We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good pad thai” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lee's Overseas Delights

Lee's Overseas Delights
139 Westminster Ave W, Penticton, British Columbia, Canada
(250) 492-7172
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 158 restaurants in Penticton
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Mongolian
Restaurant details
penticton bc
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“very good pad thai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

It has a great quick lunch menu with a Mongolian grill as well. the food is very good, however the drinks are lacking just have water you would be better off. I have not had a bad meal.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    14
    9
    7
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penticton, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Average anywhere else, but pretty good for Penticton”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Tried the place on a recommendation. As my review heading states, this place would be average anywhere else, but in Penticton it stands above the others. The rolls were pretty average, although I must say that the fish and tobiko actually had some flavour which came as a pleasant surprise after my other local sushi experiences. My friend had a soba noodle bowl which he said was good. The place was clean and the service was courteous and efficient. Much better than Ishin. I will likely go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Reviews here seem a little 'hyped'...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Not exactly "pan-asian" as you might expect from reading previous reviews. This is basically a very casual sushi restaurant with a scant couple of chinese offerings, and a very tiny (2 items!) selection of frozen dimsum. And as a sushi places, goes, rather mediocre - you will do much MUCH better in the Sushi Genki just a few blocks to the south. The miso soup here was just "OK", and actually tasted like how you might get miso soup in a chinese restaurant. Yam tempura was nice, Gyoza was 'so-so'. Hurricane roll seemed to be made of leftover ground salmon and ground tuna, and was rolled in something like XXXXX extra-chili taco chip crumbs. Unpleasantly hot (and I like it hot, generally!) and not even a hint of warning from the waitress. I asked if I could have "chinese tea" and got green tea instead.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Grilled pineapple! Heavenly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I've always liked Lee's....pretty consistent, always very good and occasionally excellent. This time the two of us ordered the Pineapple fried rice special, plus a vegetable chow mein. Normally we try for more interesting food, but we were in an 'ro' (regular-ordinary) mood.

And it turned out to be wonderful. The owner/server was delightful as usual. The chow mein noodles were whole wheat and very tasty. And the rice......well, at first we were a bit disappointed because there wasn't much pineapple. So my companion, being bolder that I am, asked for more pineapple. We were brough out a little bowl, freshly grilled, and was it ever good!

Oh! I also had their Thai soup.......and it was different from the way I remember it before. It was an interesting combination of Thai coconut flavour with a Chinese style of curry....and surprisingly spicy. But I certainly enjoyed it!

And, as usual, the prices were very low for dinner out.

We'll be back!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The best Asian food in town by far IMO. Nothing fancy, we always take out, but the food is always excellent.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lee's Overseas Delights also viewed

Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 
Penticton, Okanagan Valley

Been to Lee's Overseas Delights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lee's Overseas Delights, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.