We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good pad thai” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lee's Overseas Delights

Lee's Overseas Delights
139 Westminster Ave W, Penticton, British Columbia, Canada
(250) 492-7172
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 147 Restaurants in Penticton
Cuisines: Sushi, Delicatessen, Mongolian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
penticton bc
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“very good pad thai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

It has a great quick lunch menu with a Mongolian grill as well. the food is very good, however the drinks are lacking just have water you would be better off. I have not had a bad meal.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    12
    7
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Average anywhere else, but pretty good for Penticton”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Tried the place on a recommendation. As my review heading states, this place would be average anywhere else, but in Penticton it stands above the others. The rolls were pretty average, although I must say that the fish and tobiko actually had some flavour which came as a pleasant surprise after my other local sushi experiences. My friend had a soba noodle bowl which he said was good. The place was clean and the service was courteous and efficient. Much better than Ishin. I will likely go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
154 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Reviews here seem a little 'hyped'...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Not exactly "pan-asian" as you might expect from reading previous reviews. This is basically a very casual sushi restaurant with a scant couple of chinese offerings, and a very tiny (2 items!) selection of frozen dimsum. And as a sushi places, goes, rather mediocre - you will do much MUCH better in the Sushi Genki just a few blocks to the south. The miso soup here was just "OK", and actually tasted like how you might get miso soup in a chinese restaurant. Yam tempura was nice, Gyoza was 'so-so'. Hurricane roll seemed to be made of leftover ground salmon and ground tuna, and was rolled in something like XXXXX extra-chili taco chip crumbs. Unpleasantly hot (and I like it hot, generally!) and not even a hint of warning from the waitress. I asked if I could have "chinese tea" and got green tea instead.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Grilled pineapple! Heavenly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I've always liked Lee's....pretty consistent, always very good and occasionally excellent. This time the two of us ordered the Pineapple fried rice special, plus a vegetable chow mein. Normally we try for more interesting food, but we were in an 'ro' (regular-ordinary) mood.

And it turned out to be wonderful. The owner/server was delightful as usual. The chow mein noodles were whole wheat and very tasty. And the rice......well, at first we were a bit disappointed because there wasn't much pineapple. So my companion, being bolder that I am, asked for more pineapple. We were brough out a little bowl, freshly grilled, and was it ever good!

Oh! I also had their Thai soup.......and it was different from the way I remember it before. It was an interesting combination of Thai coconut flavour with a Chinese style of curry....and surprisingly spicy. But I certainly enjoyed it!

And, as usual, the prices were very low for dinner out.

We'll be back!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The best Asian food in town by far IMO. Nothing fancy, we always take out, but the food is always excellent.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lee's Overseas Delights also viewed

Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Lee's Overseas Delights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lee's Overseas Delights, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.