It's fresher and better tasting than any other Mexican I've had. The salsa and guac is homemade and can be very spicy, which we love! The enchiladas are loaded with real chicken and you can have red or verde sauce, the verde being even hotter....delicious!! There are burritos, tostadas, and ALSO the best homemade Mexican chips out there....make sure you have them with your meal.

The staff and owners are the nicest people in Penticton, too, as an added bonus. You gotta eat here!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great for breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Whenever we come to Penticton we stop here for breakfast, always good! We love the shredded potatoes. Nice, clean restaurant with cheerful wait staff.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Bland & Boring Mexican”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Had too high expectations I guess. The chicken enchiladas had zero seasoning and the rice and beans tasted old. Everything was bland. No sides of salsa, but a couple tomatoes and strange looking lettuce? If you are going to have a special mexican night it should be alot better quality or don't bother. The waitress Brenda and her service was very good. Maybe the awards are for a particular menu item or because of the service?

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Tasty, enjoyable birthday lunch celebration”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I was in town for an hour, so invited a friend to have lunch with me, to celebrate our upcoming birthdays.
The restaurant had a clean, comfortable, community feel to it. They were pretty busy with the lunch crowd.
Server was gracious. Service was quick. Our burgers were delicious. Serving sizes on the larger side. [so much for light lunch] :-)
Will definitely dine there again when in town.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shades On Main Restaurant also viewed

Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Shades On Main Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shades On Main Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.