We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gerat view - great food - great prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salty's Beach House

Salty's Beach House
1000 Lakeshore Dr W, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 1C1, Canada
+1 250-493-5001
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 141 Restaurants in Penticton
Cuisines: Seafood, International, Wine Bar, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Scenic view, Doing business, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Island flavours from around the world! Fun, energetic atmosphere in the heart of the summer action!
Lindsay, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Gerat view - great food - great prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We had a wonderful lunch here with the family (4 adults, one child). The waiter was most friendly, and even went so far as to offer us samples of a few wines before we selected the ones we wanted! This doesn't happen in too many restaurants! The food was outstanding - I had the salmon and it was one of the best fillets I have ever had - done to perfection. A great place to go for lunch!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    131
    55
    29
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Check it out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Got addicted to their Bahamas Breeze Pizza and Peanut Butter PIe and you got to try their drinks. Staff/s are very friendly and attentive to your needs. They should have awnings for their patio. So even if it's raining you can still sit on the patio if you wish to.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Nice location but expensive ...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

When in Penticton worth a visit as it is in a good location and the food is tasty but for cost it would never be a favorite or worth a return engagement. Either make the food portions and quality worth the cost or right-price the menu if they are looking for homegrown repeat customers.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moose jaw, saskatchewan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Probably a high season restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

It was good...I had a wedge salad and crab cakes, and my husband had a hamburger. All of it was very good. The crab cakes had a little kick to them and were just perfect! Really enjoyed the yogurt dressing on the salad. The inside of the restaurant is dark and looks kind of dingy with no ambience whatsoever so in off season it isn't the greatest place to be. Right on the beach so I can see that it would be a great place in the summer. They were kind enough to light the heaters on the ground level deck, which was quite a production, but made for a pleasanter meal. Had an incident there that kind of bothered me though - we had an excellent waitress and my husband ordered a couple of beer which the waitress did not put on our bill. My husband pointed this out to her and she said not to worry about it, that it was the bottom of the "keg". Could have been, but I know from waitress acqaintances that this can be a habit of serving staff to get higher tips...you don't pay for something so then you tip higher. Not a honest practice and I hope that isn't what was happening there and it put us in an awkward position. I could easily be wrong but it did kind of spoil an otherwise pleasant meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Two nights in a row”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Great service, excellent food, casual beach atmosphere. Make sure you try the fish tacos and wedge salad. Make a reservation as the line ups are long. We went two nights in a row, had to have the salad both days.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salty's Beach House also viewed

 
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Salty's Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salty's Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.